We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Reef Hotel

3.0 of 5 Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reef Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Reef Hotel
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    114
    55
    14
    31
See reviews for
45
113
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (274)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Normally i don't write reviews but i had to share my experience because i owe it to myself if not others. So my friends and i decided to have our holiday at the Reef Hotel, we were four of us anyway we were hanging out at the pool one day, two of them were seated at the Tanga Bar i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location gives a perfect view of the ocean. The guards at the beach, particularly at night gave great comfort to me and my partner when viewed against the background of terrorist attacks at the Coast of Kenya. We were, however, seriously disturbed by mosquitoes in the room

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Osungao, Thanks for your review posted on the trip advisor about your stay and experience at The Reef Hotel Mombasa,Kenya. We are glad that you enjoyed every bit of your holiday while staying with us apart from the mosquitoes problem in your room. I wish to register our sincere apologies for this and we will for sure do our... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I visited the Reef hotel in early November and it was beyond my expectations. The rooms were well furnished and clean,the food was good, the ambience was great for time out, the staff were friendly and polite. It is well quite accessible from Mombasa town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff are amazing. We had an ocean view room, it was beautiful. A special thanks to Joyce,who gives amazing massages, Bernadette, Nico the animator, and all the reception staff. You made out holiday a memorable one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I was there in June 2014 for a 2 week conference.the food was disgusting until we did not bother with lunch.when we asked the chef for more variety he said that he did not have his own garden to grow what we were requesting for.the conference rooms were not up to standard and the wifi was weak. the hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Missment Thank you for your review received on trip advisor alerting us of the dissatisfaction you had in relation to the facilities and meals offered while attending a course at the the hotel. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a situation while staying us.. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

For a supposedly 4 star hotel my experience with this hotel was so bad that Checked out the falling morning, TODAY actually. The lack of care with cleanliness and maintaince is shocking to say the least. Will post pictures of cob web infested bathroom windows, something any house keeper can clean up, rusted shower heads - top tip reef hotel-... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mdm. Dzikamai, Thank you for your review received on trip advisor alerting us of poor quality facilities in the room that was offered to you. Regrettably this is one the few rooms that was on the ongoing list of rooms to be renovated during this time of low occupancy experienced in the hotel industry. We also wish to thank... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

we had made a booking at the reef hotel recently but unfortunately the rooms were not to our expectations at all... They tried to resettle us but the "upgraded" rooms need more work. The view is lovely but the rooms could do with a facelift.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mdm. Priscilla, Thank you for your review received on trip advisor alerting us of the discomfort/dissatisfaction you had in relation to the facilities offered in the room. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a situation while staying us.. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced has been noted... More 

Hamburg
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The reef beach in Mombasais a Very good Hotel, has very frienly staff and a very nice beach. The rooms are clean and the foid is realy good testing. It is directly at the beach and the is also a very nice beach bar.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Reef Hotel as your preferred destination host in Kenya. We are very much proud and honored to have the chance of show casing our finest hospitality and be of service to you while staying with us. Of course we also appreciate your comments on a few... More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

I visited this hotel in april 2014, and to be honest the stay was not bad. But now, 5 months after i checked out, the hotel charged my visa card for the stay again. The hotel asked me to show bankstatements as a proof for the double charge. And when i did, the hotel deny their action, even tho the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review received on trip advisor alerting us to the problem you have been having with our accounts department in relation to the refund issue due double billing. I am sorry you have been subjected to such a frustrating series of events. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced... More 

Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Reef is rather budget hotel in decent area. We decided for it mainly because of the beautiful view of the ocean. It could be see directly from the pool. Food was nice, we liked the variety. People are very friendly and in our opinion it was not only because we are tourists. They do like to smile. There is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joe e, Front Office Manager at Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam, Let me take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Reef Hotel as your preferred destination host in Kenya. We are very much proud and honored to have the chance of show casing our finest hospitality and be of service to you while staying with us. Of course we also appreciate your comments on a few... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa

229 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (208)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay