We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Majlis Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Ras Kitau Bay, Manda Island | PO Box 502, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Majlis Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Majlis Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I have visited beautiful place all over the world but Majlis Hotel, Lamu is the most beautiful place in the World. Majlis gives it's guest the Swahili touch of service and the foot served is extraordinarily fresh and unique. Most of the food served including seafood is fished from the Indian ocean adjacent to the hotel. If you want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward hosting you again. Our staff remains fully dedicated to continue to offer 1st class services to our forthcoming guests. Hospitality and personalised service represent the core of our values ! More 

Nairobi Region, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

The Hotel is stunningly beautiful,staff is very friendly and helpful.Sadly due to Al Shabaab threats tourism in Lamu is very down now.Its probably due to this fact that hotel has fallen into a sorry shape.Wjite terrazzo floors of room and bathroom are stained and full of limescale.Shower gel,shampoo,body lotion is rather provided in blue glass large bottles instead of use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

We are simply outraged by your review. It is all false and it represents a clear attempt to discredit the hotel and favour the competition. We remain thankful to all other reviewers who have been fair and truthful. Our staff needs positive feedback to continue to deliver beyond the imagination. The Majlis is open throughout the low season and welcomes... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

we stay at Majlis last week and it was amazing , a lot of actives to do with professional staff , very personal costumer care , authentic and super fresh sea food ! The beauty and the comfort of this hotel are incredible ......the best place to stay in Lamu .

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015 via mobile

Just back from an amazing trip to Lamu. My wife and I wanted some alone time and the Majlis resort is exactly what we needed. Booked by a relative of ours who works in tourism we didn't know much about the property, but looking back we're glad we stayed. We were picked up by the Hotel from Lamu airstrip for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed Lamu and stayed at Majlis for your honeymoon ! We look forward hosting you in the near future ! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

MY 8 DAY vacation at the Majlis was more than magical. I've never experienced such customer service in Kenya - or other countries I've visited for that matter. i literally enjoyed being treated like royalty, the staff, food, ambiance and customer service was impeccable. my dining and cocktail experience was unforgettable, so is the phrase "#lamuTamu' that's why #majlisResort is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you feedback, very much appreciated by our staff as it boosts morale and pushes all of us to do better and better ! We have been facing challenges in Lamu but we have always kept a positive attitude. We remain committed to offer unique experiences to our guests ! Karibu Majlis, Karibu Lamu, Karibu Kenya !! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

This place is amazing. It is our second time there and we loved again as much as we did the first time. The resort is absolutely stunning. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The management & staff are super-friendly and they go out of their way to assist you with any needs. The food is delicious and fresh (I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jimmy, Thank you for your kind review. We were all very happy to see you coming back to Majlis. While we were busy during Easter, we are glad to know that you were fully satisfied by our service, meals and accommodation. We look forward hosting you again any time soon. Wish you the very best in your endeavours ! More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We just spent 4 nights there. Location is great! Room size was good. Ask for a Junior Suite, as the standard rooms are below average. Bathrooms are below average and basic. AC's don't work properly. Wifi didn't work. The food was mediocre at best. The service was terrible until we had to make some noise. it took them 3 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

Our most sincere apologies to some of our Easter guests who we were not able to fully satisfy as we were totally stretched with staff and equipment during this period. We thank each and every client who stayed with us for their patience and understanding and contributing to our full house situation. Going from a low period of occupancy to... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We were looking forward to stay at The Majlis and had set high expectations. Our stay was memorable from the very beginning: boat pick up at the airport was unexpected and fun. Lamu is like Venice! No roads, no cars, only canals and boats!! The Majlis is located on a pristine white sandy beach and offers an amazing view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

The hotel is not much to look at when you arrive - but soon you get to love the surroundings and the people The food is really great and my wife and boys were treated well- like we were family The trip to making the boats is not worth it. The other trips are worth the time - the trip... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

The atmosphere and rooms were excellent but they should work on the bathrooms and the quality of the food, the trip from the airport to the hotel was refreshing by motor boat, all of us really enjoyed our trip here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AddisLondon, Owner at The Majlis Hotel, responded to this review

At Majlis, we strive to offer the best services and quality but we can not cater to visitors who have expectations that go beyond what we can honestly deliver. You can not expect to be able to choose a live fish because of your religion. Our pools are for use by the guests and not to be used as an... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
4:54
Videos (9)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay