We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 183 Singapore accommodations

Shophouse The Social Hostel

48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shophouse The Social Hostel to your Saves list
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
78%
Ranked #50 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Guzzvaughn
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
8
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hostel itself is great and the people are nice, plus free simple breakfast. The downfall is that they have no rules like other hostels we have been to, an important one is quiet time at night so basically we had people turning on the lights and talking at full volume between the hours of 2:30-5:30am, it was ridiculous

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is quite easy to find and just really five to ten minutes walk from Bugis Station. Also, it is near food establishments so you can just get quick food downstairs. One thing I didn't like is the shaky bunk beds. Every time I go up my bed, it shakes and disturbs the person below me. Also, the toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In March 2014, I have stayed at Shophouse and held a rooftop birthday party with some family and friends. We were greeted by a Malay receptionist lady who was really nice to us and when we told her that we will be having a birthday party, she simply said that she won't disturb us throughout the night and just stated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have recently went to your place for 2 nights of stay with few of my friends. Great staff, suitable pricing for the environment. Great facilities such as free breakfast, bananas bread milk and so. The staffs are really friendly and are very welcoming. I enjoy the interior all the way up to our rooms. Good card excess to rooms.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey amanda_liim, Thank you for your time in dropping us a review :) If you can drop us an email, can we know the exact date that you were here and which room did you stay in? We take complains seriously and immediate actions are taken. We can't call in the experts on short notice but we do take on... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

On 8-11 August 2014 I went to Singapore and stay at this hostel. I was satisfied with this hotel facilities. They have a keycard to access the hostel's entrance door and bedroom's door, free wifi on every floor, nice and clean room (I choose to stay in 16 persons room which is nice with a big locker), free breakfast, clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Antonius, Indeed, friendlier staff will make so much difference to a place. We apologise that you did not get that hospitality while you were here at Shophouse. All staff have been warned and we hope that the next time you visit, it will be a much better experience. We do have social events happening where we bring guests out... More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I always shared with hostel owners when ever i travels around the world, you can have great location, great environment or facilities, but service with a heart and sincerity comes first for me and if the business wants to go for a long time making their guests returning for more and spread compliments about the space. Sad to say ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights at this hostel in a 16 bed dorm. First impressions weren't great. We arrived earlier than the allowed check-in time and despite being able to leave our luggage, we had to wait until 3/4 hours after the check-in time for them to make our beds. This was particularly frustrating given the long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi NiallYoung, Our sincerest apology that you had to wait that long for the beds to be ready and for the noises caused (as you mentioned) by our staff. All staff have been reminded to be more considerate when entering the dorms. The free breakfast provided were just basics and you could actually get a wider selection of breakfast at... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

it was last minute plan to hit singapore. called the reception to book a bed since i don't own a credit card. receptionist was very helpful and friendly and informed me it was a low season and they have plenty of beds. went there. was greeted by the sweet as honey receptionist name Elnisha, if not mistaken. service was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hi RomieRamadhan! Reviews like yours makes our job very satisfying! Thank you so much for your time in dropping us an amazing review. We're chuffed! It is only our job to ensure you guys have a great time and feel at home in Shophouse. If there are any ways you feel we could improve, feel free to drop us an... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros: -the price is right considering how expensive everything else in Singapore is -excellent location...lots of cool stuff to see nearby, and a major train station/mall is within good walking distance Cons: -the restaurant on the ground floor is VERY OVERPRICED! I stayed at this hostel for one week and did not eat or drink anything there even once because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Derek N. Thank you for all the feedbacks you have provided. We are looking into ways of making our bathrooms more pleasant for guests and any input from you will be greatly appreciated. As for the cafe, we do provide a discounted pricing for guests staying at Shophouse. Apologies if you were not told about that. If you have... More

St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

First, it's located in a cool area, not so far from the downtown. Second, rooms and bathrooms are clean and you can find whatever you need, even an iron. Third, they have a rooftop terrace and an inner yard terrace so you can have your time there. I enjoyed staying in Shophouse and I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ShophouseHostel, Owner at Shophouse The Social Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Elena G! Thank you so much for your time in dropping us an awesome review! It's a real pleasure seeing you had a great time in Shophouse :) We hope to host you again if you are ever in town! Cheers! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shophouse The Social Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shophouse The Social Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shophouse The Social Hostel

Address: 48 Arab Street, Singapore 199745, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Shophouse The Social Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shophouse The Social Hostel Singapore

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Singapore with
any amenities