We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balay Tuko Garden Inn

Travelers' Choice award winner
Purok Bayanihan, San Manuel Road | Barangay San Manuel, Puerto Princesa, Palawan Island 5300, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Balay Tuko Garden Inn
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    49
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
71
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Metro Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights last year. The place was away from busy streets and it is very easy to get here since they picked us up in Robinson's Mall. The staff are kind and very accommodating. The room was clean, the aircon was quiet, the bathroom was nice and the TV was big. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a great review as it makes us so proud to read comments like yours, especially as you had chosen to spend your trip in Palawan with us. I am happy you experienced the serenity of our place and nevertheless enjoyed what Puerto Princesa city has to offer. For the amenities in the room,... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

this place is very quiet, garden is beautiful and rooms very nice and clean. Maria is a very kind and nice person who takes care of travelerS and I especially give this 5 stars for her and her family who were all very helpful! So if you plan staying at Puerto princesa make sure you stay at balay tuko!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very nice review of Balay Tuko. I am delighted that you and your family had great stay because of our service and amenities and that your wonderful experience will mean a return visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back to our little garden resort, like no other. Thank you very much. Joel & Maria Theresa More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Simple hotel. Basic room. Unfortunately the pool had a green hazy color to it so I wasn't going to take a chance swimming in it. To bad cause I was looking forward to swimming in the covered pool. Basic breakfast. Was ok. Ride to the airport was included.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comment about Balay Tuko. As a matter of fact, for he price you are paying our little hotel is basic. And we like to keep it like: nice, simple and cheap. About the pool: we are using salt water electrolysis water treatment to reduce the use of chemicals. Sometimes, the colour is a little... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great stay here! We were staying in a pension house for 3 nights before we Balay Tuko was referred to us. Too bad we only got to stay for a night here. It was such a beauiful and relaxing place. Comfortably away from all the noise in the city proper but not too far away that it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great experience and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Regarding air-conditioning: you are the first guests to complain about it. The 1.5 HP inverter type split unit is big enough for the space. Could be that we had a few hours grid... More 

Metro Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay for 1night, super bitin! Very relaxing, clean, quite, spacious and awesome stay. The owners & their staffs are super dupeer kind. The food is super delicious! Also, they have welcome drinks and complimentary water just like in a 5star hotel. Not boring because they have indoor swimming pool (super awesome!!!!) and also a game center (billiards and board... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

We love how you listed one by one the reasons why you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so very much for such a wonderful review. We hope that you can return to Balay Tuko in the near future. Maria Imelda sends a special thank you to you for liking his breakfast! Now we have two taxi companies in... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We enjoyed staying at the Balay Tuko Garden Inn, but were sick the whole time we were there with colds. That's why we did not sleep very well. The nights were noisy with the stray dogs barking and the roosters croaking all night long. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast and staff were good. Do take some ear... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for having taken some of your time to inform us of your opinion regarding your recent stay in our little hotel. We are very pleased to learn that our service met your expectations. About the noise, you never report anything otherwise we could have you move to try another room. Now dogs and roosters are all around... More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed here four nights andbit was just great. Great service great food and real peaceful surroundings. The breakfast has good western food and you pay as you go unless you have a meal option. If you enjoy gardens this place has a great big setting. They hosted a wedding just as we left. Good wifi good shower and clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great experience and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Regarding food options, we often customise our breakfast menu upon request especially if it is vegetarian cuisine, this is part of our service and we are more than happy to be at your... More 

fliptraveler3004
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Balay Tuko. Although it was off the main street and away from the shops, it was perfectly located for our needs. The property is peaceful, well maintained, and clean. The décor and design of the hotel was really done well. It was an upscale rustic if you will. The service was impeccable. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for having taken some of your time to inform us of your opinion regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that our service met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again. Joel & Maria Theresa More 

Cavite City, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Balay Tuko is beautiful ambiance place. I personally like the garden, it gives cool environment even during day time. during our stay, we feel very comfortable. The personnels are very polite and approachable.Breakfast served delicious but the tapa is not good. The hash brown taste bitter because of burnt onion please improve. But we love the lamayo, pure calamansi juice... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am thrilled to read that you experienced our team’s commitment to meet guest’s expectations and feel that our hotel has its "service at its best”. Rest assured that your concern particularly the breakfast would be addressed immediately. It has been a true pleasure being able to respond to your comments and... More 

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Balay Tuko is a bit far from the airport (as advertised) but Ma'am Tere (Theresa) patiently waited for us outside the airport even though we arrived beyond the 7 PM cut-off time. We were still given welcome drinks (fresh coconuts) even though it was already late. We were taken to Ka Inato by van by Joel himself for dinner on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joel W, Owner at Balay Tuko Garden Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great experience and found the room to be clean and comfortable. Regarding possible improvements, as B&B, we are following the requirements of the Department of Tourism: we are supplying daily mineral water bottles in each room. The mini-fridge in the room is required for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

160 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question