We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jhomana Guesthouse

Hotel website
G Ramirez Davalos 151 | Ave Amazonas, Quito 111111, Ecuador
Jhomana Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #73 of 169 Quito B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015
BriaBoston Boston
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
16
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Our multigenerational family of 13 stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been happier with the staff, our rooms, the location, and places for us to congregate. While at Jhomana we celebrated a birthday and Christmas. The terrace was a wonderful gathering place. Our rooms were perfect for all our differing configurations and needs, the bathrooms and rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We came to Quito after a long flight from Amsterdam. We had booked a transfer since we wanted to relax when we arrived. We didn't see any sign at the airport even though we where promised. Called the hotel and they said the forgot or something like that. We didn't care really and took the taxi for a good price.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This place is horrid. The rooms are damp and the facilities rubbish. The sink was hanging off the wall and the light switch wires were exposed. I received a shock from the switch in the night. The breakfast was also woeful. The staff were also not helpful and at times just plain rude. There was wi-fi but it rarely actually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagerJhomana, Propietario at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi Its very sad that you had this experience. I have gone through the room you stayed in and I cant understand you complaint. However, if you complain, it must have been like this. Can you please let me know in which room your were, maybe Im looking att the wrong one. That electricity cut sometime is pretty normal in... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed here as part of a tour of Ecuador and the Galapagos and it was easily the worst place we stayed in our 10 day trip. However it's not terrible. Granted the wifi doesn't really work and breakfast was not good enough. Very small and we had to wait for 40 minutes to order and get our food! I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Breakfast was very small, not enough so you need to buy complementary breakfast. Good personell in the reception, but with limited knowledge in English. Wifi did not work all time. Don't book pick up from AirPort from them, did not work for me. No one was there to pick me up despite I sent a reminder a day prior to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerJhomana, Propietario at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios. Estoy revisando los comentarios y esta me da mucha pena. Las cosas negativas que usted... More 

Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

It is a decent place, common areas were good and the staff was friendly. It is located in an excellent place during day time, but it changes (drastically) at nights. Is is NOT a safe neighborhood to walk around. Rooms were small, super clean and quiet. Beds were really comfortable. The breakfast is tiny (IF you wake up as hungry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
new england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

wonderful little hostel at the right price! Patrick was fantastic in getting us some great deals in both local touring as well as the Galapagos. everyone speaks English, so it was very easy to communicate. he is also VERY prompt in relying to emails!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I just returned from a week long stay at Jhomana Hostal in Quito, Ecuador. The hotel is a no frills place but the rooms are spacious and clean. The only TV is in the lobby but they have cable so many choices should you want to relax and watch TV in the evening. The front patio is great for relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Was greeted by unfriendly staff, took a whole to wake then even though they knew we were arriving at midnight. Kept adding costs to the booking even though I had an email showing agreed costs. Basic room which smelt damp. Unsatisfactory breakfast, granola with watery yoghurt, bad coffee. Small communal area. Will not stay here again and wouldn't recommend to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagerJhomana, Gerente at Jhomana Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you had a bad experience. We have change the administration of the restaurant because the coffee wasnt good, not strong at all. The yougurt in Ecuador is either think or not, we call it drinkable yougurt. About the price, we always charge the correct price. Some times the booking site present the wrong price and... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel itself is clean enough, though our bathroom smelled like a sewer. It just lacks all kind of charm, when we came back at night after 10 pm, the porter was clearly annoyed he had to let us in. You can´t count on the breakfast hours - waited 45 minutes after announced opening time until we gave up...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question