We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
PO Box 131, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added JamboHouse to your Saves list
JamboHouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
95%
Ranked #7 of 25 Lamu Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
41
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay for two nights at Jambo House. It was a great, affordable place to stay to see the sights around Lamu. It's located a bit back from the waterfront (around a 5 min. walk from the main jetty.)The rooms are basic, yet clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in had a fan and a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Arnold is the best host I've ever had in a hostel. He explained us everything and was very helpful. The rooftop terrace is definitely one of my favorite things about this place. It is very well located if you interest is to be in lamu town. The rooms are clean but quite noisy at night (which could be a problem... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I cannot say how wonderful Arnold is as a host! A big group of us travelled to Lamu and he arranged for us to find the hostel and got an extra bed to accommodate our group! Upon arrival he sat us down with a map to give us an idea of the town (at first it can be confusing, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Jambo house. We were welcomed by Arnold with a nice fresh juice on the cute rooftop terrace. He gives you a lot of information and tips. The rooms are very basic, but clean and provided with what you need. The bed was a bit small though, but we just came from a 4 nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If you ever thought it would be great to open your own guest house in one of your favourite places then you should go to Jambo House for inspiration. Arnold has used his extensive experience as a traveller to provide a five star service at budget prices and he is dedicated to constantly improving your enjoyment. Its in a fairly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Jambo house is spotlessly clean and has very friendly staff. Arnold, the owner can arrange the best and cheapest tours to go on. The breakfast that comes with the price of the room is a great way to start the day. Lots of fruit and omlettes with tea and coffee. Actually the chap who makes breakfast is a great cook,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Arnold, who runs Jambo House is a traveller and he understands that you want good, clean, affordable accomodation and want to spend your money on experiences rather than frills. He and his staff look after you extremely well, from meeting you on arrival and getting you orientated, to helping organise your experience of Lamu if you want him to. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a no frills budget hotel however it does provide a very good value for money. The owner gives you a welcome drink on your arrival and provided a helpful map of Lamu. They can arrange trips etc and were helpful in advising what we should pay for taxi boats. The room was basic but provided anything we needed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review

Dear Mark A, thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at JamboHouse but I want to clarify one thing. We have three different types of rooms: 1 double room with integrated bathroom and private balcony, two double rooms with integrated bathrooms and two double rooms with private bathroom (not shared) but outside the room. You... More

Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a very late review, but I was in Lamu early this year, in March 2013. I was doing a overland trip to Kenya at the time, and I decided to visit Lamu. Jambo house seemed a perfect fit, and it didn't disappoint. I know it's been said a million times here, but the owner Arnold is very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beijing, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I visited Lamu in early Oct. and spent two nights in Jambohouse. The facility is basic but value for money. The room is not luxury, but clean and cozy. It's enjoyable to sit on the terrace drinking Kenya coffee with cool breeze blowing from the sea. Arnold the owner is warm-hearted and responsible. He knows Lamu very well and arranged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Giriama, Owner at JamboHouse, responded to this review

Dear catcatyue, thank you for staying at JamboHouse and we are happy you and your parents enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately, you didn't have so much time in Lamu but we tried (and obviously managed it) to arrange a good program for you to enjoy Lamu as much as possible during your stay. Right now, we are upgrading rooms:... More

Been to JamboHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JamboHouse

Address: PO Box 131, Lamu Island 80500, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Lamu Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lamu Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In JamboHouse we provide in our 5 friendly in Lamu Style furnished rooms an enjoyable stay at reasonable rates. All our rooms (with mosquito net & ceiling fan) have private bathrooms. JamboHouse is ideally located to explore the Old Town of Lamu. From there it’s just a three minute walk through narrow lanes to Town Square with Lamu Fort. When you book JamboHouse we wait for you at the airport or at the bus terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your JamboHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JamboHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.