We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 294 Singapore hotels

Somerset Bencoolen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Hotel amenities
Somerset Bencoolen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Bencoolen to your Saves list
Ranked #70 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
NickNick888 Singapore, Singapore
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
10
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Right in the heart of the city whereby you have Plaza Singapura and Bugis Junction by walking 10 mins away. Hundreds of other things in between. Hungry at night 2 am? No problem - just wake up to Indian Chinese supper joints. If you are from abroad, this is truly the place. Staff and service is great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room was brilliant and facilities are very good but breakfast was not good. There are only sausages, scramble, conflakes, yoghurt and bread.Hotel is not in a good location for anybody who wants to go out exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear earth_sarawat, Thank you for taking time to write this review. All of us are greatly encouraged by your compliments for our spacious apartments and facilities. We thank you for your honest feedback and sincerely regret that you did not enjoy our Continental Breakfast selection and our location was not ideal for your recent holiday in Singapore. Kindly allow us... More

Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed on the 9th floor in a 2 bed apartment for a week in early November with our 4 year old daughter.The hotel is conveniently located to MRT stations and around a 15 minute walk to plaza singapura shopping centre on orchard road.The hotel is very kid friendly with its rooftop pool,kids pool,playground as well as kids playroom on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear thrilos, The team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore is indeed delighted that your family and you have enjoyed your stay at our service residence and have found our facilities to be kid friendly. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful compliments for our convenient location, Continental Breakfast selection and friendly service, as our residents’ stay satisfaction matters a lot to us. All... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for 5 nite. Friendly staffs. Comfy & cosy for couple. Nothing to complaint. Easy access to mrt and town area also easy to find eatery places.... its worth staying here... we will be back again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear 诺拉 盛, Thank you for writing such a lovely review on your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All are us are truly elated that you had a superb stay with us. It has been a great pleasure hosting your recent stay and your generous compliments for our service convenient location and facilities are very much appreciated. All of... More

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
111 hotel reviews
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. The staff was very helpful with directions to everything we needed and a great map. They printed for us and mailed a few items for us, saving us a lot of time. Someone is available to help immediately should there be a need. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear AdventurePhiles, The team at Somerset Bencoolen is indeed heartened to know that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. Your kind compliments for our Continental Breakfast, facilities and apartments are much appreciated and have inspired all of us to continuously work towards providing the best in our industry. Thank you for your special mention for our team’s... More

Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During my travels to Singapore for work, I stayed at Somerset for 3-4 times and every time it was a pleasant experience. The rooms are spacious with tiny kitchens ( which is the the case for most Singapore apartments, as its called kitchenette in Singapore). The hospitality and the friendly staff makes your stay more comfortable, the property is at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Mohit9683, Thank you for writing this wonderful review and the team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted that you have always enjoyed your stays with us. It is indeed gratifying to know that despite your busy work schedule, our rooftop pool with its panoramic views of the city has provided you with some relaxation and great times with your friends.... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen for a total of 6 weeks as part of my relocation to Singapore. Upon arrival, I was suspicious at first because of ongoing construction works on Bencoolen Street (due to end in 2017 Fyi), I couldn't see the entrance or reception. The driver had to drop me off on the 2nd floor of the parking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Dexter K, Thank you for taking time to write about your home away home stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen. The team is very happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable 6 weeks’ stay with us and that our spacious 2-bedroom apartment was ideal for your family when they visited. Your positive feedback for our central location, apartments,... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Affordable, clean, spacious, modern and close to everything. This hotel is a great find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday, breakfast room is a little poor but you can cook in your kitchen or go out to the many food courts nearby. Great facilities: well equipped gym, 3x pools on the rooftop, laundry room with dryer or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Tina D, Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your enjoyable stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All of us are truly heartened to note that you have described your recent stay, our service, facilities and fully equipped apartments as a sparkling find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday. We... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dated room but okay for me. Super and good housekeeping! Room - Dated, but big and comfy beds (No Fuss!) Toilet - Not much toiletries, so you may need to be some of your own (No Fuss!) Wifi - Stronger in the living hall compared to the room. Breakfast - Personalized breakfast. Not much to choose, but personalized and sufficient!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear xKoai, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that our services and location have exceeded your expectations and these were the highlights of your stay at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. We are truly touched to note your kind advice regarding the construction workers at the nearby subway site; however, please allow us to assure that since... More

Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

I was there for a 4 night stay during the F1 weekend. Kids loved the extra room, the pool and Jacuzzi. Staff are friendly, location is great. The construction of a metro on Bencoolen street is a bit of a spoiler. Access by car is not straightforward. Published rate is pricier than rates for Ascott members. Breakfast was ordinary but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Ram S, Thank you for writing such a detailed review on TripAdvisor. All of us at Somerset Bencoolen are truly heartened to know that your family and you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. We are delighted that your children loved spending time at our rooftop pool and Jacuzzi as we recognize that the success to a... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay