We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Trafalgar Cottages

Trafalgar Cottages, Manggayad | boat station 3, Aklan Province 5608, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Trafalgar Cottages
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #61 of 139 Hotels in Boracay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Johannes L Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    32
    6
    4
    9
See reviews for
9
15
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The owners / workers at Trafalgar cottages were very keen at helping us making the most out of our stay at Boracay by giving good advice on possible activities. They created good atmosphere. The hostel was very clean too. Even though visitors have sandy feet, it was not found in the rooms nor the corridors. This proves that all effort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boracay, Philippines
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 3rd Low season stay here at Trafalgar, Joel & Julia the couple that own and run the hotel are travellers themselves, they are both well imformed and knowledgable. Borcay is a rich mans playground, thankfully Trafalgar Cottages exsist. I stayed in the budget upstairs section which has 4 simple fan rooms that share a bathroom with toilet, also there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gnas, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Trafalgar Cottages is a really nice place to stay with an beautiful plant. It's in Station 3, not in the centre (Station 2) on Boracay but I think it's much better because there are not so much tourist on the beach. The hostel is simple but nice, quiet, clean and when you stay in a deluxe cottages you have also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

My partner booked a couple of nights here in March. I wish he hadn't. It was so gross. The bathrooms... i can't even. How anyone would stay here after seeing the diarrhea is beyond me. i've never seen anything like it. it was also loud... Caca en el bano... AY DIOS MIO! There was lots of other people being loud,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julia d, Owner at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at Trafalgar. We do have mosquito netting/screen on all our windows, so that if you open the windows the mosquitoes and bugs cannot get in unless you leave the door open....Subject to availability, you can also ask to be upgraded to an airconditioned room if you feel too hot.... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

This place is cuter during the day than it is at night. Unfortunately we arrived around 11 pm. We were shown to our room, which was not a cottage, but in the main building. Our room was $17 a night, but because we booked online it was hard to tell what the room would look like. The journey to Boracay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Trafalgar Cottages. It would seem that your main complaints are about the other guests, unfortunately we cannot control the behaviour of our guests, we do try to warn them if we feel they are being too noisy late at night, but they don't always listen to us, and you... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I am stunned by all of the positive reviews for this dump. I'll start with the positives: - Quaint appearance - Genuinely interesting history behind the owners - Allowed us to cancel after one night after a hideous experience So what was so wrong with Trafalgar that we left after one night? I'm not sure I have enough room to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at Trafalgar, but thank you for your review, because it highlights the problem of irresponsible travellers. Unfortunately we cannot control the behaviour of our guests, although we do try to warn people who are noisy late at night, but when they are drunk they don't always listen to us. Similarly, we... More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

This is definitely a budget place. Which is what j prefer Bc I'm a young back packer. Good location. A little over priced though Bc the room was ok but the bathroom in the room was absolutely disgusting. It was still a cute little place - small cottages and we'll shaded. I would literally but stay here again though Bc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

I apologise if you encountered some rude behaviour during your stay here. Please bear in mind that somebody had probably been waiting up for your arrival, and although we know it is not your fault if your arrival is delayed, It can be frustrating waiting till all hours for people to arrive. Similarly, it is frustrating if the electricity goes... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to find private room budget accommodation in Boracay. It is by station 3, but has a bunch of stuff closeby so you won't feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. It was basic, the staff were polite, and it was very cheap for Boracay. I am convinced this is one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is true that we try to keep our prices down and cater to backpackers as much as possible, and we are glad you appreciated this. More 

Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

I checked in on arrival, Cash only so make sure you have enough cash but a lot of ATM's in the area.My back pack was taken to my room. My room was quite small for two people but I was able to have the room to my self for the month at no extra cost. Very nice chill out balcony... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for highlighting so many positive points about our place. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

When we arrived to the hostel we was greater by a nice lady who welcomed us in, took our payment and showed us to our 'cottage'. Once inside the cottage it wasn't great. Only stay if you can deal with very very basic needs. The bed was just bigger than a single, no warm water, ants everywhere and you cannot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
julia d, Manager at Trafalgar Cottages, responded to this review

Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Trafalgar Cottages. It is true that we keep our prices as low as possible to attract backpackers and others who are looking for cheap accommodation. If you have stayed in other places in South East Asia (hotels included) you must have realised that flushing toilet tissue often leads to clogging and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boracay hotels
0.4 mi away
Island Jewel Inn
Island Jewel Inn
#22 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Inn Resort
Turtle Inn Resort
#25 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Carmela de Boracay
La Carmela de Boracay
#101 of 139 in Boracay
3.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Nigi Nigi Too Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Frendz Resort Boracay
Frendz Resort Boracay
#15 of 139 in Boracay
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Romero de Boracay
Villa Romero de Boracay
#54 of 190 in Boracay
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay