We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lotus Hotel

Cathedral Lane, Mombasa, Kenya
Lotus Hotel
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    6
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
9
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (36)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
There are newer reviews for Lotus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The hotel is nothing spectacular, but the rooms are clean and quiet. The restaurant is good, but the breakfast is nothing special. During ramadan you may be woken by the mosque located across the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your your experience at Lotus Hotel, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your positive comment about our property and look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at any time Sincerely Lenah Bundi Emarketing... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The staff was very friendly. The amenities were great!!. It was very clean. The location is great!! Its right in the heart of Mombasa and close to the historical landmark Fort Jesus. I will definitely stay there again the next time I'm in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa it was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are glad that we were able to meet your expectation in terms of cleanliness and great location.We also appreciate the compliments you have made about our staff members. Thanks again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming... More 

Espoo, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed in this hotel in May 2010 for few nights. Hotel was clean and quiet, mosquito nets were in good shape. The staff were very nice! Only negative thing was laundry service which was slow and we had to wait our laundries longer than expected. But we got them juts in time before leaving from Mombasa. But nice hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa it was a great pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your kind feedback about the cleanliness of the room, the great location and the fine compliments you have made about our staff members. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus Hotel. Sincerely Lenah... More 

South Hill, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I arrived with wife on June 27,2011,the price of room went up since making reservation from Nairobi the night before. The room had excessive cock roaches,toilet would not flush,and when trying to flush water would leak from around tub.When I went down to desk to report problem one employee was smiling,laughing,another employee present said someone will be up to check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your visit to Mombasa. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We apologize that you were unable to enjoy your time with us during your stay at the hotel as you had unpleasant experience with our staff. In regards to cockroaches the matter was addressed and investigated... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

After spending a wonderful time travelling around Kenya we spent a night at Lotus Hotel in Mombasa on our way down to Diani beach. Contrary to the rest of the trip where we met friendly people and experienced truly great Kenyan hospitality, this hotel was poorly run, dirty and unsafe. Upon arrival the room was unclean and poorly maintained but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We apologize that you were unable to enjoy your time with us during your stay at the hotel. We’re very disappointed to hear that you did not wholly enjoy your recent experience with us as... More 

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and unfortunately it was a huge mistake. The hotel is well located and in general terms nice for a hotel of this category. It is a pity that rooms are not clean and there are cockroaches!. I must have killed around 10 of them and we only stayed here for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Lotus and sharing your feedback . It was a pleasure to serve you. In regards to cockroaches the matter have been addressed and investigated the issue with the departments concerned unfortunately we do not have any record about this. However we shall not fail in being more attentive from now on. We wish... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights before taking the train to Nairobi. Clean and safe and reasonably priced kenyan style hotel. Took a taxi out to Nyali beach for the day which was very enjoyable. Good to have a taster of a proper Kenyan town rather than a tourist resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of cleanliness and security as well... More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in September and as a reasonably priced option in the heart of Mombasa I'd say it's a good choice. The rooms are small but adequate and all come with air conditioning. There is a restaurant and bar within the hotel itself and the central courtyard area isn't a bad spot to relax with a beer.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as... More 

New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is pretty nice but the advice for "budget travelers" depends what you mean by budget traveler. The least expensive room, a single, is $40USD/night (3000 shillings). This includes breakfast. Anyway, the rooms were clean, definitely safe, and the ambience is very nice. TV didn't work though. Recommended if you want a medium-price hotel in Mombasa City, but for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as... More 

Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

I highly recommend Lotus Hotel. As you arrive you might immediately notice how beautiful and quiet the streets are that lead to Lotus Hotel – much in contrast to Nkrumah Ave only a block away. It’s like the Lotus is in a different world compared to the bustle of that main street. The gardens are full of flowers. And once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lenahbundi, Emarketing Consultant at Lotus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Lotus Hotel during your recent visit to Mombasa and taking your time to share your valued and very detailed feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We are glad to note that you were satisfied with all our services in terms of staff, cleanliness and security as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question