We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi

Second Ngong Avenue. Upper Hill Nairobi, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Formerly Country Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #26 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
john2030 Ottawa, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to stay. Benefits of economy hotel but with use of great facilities in adjacent hotel. Breakfasts were amazing. Great fitness facilities. Staff very helpful. Bed comfortable and room new with excellent furniture. Only drawback was the luggage screening x-ray machine was broken and luggage had to go through checking at adjacent hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us, as well as the delicious breakfasts. We are, however, sorry to hear about your experience with the broken luggage screening X-Ray machine. We will definitely be looking into the problem on your behalf. Thank you for staying with us... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Because it is linked with the Fairview hotel it offers several excellent resteraunts and pool. Almost 5 star because of quality and caring staff. High security. Only criticism is the airport shuttle has been terminated and no aircon for the hot season. Also, unfortunately noisy construction work from an adjacent site will spoil a normally very quiet hotel for quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the constructive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations - unfortunately there is very little we can do when it comes to construction taking place in other buildings. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I've stayed in a variety of guesthouses and hotels in Nairobi over the past few years. This hotel is by far the best; here is why 1) direct internal gate access to Fairview Hotel (a four star hotel with 5 great restaurants) 2) clean, spacious, comfortable room with a great desk for working 3) gym and access to pool at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the very constructive review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We will definitely take your suggestions into consideration as we continually strive to improve our customer service and satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us... More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I'm giving this five stars because it is fantastic value for money and has superb security. You have full access to the neighboring Fairview hotel restaurants and pool through an internal entrance. The Town Lodge is clean, the breakfast good and the staff friendly. I always stay here and recommend it to others. My one wish is that they'd have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are SO happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location as well as the breakfast offerings - key components that we pride ourselves in! We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to having you stay with us again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Comfortable, good value hotel located next door to the Fairview Hotel, with direct and secure access to all that hotel's restaurants and facilities. Felt very safe and secure and great central location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

This is a solid hotel with all the amenities necessary. Very safe ( suitcases are scanned before entering). Price is very reasonable at about $130 a night depending on the going exchange rate. It includes an English breakfast with fresh fruit and eggs. Good Kenyan coffee in a mug and friendly people to help. The rooms are simple with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review and for your continuous support Mark! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we are able to consistently meet your needs and requirements again and again. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon... More 

Lusaka
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

This Town Lodge is perfect for the business traveller. The rooms are simple, small but certainly ideal for those few hours you will only spend there while in Nairobi on business. The shower had great pressure and temperature.The easy and secure access to Fairview Hotel to enable you to get your meals is great especially as you are limited to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Louisa, Thank you for the constructive review and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon! More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This hotel is well located close to the business district of Nairobi. The staff are really friendly and reception and check is efficient. The rooms are neet and tidy. Not over luxurious but have all the amenities that a traveller needs. There is free wireless which works most of the time. This is a huge advantage. As this is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

We thank you for the great review. We're really pleased to hear that you experienced friendly service from our staff and that your check-in was efficient. It's also good that you found the rooms to be well equipped and and comfortable. We're happy you found us perfect for a business traveller and we look forward to having you stay with... More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Clean, modern and excellent quality of service. Safe and peaceful. Adjoins Fairview Hotel with excellent resteraunts and pool. Good small gym. Excellent value for money. No aircon so thin duvet needed at hot times with ceiling fan on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. It's fantastic to find that you enjoyed your stay and felt safe and peaceful. We're pleased you found us to be good value for money and that you enjoyed the facilities like the pool and restaurant. We can't wait to have you stay with us again soon. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Country Lodge is situated in a quiet and peaceful part of Nairobi. There is access to the delightful Fairview Hotel next door. If you have budgetary issues, it is cheaper than the Fairview but you can still take your meals at the Fairview as there is offstreet access. The rooms are clean and functional, but not very big. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge Upper Hill Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. We're happy to hear that you found your stay to be great value for money, and that you enjoyed the breakfast options available. We look forward to having you stay again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay