We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oltome Resorts

Maasai Mara Sekenani Gate, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Oltome Resorts
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a good bush experience together with the service, food, rooms everything was excellent. A good place to relax and have a good time. It gives you a true feeling of being in game reserve.The manager and all staff were very friendly.its a place worth staying in during your holiday.Thanks to oltome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hi we visited oltme resorts 4 times,its a very nice bush experience,with good food and bonfire at night,and all the tents are clean and safe,All the staffs are friendly..its a nice experience staying in oltome its a real magic..

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

hi we visited Mara in 1sep to 7sep 2013. it was super stay at this resort. It gives you a true feeling of being in game reserve.the manager and all staff were very friendly and helping.the food was customized and very tasty . Another best thing was its proximity to main entrance for MARA reserve just 10 min drive. WE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We would like to thank oltome for making our honeymoon memorable and also thank them for the lovely daily surprises. The staff is very friendly and provide full satisfaction to there client as they give every client individual attention on a one on one basis. Rooms and tents are very Spacious, Well lit, and kept clean at all times. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wapserveen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The name Oltome Magic Luxury Camp is misleading. Very misleading. They say you overlook the plains but you do not at all. While we were sleeping the roof was leaking, drops of water on my bed during the night. The diningarea looked like a very cheap cantine. No mosquitonet around the bed made the nights terrible. The water for showering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Director at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As a director of the company, I had the pleasure of serving you at the camp. Food was made as per your requirements, which most hotels do not do but instead lay out a buffet of which you have no option. As for the hot water, it was explained to you that since we use... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Oltome offers high quality services at very reasonable prices. Within 5 minutes of the Mara, they give you in-depth knowledge of where to go, how to see the most animals, they will even arrange for you to take your own Masaai guide. The food is high quality, and cooked to personal preferences, the staff is attentive and friendly. No complaints... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Oltome provided us with a great Maasai Mara experience. Located 5 minutes from the gate offering help with guides and trip rentals. Extremely knowledgable staff who are courteous and respectful. The food served was excellent and authentic. Rooms are high quality with a great rustic location intertwined with forest and rivers just outside the gates. Most impressive was the friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very close to the santuary gate max 10 mins. The accommodation was rustic in appearance to match the mood as we were expecting a safari experience. The twin dwellings were far apart we could hear the jungle sounds in the night . The rooms were clean only issue was the bath and toilet didnt have doors probably to gov the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Have been to the Place Personally , Nice and Clean , Very good Value for the Money you pay, Personalised service. he rooms are permanent tents (something between a building and a tent). The tents are sprayed and well sealed, so it is unlikely any unwanted fauna can enter! The camp is about 10 min drive from the gate into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive and favorable review.Its not only helps to show we care for our clients but also for the environment. Regards More 

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here on 7 and 8 th dec and it was disappointing. Though Oltome tries to sell itself as a lodging offering real bush experiences 'like no another', much more can be done to ensure that it meets one-star standards. Here is a record of issues that the management may like to address: 1. Filthy bed-sheets, towels and pillows marked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Eddie We have read through your comments and fail to understand why you are contradicting yourself.You do remember that you have filled a questionnaire about your stay at Oltome Mara Magic Resort where you did mention that the food and accommodation met your expectations while the service was above expectations.Cleanliness was above your expectations Note you answered the questionnaire... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question