We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanctuary Olonana

Certificate of Excellence
C14, Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Sanctuary Olonana
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
50
82
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Olonana
See the most recent reviews
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed at Sanctuary Olonana in November 2011 and it was the best of all the places we stayed (8 in all during our 14 day safari) - for its staff, location and setting on the river, the menus and meals and the accommodation. The overall hospitality and welcome one felt was amazing. We are just trying to figure out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed 4 nights for our honeymoon. As all trips are planned by my wife, i was very curious whereabouts. The place amazed me very much after all. First, hippos welcomed us from the river. All staffs are very friendly. Tents are very facinating and relaxing. Foods are very good too. That was very nice hospitality. For game drive, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sint-Martens-Latem
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with a group of friends (Latem - Belgium) in this marvellous place. Tents are very comfortable and decorated with good taste. Sleeping so close to hippo's is quite an experience. Overwhelming friendliness and sense of humor of the staff brought us immediately into the "african mood". The chef, insired by the Italian cuisine, serves tastfull and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheridan, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We loved our stay at Olonana; I miss the sound of bellowing hippo! The food is great, the tents are wonderful, I hope I can go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
East coast
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
119 hotel reviews
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Olonana. The first night we were in tent 6, but this was quite a walk from the main lodge, and my companion was having trouble walking, so the next day they moved us to tent 1. That was greatly appreciated. The tents are huge, and sitting on the patio watching the hippos was quite entertaining.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
istanbul
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Sanctuary Olonana is a great place to stay, where the facility offers you everything you need with a very pleasent service provided by smiling great staff. Game drives are organised perfectly with suitable guides (thank you Nelson). Maurice is in control of everything from start to end.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was sorry to read the review from Helen as our experience was exactly the opposite. We were met with warm towels to wash off the dust on all our returns from the days adventures to meeting us outside our room to accompanying us to dinner each evening. Our room overlooked the river and 6 hippos that talked to us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Corona del Mar, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My family and I spent five nights here in September. Christine, Sammy, Lucas, Richard, and Shadrack took very good care of us. Our daughters are 13 and 11. The game drives were great trying to find just the right spots. Lucas was knowledgeable and great with the girls. Christine worried about us being on our computers, however, we kept a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Our short stay at Sanctuary Olonana was one of the highlights of our recent trip to Africa. The sanctuary's fabulous location on the banks of the Mara river allows one to soak up the local wild life action from the comforts of a well appointed tent or the sun deck. Ambrose has to take the award for 'best chef' on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

we stayed at the hotel recently and experienced a few issues with the hotel/camp which extremely poor service resulted in us feeling robbed of our money. There are certain levels which we/you expect from any hotel, let along a premium property. The main issues were (although there were a number of small issues which individually wouldn't cause a problem but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Olonana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at Sanctuary Olonana and would like to address your concerns as your experience is not representative of the standards we set ourselves in looking after our guests. Unfortunately we had to close the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

253 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (242)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
4:35
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (121)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question