We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Casa Cuencana

Certificate of Excellence
Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La Casa Cuencana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family of 5 recently spent 11 nights at La Casa Cuencana. It was clean and comfortable, our rooms were attractively decorated, and Andrés and his family were unfailingly helpful and courteous. We appreciated the use of the kitchen. La Casa Cuencana is very centrally located and made a wonderful base from which to explore the city. Although we could... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

You fill like at somebody place but without being invited. There is too much noise due to the street but also due to the people speaking in the patio. A bit more expensive than the other hostel around.

Helpful?
Thank mahdi n
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

The rooms with a shared bathroom are awful! The rooms only window opens onto the super squeaky wooden stairs which lead to the echoey kitchen/common area, if your fellow guests decide to skype in this area late at night you are going to hear every word as if they were in the room with you- even with foam earplugs in!... More 

Helpful?
Thank sk6441
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

This is quite honestly the worst hostel in terms of noise I have ever stayed in, and that is a very large statement for ecuador! The Sydney Opera House would be proud of the acoustics that this hotel generates, which is fantastic for opera but terrible for a hostel. There is also an issue with the light management of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Ambato, Ecuador
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

We arrived in the early evening and the owner's son seemed confused upon our arrival. We made an online booking and it seemed they weren't expecting us whatsoever. My partner and I were then shown to our "room," a crooked lopsided closet-sized area 2 inches from the breakfast area, with a paper-thin wall separating our bed from the dining room.... More 

Helpful?
Thank K L
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

We were assigned a private room on the ground floor with a door and window that open onto the interior courtyard--that is, the dining area, which is also adjacent to the front entrance. The room lacked any benefits of being "private." Staff and guests woke us up at night coming and going from the almost inoperable system of doors and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan M
London
Level Contributor
135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

For $10 per night in the dormitory, this hostel nearly ticks all the boxes. Keys to the front door so you can come and go as you please, well equipped kitchen, pleasant staff who will help you with planning your stay, museums etc. The only downside is that there are no lockers in the dormitory. Before moving on, make sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank 10_Downing_St
Martha T, Gerente at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are getting lockers for our dorms, one of them actually has it, all our funiture comes from a pine tree environment friendly plantation located in riobamba, so it takes a while to get more. Nonetheless, because we are a family run hostel, safety is not an issue at all and most of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015 via mobile

It was perfectly good given the low price. We arrived very late at night and they were accommodating and helpful, and then kind in storing our bags after we checked out. It was basic - no towels etc - but we had no complaints. The kitchen area is well stocked with cooking implements and there was a good sized fridge.

Helpful?
Thank RickLondon90
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are glad you enjoyed our lodging. Wish you the best. La Casa Cuencana Family More 

Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were shown two options in two of their three hostel buildings. We selected a quiet inside room ($13.44/person) on the second floor. Very comfy beds. We cooked in the kitchen and ate on the third floor terrace. Evenings were spent drinking wine and listening to music on the little terrace- very relaxing place to stay. There was some mold... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Wordfarrier
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice review We are sorry about the little mold in the wall, we had restored 2 years ago that building in order to replace the plumbing, so our guest can drink tap water, because of that we had minor leaks, we are working on that. We will be more than happy if you stay with... More 

Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Great place to advice. Nice location and very good breakfast. The staff, Martita, Miguel and his sister are very welcoming and helpful. Place is clean and the room as spacious. Make sure to have a room in the back and not facing the street.

Helpful?
Thank vincentgosuin
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
#18 of 54 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Macondo
Hostal Macondo
#19 of 54 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#4 of 54 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Yakumama
Hostal Yakumama
#13 of 57 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cigale
La Cigale
#12 of 52 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#9 of 57 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay