We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Casa Cuencana

Certificate of Excellence
Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez | Hermano Miguel 4-45 Between Calle Larga and Honorato Vazquez, Cuenca, Ecuador
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cuenca
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
La Casa Cuencana
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    35
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
7
38
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For $10 per night in the dormitory, this hostel nearly ticks all the boxes. Keys to the front door so you can come and go as you please, well equipped kitchen, pleasant staff who will help you with planning your stay, museums etc. The only downside is that there are no lockers in the dormitory. Before moving on, make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha T, Gerente at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are getting lockers for our dorms, one of them actually has it, all our funiture comes from a pine tree environment friendly plantation located in riobamba, so it takes a while to get more. Nonetheless, because we are a family run hostel, safety is not an issue at all and most of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

It was perfectly good given the low price. We arrived very late at night and they were accommodating and helpful, and then kind in storing our bags after we checked out. It was basic - no towels etc - but we had no complaints. The kitchen area is well stocked with cooking implements and there was a good sized fridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice comment, we are glad you enjoyed our lodging. Wish you the best. La Casa Cuencana Family More 

Cotacachi, Ecuador
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were shown two options in two of their three hostel buildings. We selected a quiet inside room ($13.44/person) on the second floor. Very comfy beds. We cooked in the kitchen and ate on the third floor terrace. Evenings were spent drinking wine and listening to music on the little terrace- very relaxing place to stay. There was some mold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martha T, Propietario at La Casa Cuencana, responded to this review

Dear Friend Thanks for the nice review We are sorry about the little mold in the wall, we had restored 2 years ago that building in order to replace the plumbing, so our guest can drink tap water, because of that we had minor leaks, we are working on that. We will be more than happy if you stay with... More 

Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Great place to advice. Nice location and very good breakfast. The staff, Martita, Miguel and his sister are very welcoming and helpful. Place is clean and the room as spacious. Make sure to have a room in the back and not facing the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Great hostel location within walking distance from all attractions, nice cafes and bars and the market. Martha, Alexia and Andreas were so welcoming and clearly take pride in maintaining their wonderful hostel. We got the three bed attic room which was spacious and bright and, like the rest of the hostel, clean as a whistle. Small number of bathrooms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Loja Province, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

They gave us no soap. The next morning, as we were leaving, I mentioned this in a very cordial manner, not complaining, just giving feedback. The daughter replied, in a very snooty manner, that this was our fault, because we should have run the doorbell next door and asked for soap if we wanted it. I said I thought that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed here for two nights and the girl who welcomed us was really nice and helpful. The room she put us in was extremely small and there were no windows! The walls were super thin and we didnt get to much sleep during our stay... In the ceiling was a glass stone, which lighted up the room everytime the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

My girlfriend and I came in to Cuenca for two nights and three days on a bus from Guayaquil, Ecuador. We had a little mix up in our reservation with a neighboring hotel. And needed we needed another place to stay. One of the owners, a young man named: Adreas..., I think was his name..., .met me on the sidewalk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We moved here as we had a horrible experience in a hostel. This place was amazing. The beds were so comfortable, the room had everything you need; table, chairs, hangers and wardrobe. The bathroom was new, the shower is the best we've had in South America, good power and constant hot water. The breakfast was prepared as soon as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We moved here after a bad experience in a nearby backpacker hostal and was so glad we switched. We had a lovely double room with excellent furniture and comfy bed. They'd thought of everything with a small desk and a comfy chair to relax in - and hooks for clothes on the wall which we love. The bathroom was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
#22 of 53 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Macondo
Hostal Macondo
#17 of 53 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bauhouse Hostel
Bauhouse Hostel
#9 of 53 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hostal Yakumama
Hostal Yakumama
#12 of 53 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
Hostal Hogar Cuencano
#13 of 53 in Cuenca
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Alternative
Hostal Alternative
#4 of 53 in Cuenca
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities