We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jhomana Guesthouse

GreenLeadersSilver level
2.0 of 5
Hotel website
G Ramirez Davalos 151 | Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Jhomana Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    14
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
8
16
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I was in Quito for nine nights (work then travel) and stayed at Hostal Jhomana for the full nine days. They were very well located, close to Mariscal (which is where many tours leave from too) as well as core transport networks (including a red bus tour just down Amazonas Street). You could get almost anywhere within Quito by taxi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerJhomana, Owner at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice and informativ review. This will help us to be even better. Patrick Brodin Owner More 

Boston
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Our multigenerational family of 13 stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been happier with the staff, our rooms, the location, and places for us to congregate. While at Jhomana we celebrated a birthday and Christmas. The terrace was a wonderful gathering place. Our rooms were perfect for all our differing configurations and needs, the bathrooms and rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We came to Quito after a long flight from Amsterdam. We had booked a transfer since we wanted to relax when we arrived. We didn't see any sign at the airport even though we where promised. Called the hotel and they said the forgot or something like that. We didn't care really and took the taxi for a good price.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Quito hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This place is horrid. The rooms are damp and the facilities rubbish. The sink was hanging off the wall and the light switch wires were exposed. I received a shock from the switch in the night. The breakfast was also woeful. The staff were also not helpful and at times just plain rude. There was wi-fi but it rarely actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerJhomana, Propietario at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Its very sad that you had this experience. I have gone through the room you stayed in and I cant understand you complaint. However, if you complain, it must have been like this. Can you please let me know in which room your were, maybe Im looking att the wrong one. That electricity cut sometime is pretty normal in... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos and it was easily the worst place we stayed in our 10 day trip. However it's not terrible. Granted the wifi doesn't really work and breakfast was not good enough. Very small and we had to wait for 40 minutes to order and get our food! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Breakfast was very small, not enough so you need to buy complementary breakfast. Good personell in the reception, but with limited knowledge in English. Wifi did not work all time. Don't book pick up from AirPort from them, did not work for me. No one was there to pick me up despite I sent a reminder a day prior to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerJhomana, Propietario at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Estoy revisando los comentarios y esta me da mucha pena. Las cosas negativas que usted... More 

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

It is a decent place, common areas were good and the staff was friendly. It is located in an excellent place during day time, but it changes (drastically) at nights. Is is NOT a safe neighborhood to walk around. Rooms were small, super clean and quiet. Beds were really comfortable. The breakfast is tiny (IF you wake up as hungry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
new england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

wonderful little hostel at the right price! Patrick was fantastic in getting us some great deals in both local touring as well as the Galapagos. everyone speaks English, so it was very easy to communicate. he is also VERY prompt in relying to emails!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I just returned from a week long stay at Jhomana Hostal in Quito, Ecuador. The hotel is a no frills place but the rooms are spacious and clean. The only TV is in the lobby but they have cable so many choices should you want to relax and watch TV in the evening. The front patio is great for relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was greeted by unfriendly staff, took a whole to wake then even though they knew we were arriving at midnight. Kept adding costs to the booking even though I had an email showing agreed costs. Basic room which smelt damp. Unsatisfactory breakfast, granola with watery yoghurt, bad coffee. Small communal area. Will not stay here again and wouldn't recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerJhomana, Gerente at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience. We have change the administration of the restaurant because the coffee wasnt good, not strong at all. The yougurt in Ecuador is either think or not, we call it drinkable yougurt. About the price, we always charge the correct price. Some times the booking site present the wrong price and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.1 mi away
Alston Inn Hotel
Alston Inn Hotel
#61 of 107 in Quito
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Vista Amazonas
Hostal Vista Amazonas
#85 of 179 in Quito
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingdom Kichwa
Kingdom Kichwa
#31 of 179 in Quito
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bird Garden Guest House
Bird Garden Guest House
#7 of 179 in Quito
5.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Venezuela
Hostal Venezuela
#34 of 175 in Quito
5.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Filatelia
Hotel Filatelia
#95 of 175 in Quito
3.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay