We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 667 Hong Kong hotels

New Hong Kong Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Flat C1,Floor 6,Block C,Chung King Mansion,Nathan Road 36-44,Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
Hotel amenities
New Hong Kong Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added New Hong Kong Hostel to your Saves list
52%
Ranked #411 of 667 Hotels in Hong Kong
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013
nicshayy Penang Island,
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We were dropped off by our transfer around the corner and reassured to just go right and we would see the hotel We landed in hong kong approximately 10pm so walking with baggages attracted creepy sales people straight away The hotel it self was through a building with various stalls with men grabbing at you I personally couldn't handle it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at this hotel for abour 4 days at their E block of the hostel. This is really the worst hostel i have really been. It showed great pictures on their webite, but when i came, it was totalky different, room was just small even we cant go to batheroom easily just small, even the bed,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rajkot
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is the most third class hotel i have ever seen in life. pathetic and terrible. rooms are just 6 ft by 6 ft almost and not as shown in picture. very rude staff and it seems like they have made some african guys seat there to fight with guests who have pre booked rooms. i didnt checked in inspite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vienna, Austria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was the worst place i have ever seen on all my travels ! We had to move to an other place without getting our money back I would not recommend to my enemies to stay there, dirty, rooms not as shown on pictures, difficult to find someone responsible...

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Penang Island,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked in to the New Hong Kong Hostel for 3nights in 2-5th June 2013 . The owner owns several of the hostels in Block C at Chungking Mansions and as a result we actually ended up in the "Garden Hostel" on floor 16. Please proceed directly to floor 15 on your right to check in.The Hostel was absolutely perfect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked in to the New Hong Kong Hostel for One week In August 2012. The owner owns several of the hostels in Block C at Chungking Mansions and as a result we actually ended up in the "Garden Hostel" on floor 16. The Hostel was absolutely perfect for our needs. We had an immaculate room, which was cleaned daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Zhuhai, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

My experience at the New Hong Kong Hostel is very similar to the bad reviews already posted. I would have to tell travelers to look somewhere other than the Chung King Mansion. If you want to rough it out or don't care about the shabby accommodations this place is fine. At least it's chreap plus all you have to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before... More

Clifton, New Jersey
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My experience was terrible!!! Although I knew that place was no so good, I have no options. I gave a chance and stay there. We arrived at midnight, the entrance is full of people with no good appearance. The room and bathroom was so unpleasant. Besides that, there are 3 guys sleeping in the floor in the hall.The pics showed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before... More

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010 via mobile

As you walk into the ChungKing mansions you will inevitably be met by several men all gunning for your business! Despite the fact we had a prior booking for this place we were still quizzed at the lift door by a man askin which hostel we were booked into. He asked if it was our hostel and we agreed, he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Amy C, Owner at New Hong Kong Hostel, responded to this review

We are brand new budget hostel,and located in Chung King Mansion where favored by many budget travelers due to it's cheap accommodation and central location in Hong Kong.Due to the valued land in Hong Kong,budget hostel room are small,but room are clean and with private bathroom,free internet access,air-condition,fan,television,telephone,fan,towel and slipper.Our check-in time is 12:30PM - 01:30AM,and Check-our time is before... More

Do you own or manage New Hong Kong Hostel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to New Hong Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hong Kong Hostel

Address: Flat C1,Floor 6,Block C,Chung King Mansion,Nathan Road 36-44,Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Hong Kong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your New Hong Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
New Hong Kong Hostel

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near New Hong Kong Hostel