We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Oltome Resorts to your Saves list
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (31)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • More
Oltome Resorts
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wapserveen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The name Oltome Magic Luxury Camp is misleading. Very misleading. They say you overlook the plains but you do not at all. While we were sleeping the roof was leaking, drops of water on my bed during the night. The diningarea looked like a very cheap cantine. No mosquitonet around the bed made the nights terrible. The water for showering... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Director at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As a director of the company, I had the pleasure of serving you at the camp. Food was made as per your requirements, which most hotels do not do but instead lay out a buffet of which you have no option. As for the hot water, it was explained to you that since we use... More

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Oltome offers high quality services at very reasonable prices. Within 5 minutes of the Mara, they give you in-depth knowledge of where to go, how to see the most animals, they will even arrange for you to take your own Masaai guide. The food is high quality, and cooked to personal preferences, the staff is attentive and friendly. No complaints... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Oltome provided us with a great Maasai Mara experience. Located 5 minutes from the gate offering help with guides and trip rentals. Extremely knowledgable staff who are courteous and respectful. The food served was excellent and authentic. Rooms are high quality with a great rustic location intertwined with forest and rivers just outside the gates. Most impressive was the friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very close to the santuary gate max 10 mins. The accommodation was rustic in appearance to match the mood as we were expecting a safari experience. The twin dwellings were far apart we could hear the jungle sounds in the night . The rooms were clean only issue was the bath and toilet didnt have doors probably to gov the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Have been to the Place Personally , Nice and Clean , Very good Value for the Money you pay, Personalised service. he rooms are permanent tents (something between a building and a tent). The tents are sprayed and well sealed, so it is unlikely any unwanted fauna can enter! The camp is about 10 min drive from the gate into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive and favorable review.Its not only helps to show we care for our clients but also for the environment. Regards More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed here on 7 and 8 th dec and it was disappointing. Though Oltome tries to sell itself as a lodging offering real bush experiences 'like no another', much more can be done to ensure that it meets one-star standards. Here is a record of issues that the management may like to address: 1. Filthy bed-sheets, towels and pillows marked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Eddie We have read through your comments and fail to understand why you are contradicting yourself.You do remember that you have filled a questionnaire about your stay at Oltome Mara Magic Resort where you did mention that the food and accommodation met your expectations while the service was above expectations.Cleanliness was above your expectations Note you answered the questionnaire... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent safari camp. The rooms are permanent tents (something between a building and a tent). The tents are sprayed and well sealed, so it is unlikely any unwanted fauna can enter! The camp is about 10 min drive from the gate into the park, so the location is pretty good. The manager and staff are very helpful and friendly. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the resort and i would summarise my stay as follows: Great staff, couldnt have done more Accommodation is superb, very clean and secure, we stopped over on one occasion at the very expensive lodge and I had a chance to see the tents, I realised ours were on par if not better and of course... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments which were much appreciated. For your information your suggestion was taken up and the numbering of Tents has been done out of Mazeras Stones and also to let you know that the camp is eco-friendly as it is powered by solar Also on the same note thank you for the time you took to... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

we stayed at oltome for 2 nights in august,2013. nice clean tents, good food (indian food available), safe, friendly staff & manager. approx 10 mins drive from sekenani gate, but its almost 2hrs away from the mara river.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oltomemaramagic, Owner at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you for your input and appreciate it.It is from clients like yourself who keep us on our feet in order to improve our services. Once again thanks you and best regards Zul Hasham More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ol Tome Mara Magic Resort is managed based on the nature around. In the morning and The evening a Masai person lights the wood fire, half an hour later you can have a warm shower. During the day and the middle of the night, there is no electricity. The resort has only seven tents for visitors and a few for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oltomemaramagic, Manager at Oltome Resorts, responded to this review

Dear Gea S Thank you for the email and appreciate the points you have brought to our attention. At the same time I need to clarify a few points.Note Mr fahim is a graduate from Edwin Cowan University -Australia and he has not managed any Orphan Homes as you mention.In addition we have 13 tents in total and not 7.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oltome Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oltome Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltome Resorts

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Also Known As:
Oltome Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Oltome Resorts Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Maasai Mara National Reserve with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oltome Resorts staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer