We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 46 Mombasa hotels

Vasco da Gama

Save
You added Vasco da Gama to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shanzu Beach, Mombasa, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Vasco da Gama
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Mombasa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mombasa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
6
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

I travelled to vasco with my family for 2 weeks on a half board basis... With us all having been before (we stayed at the palm/coral last time) we had an idea of what to expect... The rooms are fairly basic, but do have air con (a must!!). We had a big balcony with had a partial sea/pool view, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

and I have twice already and am planning another trip soon. If you go to Kenya, dont go with a Western mind-set expecting the luxuries you might from a trip to benidorm or paris or barcelona. if you are not satisfied with the clean and comfortable accommodation or the good and plentiful food take a tuktuk into Mtwapa or Shanzu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

After eating the worst plane food I'd ever had and waiting for almost an hour on the transfer bus until everyone had boarded, we endured another hours drive to the hotel. The staff met us with cold drinks and were singing and dancing (a very nice touch) My room was divided into two equally large separate halves with two doors,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AfricanSafariClub, Customer Services at Vasco da Gama, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we will look into the issues you have raised. We however must point out that all staff receive their wages as normal. During the unrest in 2008 there was a time when staff were retained on lower wages due to the lack of tourists visiting the country during that troubling time. All staff are... More 

Bolton
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

When I saw the view from my room of The Indian Ocean I was blown away!I cannot fault the hotel at all.The staff were attentive,friendly and nothing was too much trouble.I felt I was leaving friends behind when I left.The food was great, varied and plentiful and better than the other hotels on the complex.The staff sat singles with other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
camberly england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

since change of airline to Monarch-always late arriving or leaving-22nd 24 hours late-23rd over 12 hours late-left at 11-30pm staff sewrved sundries,drinks,and duty free -then when everyone was asleep,served a dinner.-woke to worst breakfast ever-Enjoy said label -dont think anyone did. 70% returned-only pigs could Enjoy if given as swill

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Two weeks in the hotel was superb the service and friendleness of staff was second to none.I went with the African Safari Club on a all inclusive deal,in my opinion the best out there in the business for value for money.My daughter and myself had such a great time,and kept busy with so many things to do and expereince.Even went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

the food was good. iam vegetarian so i got lots of fruit and veg. very spacious good for family. and singles also. the waiters were over helpfull. did not feel isolated i wanted to bring back a monkey with me the baby one every day in the morning they would be sittig outside my balkony just waiting for me. hello... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

We could not recommend this hotel for the following reasons. We found the attitude of the Management at the hotel very unhelpful and even slightly abusive. The general staff were pleasant and helpful. The management were unhelpful about our complaints regarding the standards of cleanliness particularly in the public areas. When we complained about the cracked and chipped plates we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
london
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

When we booked this hotel we were advised that it would be most suitable for our young family. We wern't expecting the Serena, we expected dated facilities, but we were shocked to find a broken, uninhabital room. Our list of problems included broken floor tiles which were extremely dangerous, leaking toilets with a disgusting urine stench, stained matresses with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clacton on sea essex
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

good hotel very friendly staff food good but can be repeated every week ,the only bad thing is the beach boys who will harrass you go outside to get good price on safari,the kenya people are very good and helpfull

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Vasco da Gama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco da Gama

Address: Shanzu Beach, Mombasa, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasco da Gama 3*
Number of rooms: 58

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Vasco da Gama

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby