We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Duxton Hotel

83 Duxton Road, Singapore 089450, Singapore (Formerly Berjaya Singapore Hotel - Singapore)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Duxton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Duxton Hotel
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    174
    75
    36
    29
See reviews for
43
103
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (366)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (119)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Westport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good hotel in a good location. Friendly staff. Great cafe across the street & walking distance to food market. Only difficulty was 2 story bedroom which was hard with a toddler & a steep staircase. Thanks

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a staycation with some of my friends over the weekends. To be completely fair, maybe the hotel thrives in its "vintage" ambience and realistically speaking you can't expect much from the worn out furnishings as they've been made to look that way. I for one, am a fan of vintage theme and i find the rooms' decor rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We reserved this hotel through United Airline website and used miles to book it, somehow thinking that United would not allow substandard facilities on their website, for their customers. I was WRONG! This hotel is a dump. There is a bad repugnant smell in the lobby, in the room, and throughout the building. Our room was situated somehow under the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night with some friends. Funny policy whereby guests had to sign in (my first encounter after many many staycations)Even after signing in, every time we walked in or out, they would doubt us again and asked for details. Super annoying. Like we owe them money. Great potential to be a great place for staycations lest for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I spent a week at the Duxton in early Feb and I was pretty disappointed. I was there for work and although I was really happy with the location (great proximity to public transport, close to China Town, great spots to eat etc) I was really unhappy with my room. I guess what I had was a standard room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Guests who stay in hotels like The Duxton are typically the ones who appreciate history, restoration and preservation. When I first arrived at the hotel, I found it to be breath taking. The facade was beautiful and there was even a plate beside the main door that says 'Architectural Heritage'. The lobby was classy with nice big sofas all over.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed from 13 - 16 Feb. I was very concerned about all the previous negative feedback. Anyway it was unfounded. I was able to check in early and my luggage was taken to my room. Was given a quiet room. The host and reception most friendly, helpful and welcoming. I would describe the room as shabby chic but I loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDuxtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Duxton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Agatha C, Thank you for your most honest feedback and we greatly appreciate the time taken to share your feelings and experience of the hotel. It is a pleasing honour to receive the five star rating from you. We are glad that despite the doubts you may have had before your stay, you had still pursued your stay... More 

Copenhagen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stayed at the Duxton Hotel for two nights. Were were very dismayed when we read the bad TA reviews prior to our stay. However we were to pleased to find that the staff was very accomodating (we got an early checkin), our room was very spacious and the decor without frills and too many modernities. An old no-nonsense hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDuxtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Duxton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dane2400, Thank you for sharing with us on your pleasant experience and we hope that you had a great time in Singapore. Our hotel is well loved for its unique and old charm features and we are glad that you were able to enjoy a touch of it. The locality is much appreciated as it is only a stone... More 

1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The hotel smells like a floods gone thru the place,on arrival we had to wait while the rude staff lectured the two groups of people in front of us about their rules and regulations and not a smile between them. We copped the same treatment then carried our own bags to the room ,OMG what a disgrace stains on walls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
TheDuxtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Duxton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Outback C, First and foremost, we would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us and that we did not meet your expectations. Our staff are trained to handle guests on a professional level and have very well known to be courteous and polite. On your arrival, they were handling an unfortunate incident... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I have stayed at the Duxton on two trips to Singapore and the staff (Indian Ladies) went out of their way to help me with local travel etc. The rooms were fantastic value for the price and location. I was sad to hear that the hotel will close in March.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDuxtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Duxton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms Rene S, Thank you for your review and your appreciation towards the staff, Tina, who assisted you with the travel arrangements. It is always a key source of motivation and a sense of satisfaction for our staff to have made their mark on creating a memorable experience for our guests. We are looking forward to your stay again... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Chinatown

Neighborhood Profile
Chinatown
Chinatown is a classic combination of colorful sights, enticing smells, and sometimes startling sounds. The precinct is unique, however, in its blending of religions and cultures. A Hindu temple, an Islamic mosque, and a Chinese Buddhist temple sit almost side by side. This sense of cultural harmony continues as you venture just outside of Chinatown to the nightlife areas of Club Street and Duxton Hill. There you’ll mingle with Singapore’s multicultural residents at the modern bars and restaurants dotting the bustling streets. An afternoon in and around Chinatown will leave you culturally enlightened, well fed, and loaded with souvenirs. In the evening, reward yourself with a well-deserved cocktail as the locals come out to play.

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question