We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shophouse The Social Hostel

2.0 of 5 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
8
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great value, clean rooms and friendly staff. The hostel is modern with all the facilities you would find to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The location is situated right in the Arab Quarter, a downtown paradise of colourful buildings, Shisha bars and great resturants. Highly reccommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect location! Quick access to transportation, great food and many places to relax all day and night in the area. I had a wonderful view of Kampong Glam while having breakfast at the rooftop lounge. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. One of the best hostel in Singapore!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clean rooms for low rates, if you can stand your screaming and partying room mates. There is a hair dryer three showers with toilets for two rooms. Nice atmosphere with politely communicated rules. There also is breakfast with a sight over Arab Street and the whole hostel has cool wall stickers. One can walk to the National Library, Museums and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

spectacular views from the upper terrace, good place for party and meeting with other backpakers excellent location in the heart of Singapore cheap rooms, free wifi It is important to book room early...

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Venca11! We hope you managed to make new travel friends in Shophouse and enjoyed your free breakfast with a view throughout your stay! Thank you for the kind review and yes, if you (or your friends) want to stay with us again, do make sure to book it early! Just a tip: Booking through our website gives you a... More

Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

The hostel itself is great and the people are nice, plus free simple breakfast. The downfall is that they have no rules like other hostels we have been to, an important one is quiet time at night so basically we had people turning on the lights and talking at full volume between the hours of 2:30-5:30am, it was ridiculous

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there Dustin_at_WeGoRTW! Thank you for dropping us a review! We do have notices to keep it down and turn off the lights by 10PM. But this issue may be hard to tackle when we have travellers who may not be used to the culture of a hostel and doesn't comply. Perhaps choosing a smaller dorm room next time might... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The place is quite easy to find and just really five to ten minutes walk from Bugis Station. Also, it is near food establishments so you can just get quick food downstairs. One thing I didn't like is the shaky bunk beds. Every time I go up my bed, it shakes and disturbs the person below me. Also, the toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have recently went to your place for 2 nights of stay with few of my friends. Great staff, suitable pricing for the environment. Great facilities such as free breakfast, bananas bread milk and so. The staffs are really friendly and are very welcoming. I enjoy the interior all the way up to our rooms. Good card excess to rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey amanda_liim, Thank you for your time in dropping us a review :) If you can drop us an email, can we know the exact date that you were here and which room did you stay in? We take complains seriously and immediate actions are taken. We can't call in the experts on short notice but we do take on... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On 8-11 August 2014 I went to Singapore and stay at this hostel. I was satisfied with this hotel facilities. They have a keycard to access the hostel's entrance door and bedroom's door, free wifi on every floor, nice and clean room (I choose to stay in 16 persons room which is nice with a big locker), free breakfast, clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Antonius, Indeed, friendlier staff will make so much difference to a place. We apologise that you did not get that hospitality while you were here at Shophouse. All staff have been warned and we hope that the next time you visit, it will be a much better experience. We do have social events happening where we bring guests out... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I always shared with hostel owners when ever i travels around the world, you can have great location, great environment or facilities, but service with a heart and sincerity comes first for me and if the business wants to go for a long time making their guests returning for more and spread compliments about the space. Sad to say ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights at this hostel in a 16 bed dorm. First impressions weren't great. We arrived earlier than the allowed check-in time and despite being able to leave our luggage, we had to wait until 3/4 hours after the check-in time for them to make our beds. This was particularly frustrating given the long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi NiallYoung, Our sincerest apology that you had to wait that long for the beds to be ready and for the noises caused (as you mentioned) by our staff. All staff have been reminded to be more considerate when entering the dorms. The free breakfast provided were just basics and you could actually get a wider selection of breakfast at... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shophouse The Social Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shophouse The Social Hostel

Address: 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shophouse The Social Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Shophouse The Social Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shophouse The Social Hostel Singapore

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay