We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 294 Singapore hotels

Somerset Bencoolen

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Hotel amenities
Somerset Bencoolen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Bencoolen to your Saves list
Ranked #74 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
RtjL Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    64
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
11
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Somerset on Bencoolen is an older but well maintained serviced apartment complex. My wife and I stayed at this apartment complex for 9 days and overall, have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This apartment complex is not unlike a lot of other buildings throughout South East Asia, whereby it is looking tired and is in need of a makeover. Putting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear RtjL, Thank you for taking time to write this heartwarming review of your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. The team is delighted to note that your wife and you had a very very enjoyable stay with us and you would revisit us when you return to Singapore. You cannot imagine how much cheer you have brought to all... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all be warned there is MRT construction work directly outside this hotel and work continues through the night, secondly MRT access currently isn't the nest as the nearest station is a circle line station so requires you to change trains to get almost everywhere although this will change when the new station is completed. It's important to note... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear walnutroof657, Thank you for taking time to write this review. The team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore is gratified to note that despite the current MRT construction works, you had a relaxing and comfortable stay in our serviced residence. We are very appreciative and encouraged by your positive comments for our apartments, services and facilities. The team enjoyed hosting your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right in the heart of the city whereby you have Plaza Singapura and Bugis Junction by walking 10 mins away. Hundreds of other things in between. Hungry at night 2 am? No problem - just wake up to Indian Chinese supper joints. If you are from abroad, this is truly the place. Staff and service is great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear NickNick888, Greetings from the team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore! We are delighted that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Our heartfelt thanks for your wonderful recommendation for our serviced residence as it assures us that our services, facilities and products have exceeded your expectations. The team truly enjoyed being of service to you recently and sincerely... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was brilliant and facilities are very good but breakfast was not good. There are only sausages, scramble, conflakes, yoghurt and bread.Hotel is not in a good location for anybody who wants to go out exploring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear earth_sarawat, Thank you for taking time to write this review. All of us are greatly encouraged by your compliments for our spacious apartments and facilities. We thank you for your honest feedback and sincerely regret that you did not enjoy our Continental Breakfast selection and our location was not ideal for your recent holiday in Singapore. Kindly allow us... More 

Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on the 9th floor in a 2 bed apartment for a week in early November with our 4 year old daughter.The hotel is conveniently located to MRT stations and around a 15 minute walk to plaza singapura shopping centre on orchard road.The hotel is very kid friendly with its rooftop pool,kids pool,playground as well as kids playroom on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear thrilos, The team at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore is indeed delighted that your family and you have enjoyed your stay at our service residence and have found our facilities to be kid friendly. We sincerely appreciate your wonderful compliments for our convenient location, Continental Breakfast selection and friendly service, as our residents’ stay satisfaction matters a lot to us. All... More 

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 nite. Friendly staffs. Comfy & cosy for couple. Nothing to complaint. Easy access to mrt and town area also easy to find eatery places.... its worth staying here... we will be back again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear 诺拉 盛, Thank you for writing such a lovely review on your stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All are us are truly elated that you had a superb stay with us. It has been a great pleasure hosting your recent stay and your generous compliments for our service convenient location and facilities are very much appreciated. All of... More 

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
121 hotel reviews
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We had a two bedroom apartment and were very pleased with the rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. The staff was very helpful with directions to everything we needed and a great map. They printed for us and mailed a few items for us, saving us a lot of time. Someone is available to help immediately should there be a need. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear AdventurePhiles, The team at Somerset Bencoolen is indeed heartened to know that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. Your kind compliments for our Continental Breakfast, facilities and apartments are much appreciated and have inspired all of us to continuously work towards providing the best in our industry. Thank you for your special mention for our team’s... More 

Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

During my travels to Singapore for work, I stayed at Somerset for 3-4 times and every time it was a pleasant experience. The rooms are spacious with tiny kitchens ( which is the the case for most Singapore apartments, as its called kitchenette in Singapore). The hospitality and the friendly staff makes your stay more comfortable, the property is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Mohit9683, Thank you for writing this wonderful review and the team at Somerset Bencoolen is delighted that you have always enjoyed your stays with us. It is indeed gratifying to know that despite your busy work schedule, our rooftop pool with its panoramic views of the city has provided you with some relaxation and great times with your friends.... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed at Somerset Bencoolen for a total of 6 weeks as part of my relocation to Singapore. Upon arrival, I was suspicious at first because of ongoing construction works on Bencoolen Street (due to end in 2017 Fyi), I couldn't see the entrance or reception. The driver had to drop me off on the 2nd floor of the parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Dexter K, Thank you for taking time to write about your home away home stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen. The team is very happy that you had a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable 6 weeks’ stay with us and that our spacious 2-bedroom apartment was ideal for your family when they visited. Your positive feedback for our central location, apartments,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014 via mobile

Affordable, clean, spacious, modern and close to everything. This hotel is a great find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday, breakfast room is a little poor but you can cook in your kitchen or go out to the many food courts nearby. Great facilities: well equipped gym, 3x pools on the rooftop, laundry room with dryer or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cynthia L, Manager at Somerset Bencoolen, responded to this review

Dear Tina D, Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review and for sharing your enjoyable stay experience at Somerset Bencoolen Singapore. All of us are truly heartened to note that you have described your recent stay, our service, facilities and fully equipped apartments as a sparkling find for the champagne on a beer budget family holiday. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Somerset Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Bencoolen

Address: No. 51 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189630, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Bencoolen 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Bencoolen Singapore
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#65 Business Hotel in Singapore

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay