We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matchbox The Concept Hostel

39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
14
48
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for four nights and you can't believe that there are so many rubbish in the end of the locker. The locker is located exactly under the beds. And when I turned on my phone flash I can see there are loads of rubbish like soft drink cans, blankets, cup noodles and so in the deepest part of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Yamxchris, Thank you for your feedback. We truly apologise for our failure to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. After investigating the matter, we found that the reason the bins might be uncleared is because there were no check-outs from the Flamingo dorm (female dorm) during your stay. Thus, the housekeeper was not given access to... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I stayed at Matchbox for 6 nights while I was looking for an apartment in Singapore and although it wasn't the worst hostel experience I wouldn't recommend it (at least I wouldn't recommend the female dorm, which was the room I stayed in). The pictures posted online are really nice but I guess they were taken right after the hostel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We would like to inform you that we have taken steps to address the issues that you have raised by repainting the female dorm. As for the other issues that you have mentioned, we are also currently looking into them. Hence, we hope that you will be able to give us another... More

Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I can't help feeling that I would have liked Matchbox a lot better if I didn't already stay at another hostel with a very similar concept but with far better facilities and upkeep. And a higher price tag. Can't complain though; I wasn't expecting too much, and the place suited my needs for a three-night stay at a fairly central... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bolton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you're staying in Singapore for a couple of nights, this hostel is ideal! The location is perfect, both nights we ate fresh Chinese food from the food market just around the corner. The MRT was around 7 minutes walk away. Marina Bay was a nice walking distance, The staff really made this hostel a special stay for us. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of days while going around Singapore. I must say, the place is really ideal in terms of location since it's just a few meters away from Chinatown. The only problem we encountered is that it's a bit difficult to locate considering it's located at the tip of the street. My favorite is the massage chair.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location is really great. There are a lot of cafè near thia area on the night. Surrounded by the east meet west archietecture, this place is very chic and convinience place to stay.. The minus will be.. this place is a bit fas from mrt chinatown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I only had this hostels as a 24hr stop over but the staff were friendly and helped me out when I needed to get some photos done for a visa. The hostel itself is clean and well maintained giving a fresh look to it. I don't think I could stay that many days more as it doesn't have the best... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Had a good experience staying here, staff more than happy to help within the hostel and offer advice on what to check out in Singapore. Very clean. 8 showers and 4 toilets so you didn't have to wait. Nice social area in the loft with big TV, Dvds etc. Main dorm was nice, cool with fans and A/C to combat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here for three weeks during an internship. Matchbox's staff were very accommodating towards my needs (I had to store a large golf set in their staff room for the entire stay!) and the hostel's location is perfect for quick access to Chinatown, Maxwell, and Tanjong Pagar. If there are any small suggestions for improvement, I would only say that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

If you're looking for a budget hostel (solo or biz trip) to stay then this is the place. Within 10mins walk to 2 different lines of MRT. One of them is located in Chinatown (Purple) while the other is at Tanjong Pagar (Green). I was greeted by friendly and helpful staffs and they even show us what we can do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Matchbox The Concept Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay