We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 651 Hong Kong hotels

Butterfly on Waterfront

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China (Sheung Wan)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Butterfly on Waterfront to your Saves list
Butterfly on Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
85%
Ranked #118 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
boq_S4 Seoul, South Korea
  • Overview
  • Reviews (40)
  • Photos (307)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • More
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
25
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

you will be a little skeptic when outside the hotel, but inside its all good. room is nice and staffs are accommodating. reception on the first floor is empty most of the time so go straight to the hotel lobby on the second floor when checking in. breakfast is good for a few nights stay. hotel could be a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel room was nice and had a great view over the harbour from the 28th floor. The front desk was very helpful, kind and well staffed = good service. It's close to the subway (6-8 min walk) and the trams, and is only two stops away from the city center. However, the room was not properly cleaned before our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kortrijk, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is great. Nice room and bigger then expected. Only downside is the zero privacy because of a glass door right in front of the toilet. Great view accross the harbour and excellent location. Easy to reach with MTR and dingding. The staff at the frontdesk were a huge disappointment. I had a problem with my creditcard and because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that your enjoyed our central location and our harbour view guestroom. Thank you for your valuable feedback that allows us to improve our service and be aware of those areas which need further & immediate improvements. It's unfortunate that we were not able to offer you an enjoyable stay this time but... More

Angeles City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very friendly staff who thought of things before you had to ask.the big flat screen tv that came up from the desk automatically was something outa james bond as was the automatic curtains which made the view even better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

It gives is great pleasure to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We love to hear you found our guest services team to be friendly. Hope to see you again soon! More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great view across the harbour from our little room on the 31st floor. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. The breakfast was delicious, although the dining area is a bit cramped. The location is great; just a short subway or taxi ride to all the main attractions. A great hotel that I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks for your amazing review! We’re thrilled to know you had such a fabulous experience at Butterfly on Waterfront! We love to hear you continue to enjoy our prime location, and appreciate your kind comments noticing our beautiful view and wonderful guest services team. Hope to see you back again soon. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was great - the room was the perfect size and the view was amazing - we stated in the signature room on the 27th Floor. It took a while for the taxi driver to find the place - it didn't help that current facia renovations had the hotels name covered. 300HKD in a taxi from the airport and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice feedback with us. Indeed we were delighted to read how much you were pleased with your guest experience. We are glad that you were satisfied with the size of our Signature Room and amazing harbor view. Thanks for your comment about the restaurant too, we will definitely share... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel the day before arriving.. At such a cheap price inclusive of wifi and breakfast, with a fantastic location it was an obvious decision. Harbour view room on level 29 provided a fantastic view of the harbour and looking across to Kowloon. Clean room and comfy bed, well appointed with electric blind, fridge, hair dryer, safe &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your experience at Butterfly on Waterfront. We are delighted for your nice feedback about our location and the great harbor views. Great to know that our friendly guest services exceeded your expectations. Please allow me to personally extend my sincere apologies for the housekeeping services, we take your feedback very seriously and have... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and friendly hotel that is situated on the waterfront overlooking Kowloon. The rooms are very small but expected in Hong Kong and the bathroom has a window overlooking the bedroom! We managed to sort this problem by hanging our clothes in front of the window. The hotel close to the train station - we got a taxi costing 25HKD... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are glad to see that you were enjoyed our convenient location and nice rooms with a beautiful view. We apologize for the inconvenience caused that interrupted your rest. We will have a detailed investigation immediately about that and we promise to rectify if there's indeed a shortcoming in our services quality. We hope... More

Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for 4 nights on a stopover. The location is great with wonderful harbour views from our bedroom. The hotel is easily reached from the airport using the Airport Express train and a taxi from the Central station to the hotel which costs around £2 (£3 including luggage). The staff are young and very helpful. Our room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We thank you for your kind comments recognizing our great value, helpful guest services team and unbeatable location. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your comfy bed to be amazing. Regarding on the comments about restaurant, we will definitely share every guests' opinion with the restaurant operator in order to... More

Shenzhen, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was horrible, the deluxe room was a joke. Shower was a glass cabin so there was no privacy. The whole hotel is under construction and outside it smells disgusting because people dry their weird fishes on the pavement. Whatever you do, don't book this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Waterfront, responded to this review

We are very disheartened to hear that the room you received did not meet your expectations. Thanks for your comment about the bathroom; we have made improvement on this immediately. Do contact us directly, and we would be more than happy in assisting you in booking a more suitable accommodation should you decide to stay with us in the future.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Butterfly on Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Butterfly on Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Waterfront

Address: 94 Connaught Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 0, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Waterfront 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Butterfly on Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Waterfront Hong Kong

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (187)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (15)
Viewed
Executive Harbour View (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Harbour View Room #2201 (32)
Viewed
Deluxe Harbour View Room #2202 (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Hong Kong with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#57 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Butterfly on Waterfront, the elegantly designed boutique hotel situated at Sheung Wan, enjoys dazzling view of Victoria Harbour and the area’s blissful city scene, presenting travelers an unparalleled relaxing experience in this busy city. The hotel offers 90 tastefully furnished guest rooms, tailored for modern travelers who enjoy contemporary and peaceful lifestyle. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Butterfly on Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer