We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Funzi Keys

Hotel website
Funzi Island | Diani Beach, Mombasa, Kenya
Special Rate
5 FOR 4
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Funzi Keys
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Funzi Keys
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    11
    3
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Beautiful setting, wonderful welcome from all, including the owners, all staff very friendly, service in 'Kenya time' but hey what's the rush...We initially thought the food portions were rather small but as the days went by we realised that they were just right. The simple home cooked food was good and very fresh, grown, reared or caught locally. Dinner was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We were a large party staying for two nights. The owners (the whole family) were wonderful, however, if they could have been a little more accommodating it would have made so much difference. The food was nothing brilliant and always took so long to come even the desserts were just ice cream it was not well thought about at all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FunziManagement, Owner at The Funzi Keys, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and the location of The Funzi Keys. Feedback from the group leader was also very positive. We offer a very informal style of barefoot luxury, away from the hubbub of Mombasa, and we like to be as accommodating as possible to the needs of our guests. We welcome guests to... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

After a few days at Masai Mara, we went for a couple of days to Funzi Keys. When we arrived, we felt very well immediately. The owners were very kind and eager to make you at home. And the staff, specially Abdullah, was very attentive. If you are looking for air conditioning and tv, this is not for you. Funzi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

we arrived late afternoon after a lovely boat trip through the mangrove islands, to be greated by Alessandro (junior) who told us all about Funzi and what we could do during our stay. then off to our enormous and stunning beachside cottage. We popped open our bottle of champagne which was waiting for us in our room,( kindly given to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend at Funzi a couple of weeks ago and are still coming back down to earth afterwards - simply an amazing place for a relaxing getaway. It's a family run place, and they and the staff are extremely welcoming, generous and attentive. Rooms are fantastic and perfectly suited to the desert island feel of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

It has taken me a while to write a review for The Funzi Keys & my reason for doing so now is because I have been reading some of the reviews due to a possible return & have noticed some of the reviews being terrible & poor. I am shocked to see any review being terrible. My new husband &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This place is heaven on earth! We arrived late in the afternoon, after a calm and peaceful boat ride. I cannot describe the feeling of calmness and peace that comes over you when you arrive at the beach in front of the reception. There is no stress here, no cell phones, no music, just ... peace and quiet. It's ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

A little further down the kenyan coast but well worth the travel if you looking for a boutique hotel rustic and beautiful in its natural setting The sand bank across is a great place to relax on the bean bags have a few drinks and have a swim when it gets too warm As a vegetarian I had higher expectations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Wow from 35 minutes drive and 15 minute boat trip we experienced heavenly treatment. Rooms ver luxurious with own spa, bottle bubbly on arrival and lovely hosts. On the expensive side but well worth the treat. Only disappointment was the red wine included but such a small thing to moan about. Although fully inclusive we organised a seafood platter at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

For the amount of money you pay definately Funzi keys are ripping people off,i even suspect some of the reviews were written by them so as to lure people into thinking that some of the guests are just too demanding! The food was horrible,my kenyan maid will make better spaghetti bolognese,my babys portion was same as for adults,too small and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
FunziManagement, Owner at The Funzi Keys, responded to this review

Dear nghazy g, We were disappointed to read your review of your stay at The Funzi Keys. We take all guest comments to heart as we always strive to maintain and improve our services. We are located on a secluded, private beach and the style and construction is designed to blend in with its rural setting. It is our home... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities