We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matchbox The Concept Hostel

39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% this X'mas & NY!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    32
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
14
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

staff is very friendly and helpful - bathrooms and showers are clean-bed sheets, linen & towels are spotless, MTR station in walking distance and China town just around the corner-a good choice if you travelling on low budget or looking for a simple place to sleep some hours until your connecting flight departs

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sabine, Thank you for your kind feedback! You were a wonderful guest as well and we had a wonderful time hosting you! We hope that we can host you again if you are back on this sunny island! Take care! Cheers, The Management of Matchbox More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in dorm with "capsules" it was overall good place to just sleep, and shower. There was supposed to be breakwast, but you can't call that a breakwast.. Room was clean, and had a towel and shower was good and had

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jani, We are grateful for your review and we are also glad that you had a good sleep! May we know what do you prefer to have for breakfast so that we can suit your taste better? Looking forward to hear from you and see you again soon! Take care! Cheers, The Management of Matchbox More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The photos online are deceiving. My capsule in the female dorm had a weird odor and the mattress was not comfortable at all. Felt like I was sleeping in a capsule of mold. Toilet and shower rooms are clean but sink had draining problems - would clog up! The attic lounge is nice. Should have just paid to sleep there!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear April, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for our failure to meet your expectations. We understand that the photos online are outdated and we are in the midst of changing it to an updated photo. In addition, we are also in the process of revamping our dormitories, which includes changing of the mattresses, repainting the room, a... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I stayed for four nights and you can't believe that there are so many rubbish in the end of the locker. The locker is located exactly under the beds. And when I turned on my phone flash I can see there are loads of rubbish like soft drink cans, blankets, cup noodles and so in the deepest part of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Yamxchris, Thank you for your feedback. We truly apologise for our failure to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. After investigating the matter, we found that the reason the bins might be uncleared is because there were no check-outs from the Flamingo dorm (female dorm) during your stay. Thus, the housekeeper was not given access to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I stayed at Matchbox for 6 nights while I was looking for an apartment in Singapore and although it wasn't the worst hostel experience I wouldn't recommend it (at least I wouldn't recommend the female dorm, which was the room I stayed in). The pictures posted online are really nice but I guess they were taken right after the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to inform you that we have taken steps to address the issues that you have raised by repainting the female dorm. As for the other issues that you have mentioned, we are also currently looking into them. Hence, we hope that you will be able to give us another... More 

Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I can't help feeling that I would have liked Matchbox a lot better if I didn't already stay at another hostel with a very similar concept but with far better facilities and upkeep. And a higher price tag. Can't complain though; I wasn't expecting too much, and the place suited my needs for a three-night stay at a fairly central... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you're staying in Singapore for a couple of nights, this hostel is ideal! The location is perfect, both nights we ate fresh Chinese food from the food market just around the corner. The MRT was around 7 minutes walk away. Marina Bay was a nice walking distance, The staff really made this hostel a special stay for us. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days while going around Singapore. I must say, the place is really ideal in terms of location since it's just a few meters away from Chinatown. The only problem we encountered is that it's a bit difficult to locate considering it's located at the tip of the street. My favorite is the massage chair.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location is really great. There are a lot of cafè near thia area on the night. Surrounded by the east meet west archietecture, this place is very chic and convinience place to stay.. The minus will be.. this place is a bit fas from mrt chinatown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I only had this hostels as a 24hr stop over but the staff were friendly and helped me out when I needed to get some photos done for a visa. The hostel itself is clean and well maintained giving a fresh look to it. I don't think I could stay that many days more as it doesn't have the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Matchbox The Concept Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay