We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
425, Carlos Anwandter, Valdivia 511-0239 , Chile
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Totem to your Saves list
Totem
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #2 of 7 Valdivia B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013
JuanV593 Washington DC, District of Columbia
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Got to Valdivia early and called the Hostel and they took us in about 10 am. Took a family nap and hit the town. Good size room with four beds (in two room section second floor, room 7 I think) for a family of four. Paid about $80 dollars for the night, which is a good value compared to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suffern, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You could do worse. Overall, this place was fine. One of my biggest gripes was the young couple looking after the place. In particular, the young man wasn’t the most welcoming fellow. He seemed annoyed when having to answer questions from guests or do anything. At times, he was combative and audibly exasperated over having to simply do his job... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We wandered from place to place in the area looking for lodging. We were first shown a fairly small room, but when asked if there was something bigger were shown an excellent sized room for not all that much more money and made a decision on the spot to stay there for a couple nights. Its called a Hostel, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antartica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

A bit grotty, not very clean, and noisy. Friendly staff though

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Booked a couple of nights here after seeing the positive reviews on TA. At the price I was not expecting too much, but even then I was thoroughly disappointed! The room was dirty, the bathroom had not been cleaned after the previous guests. Hair and grime around the sink etc. Then when I pulled back the sheets on the bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alvaro R, Gerente at Totem, responded to this review

¿Why you didn't tell us? We would change/clean your room inmediatly. In very few cases we make mistakes, february is very high season and may be there was a confusion, but nothing unfixable!! With your opinion people could think we always have stones in our beds... ¿why you didn't tell us? More

Bolzano, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

The hostel is nice, it's comfy, all wooden, doubles have private bathroom. Romms are clean, I am not sure wether the kitchen is a community kitchen or not, didn't look like it, but, as usual in Chile and Argentina, the Hostel offers a simple, but good breakfast which is included in the price. It is not too far away from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a really nice place to stay in Valdvia, and considering the cost its a bargain! Very friendly staff and the rooms are very quirky. They're not modern rooms, but everythings there for travellers, including a good breakfast in the morning. My only complaint would be the quality of the matress and bed which we slept on. We found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Bay Area
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Cozy and inexpensive with friendly and helpful staff - i cant believe this place is not featured in the Lonely Planet or Rough Guide. Totem is located in a leafy neighborhood of charming wooden houses just close enough to the city centre that one is not disturbed by the hordes of students that roam this university town. free WiFi. recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vina Del Mar,Chile
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

Hey, it was inexpensive. Heated, friendly, hot water 24/7 and for Chile a varied breakfast. Well the type of bread changes and if you travel enough in Chile that helps. English is spoken. The place is clean. Free WiFi internet, free internet, and if they fix that hic up in the email reservation system they will pick you up from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to Totem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem

Address: 425, Carlos Anwandter, Valdivia 511-0239 , Chile
Location: Chile > Los Rios Region > Valdivia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Valdivia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable guesthouse for world travellers, central heating, Internet, cable TV in rooms, private bathrooms, strategically located, great staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Totem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Totem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.