We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Gran Quitumbe

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Avenue Mariscal Sucre y Condor Nan (Corner) | In Front of the Bus Terminal Quitumbe, Quito EC170718, Ecuador
Hotel Gran Quitumbe
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #60 of 108 Hotels in Quito
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
greg933 Seattle, Washington
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Except for the South (Quitumbe) Bus Terminal there is nothing in the area. I stayed here because I was leaving the next day on a bus for the south regions of Ecuador and it is an easy walk, even with luggage, to the station. The room was quite small but the staff quite courteous. Because of nothing in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NJ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 hotel reviews
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

First the good - the room was clean, it is a 5 minute walk to the bus station. Wifi worked fine. The not-so-good - there is nothing in the neighborhood around this place. We arrived at night, and there is literally no place to get food. We had to buy some chips and bread at the bus station. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Here's the thing with Quito, the new airport is one hour away from old Quito. I had to spring for a $40 cab ride to get to this hotel. One thing that is great is that this hotel is near the train station. At least from what I can tell. It is a nice and clean place. A four dollar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rio Dulce
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Located close to the Quitumbe "Terminal Terestre" (bus terminal), Hotel Gran Quitumbe is a very convenient place to spend a night while waiting for the bus. Rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable, and the bathroom has a good shower. The hotel is extremely clean, and, while the front facing rooms are a bit noisy, the ones facing the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks, friendly staff clean rooms, hot showers, the downs are small rooms, no storage for your belongings, rest only open for breakfast, which is good for $2, can be noisy as on a main road. there is no terrace or garden as stated. there is free wifi in all rooms. nice easy walk to main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review

Dear mandinga 2013 We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again. The Hotel Gran Quitumbe made ​​a large investment in soundproof windows which allow you to keep your wonderful views and large windows now are the nicest... More 

everywhere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was absolutely the worst hotel experience I have ever had and I have traveled all over the world. They ripped me off on my credit card, they deceived and lied and overcharged for a "shuttle hitting me for $ 70. They then refused the return shuttle, charged my credit card $ 80 without permission or adequate explanation. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review
Google Translation

Señor blueskydreams Lamentamos mucho su comentario que es muy suspicaz y es el único que no es verídica y una... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for an early start from bus station, it is a $1 taxi ride or walk. Very friendly staff but tiny rooms, well ours was, room 17, and agree with another reviewer, the towels were hand towels not bath towels. Bed was also tiny. No breakfast so we walked again to cafe around the corner where we had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review

Dear georgemacl Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing. Have a very good life Atte Byron Suntaxi Hotel Gran Quitumbe More 

Medford, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Pros: Close to the Quitumbe bus terminal. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Very very affordable. Free Wifi. Breakfast was very good. (Scrambled eggs, ham sandwich and fresh juice) We needed 2 rooms and for $80 that's what we got. One was a single and the other one was a single. Cons: Really loud if you have a room facing the street.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review

Dear mandinga2013. We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again. The Hotel Gran Quitumbe made ​​a large investment in soundproof windows which allow it to retain its wonderful views and large windows are now the nicest rooms... More 

West Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great hotel near southern bus terminal Quitumbe. Staff very friendly and helpful. Arrived late night and they were there to assist me. Warm showers were great. Only $1.50 to the new Quitumbe bus terminal 10 minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review

Dear latebloomer2443 We appreciate your time to contact us and leave us your opinion, we grieve much so that event have already taken up the matter for this emerging situation not happen again. You ought to order the DVD at the reception of the hotel as there operation thereof and its proper use is indicated, the Hotel Gran Quitumbe currently... More 

Browns Valley, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - clean, comfortable and staff is so friendly and helpful. Would stay here again in a heart beat. Restaurant about 200 yards away has lunch menu with huge portions and amazing prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
byron2204, Propietario at Hotel Gran Quitumbe, responded to this review

Dear Clydesdale1957 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gran Quitumbe community of Trip Advisor, I was honored to host you and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to this, his home in the future fencing. Have a very good life Atte Byron Suntaxi Hotel Gran Quitumbe More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question