We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 652 Hong Kong hotels

Butterfly on Waterfront

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China (Sheung Wan)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
only on butterflyhk.com
Save Saved
You added Butterfly on Waterfront to your Saves list
Butterfly on Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
85%
Ranked #109 of 652 hotels in Hong Kong
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Cazali Zhuhai, China
  • Overview
  • Reviews (44)
  • Photos (308)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (19)
  • More
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
26
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a very cool little hotel, a short taxi ride from Central, but far enough out to feel like you are in 'real' Hong Kong as it is surrounded by Chinese medicine stores. It is a very short walk to the trams which take you into Central, and when we needed a taxi, Reception willingly organised one. Sheung Wan... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 3 nights this September. First time in Hong Kong so I had a bit of trouble finding it, but I asked a few shopkeepers and they directed me to it. Hotel is a high rise, the decor is very modern. Room was adequate in size and very comfortably furnished. Everything was in good order, clean and comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I’ve stayed in 2 other Butterfly hotels, Pratt and Victoria I really like the chain of small hotels - even though they’re a bit pricy the rooms are comfortable and the service is quite good. This trip I stayed in The Butterfly on the Waterfront because I had business in Kennedy Town and wished to be a bit closer to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the comprehensive review and loyalty support. Please accept my sincere apologies for the air-conditioning that interrupted your rest, we take your feedback very seriously and have addressed it with our management to ensure that necessary improvements can be made immediately. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused. Do contact us when you’re planning your next... More

Hector, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got in very late to this Hotel on our travels, and when we got to the reception the young lady was ever so helpful. The room was a small shock for the size but was good enough for 2 to call a base and go sightseeing. It was very clean and pretty. Breakfast was good and staff there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent rating. Glad to know that you enjoyed our comfortable guestrooms and friendly guest services are up to your expectations. We understand the importance of a comfortable and relaxing hotel stay, so we always do our best to personally take care of each guest from the time of check-in to checkout. We will surely assist on... More

Seoul, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

you will be a little skeptic when outside the hotel, but inside its all good. room is nice and staffs are accommodating. reception on the first floor is empty most of the time so go straight to the hotel lobby on the second floor when checking in. breakfast is good for a few nights stay. hotel could be a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review for Butterfly on Waterfront. We love to hear from our guests, and appreciate all of your kind words about our friendly guest services team and our comfortable guestrooms. The issue regarding the toilet sinks, we have review with our housekeeping team immediately and we will put more... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel room was nice and had a great view over the harbour from the 28th floor. The front desk was very helpful, kind and well staffed = good service. It's close to the subway (6-8 min walk) and the trams, and is only two stops away from the city center. However, the room was not properly cleaned before our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review for the Butterfly on Waterfront. We appreciate hearing from our guests, and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Being conveniently located in Sheung Wan puts all of our guests in a prime location for sightseeing, dinner, shows and more. We are walking distance from most... More

Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is great. Nice room and bigger then expected. Only downside is the zero privacy because of a glass door right in front of the toilet. Great view accross the harbour and excellent location. Easy to reach with MTR and dingding. The staff at the frontdesk were a huge disappointment. I had a problem with my creditcard and because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that your enjoyed our central location and our harbour view guestroom. Thank you for your valuable feedback that allows us to improve our service and be aware of those areas which need further & immediate improvements. It's unfortunate that we were not able to offer you an enjoyable stay this time but... More

Angeles City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very friendly staff who thought of things before you had to ask.the big flat screen tv that came up from the desk automatically was something outa james bond as was the automatic curtains which made the view even better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

It gives is great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We love to hear you found our guest services team to be friendly. Hope to see you again soon! More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great view across the harbour from our little room on the 31st floor. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was delicious, although the dining area is a bit cramped. The location is great; just a short subway or taxi ride to all the main attractions. A great hotel that I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for your amazing review! We’re thrilled to know you had such a fabulous experience at Butterfly on Waterfront! We love to hear you continue to enjoy our prime location, and appreciate your kind comments noticing our beautiful view and wonderful guest services team. Hope to see you back again soon. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The hotel was great - the room was the perfect size and the view was amazing - we stated in the signature room on the 27th Floor. It took a while for the taxi driver to find the place - it didn't help that current facia renovations had the hotels name covered. 300HKD in a taxi from the airport and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice feedback with us. Indeed we were delighted to read how much you were pleased with your guest experience. We are glad that you were satisfied with the size of our Signature Room and amazing harbor view. Thanks for your comment about the restaurant too, we will definitely share... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Butterfly on Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Butterfly on Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Waterfront

Address: 94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Waterfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Butterfly on Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Waterfront Hong Kong

308 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (187)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Executive Harbour View (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Harbour View Room #2201 (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Harbour View Room #2202 (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Hong Kong with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Butterfly on Waterfront, the elegantly designed boutique hotel situated at Sheung Wan, enjoys dazzling view of Victoria Harbour and the area’s blissful city scene, presenting travelers an unparalleled relaxing experience in this busy city. The hotel offers 90 tastefully furnished guest rooms, tailored for modern travelers who enjoy contemporary and peaceful lifestyle. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Butterfly on Waterfront and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Butterfly on Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer