We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meridian Hotel

#19 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
6 Muranga Road | Moi Avenue, Nairobi 30278-00100, Kenya
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Meridian Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dodoma, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meridian has great rooms especially in terms of beds, decor and lighting. I needed somewhere I could have a conference that is near city centre but it should not have alot of noises and away from the bustle. That seemed pretty hard but this place has sound proof conference halls. Good stuff and definately will have another meeting there.

Helpful?
Thank jac m
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jac M I very much appreciate you writing a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Meridian Hotel! Thank you for mentioning our newly refurbished rooms as well as our convenient location in the heart of the city of Nairobi. We understand the importance of providing an appropriate environment for our guests to carry out their business and... More 

Kisumu, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing rooms and conferencing facilities and upto standard. Their decor is one in a million and definately I should come back there. There food is also good and I think there continental chef is on point,

Helpful?
Thank kev m
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kev M Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Meridian Hotel. Your positive comments are highly appreciated. It is wonderful to know that our guests appreciate the facilities and services provided by our staff. We look forward to hosting you again very soon! Regards Safiyah Kurji Director More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in Nairobi for the WTO meet and the hotel was full. But it took our group ages to check-in. Finally, after lunch, when the process was complete, and I reached my room, I discovered that the room that had been allotted to me was being painted! So it took the hotel another 10 minutes to find me another... More 

Helpful?
Thank thesidhartha
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Meridian Hotel Nairobi. Feedback from our guests is extremely important to us to ensure that we are providing the best possible service for each and every one of our guests. I sincerely apologise for the delay that you experienced with... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

It was in the evening of December 24th when i thought i should just get to an area around Nairobi and have an ambience of a town free of traffic and noise pollution that's when i decided to sample different facilities and ended up in Meridian a home away from home. I can not recommend the rooms enough everything positioned... More 

Helpful?
Thank dancannjoroge
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review of the Meridian Hotel! I am extremely pleased that you consider the Hotel, a Home away from Home. It is great to know that our rooms are designed to your liking, providing the perfect environment for either relaxing or working depending on your preferences. I am very happy... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Stayed 4 days before Safari so used this hotel to see the town. Liquor store and Grocery store within 10 min walk. Museum is a 20 min walk. Bad timing with hotel booking they were renovating from top to bottom and also pool area. Wife mentioned problem to hotel and we were up graded and a bottle of wine was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fireguy199
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Seasons Greetings from the Meridian Hotel Nairobi! Thank you very much for writing a review of your recent stay with us and for mentioning our convenient location within the Central Business District of Nairobi. It was a pleasure to host you both. I would just like to say that I very much appreciate your understanding with regards to... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

About 3 stars for european standards as well. Room was clean and good size. Hot water worked, but u had to wait for a while. Wifi was working sometimes well and sometimes not at all. Food in restaurant was good, but not much kenyan choises. Mostly multicultural cuisine.

Helpful?
Thank iippa23
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Meridian Hotel Nairobi. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I am pleased to note that you were happy with the size and cleanliness of the room, as well as with the quality of food in our restaurant. Your comments about the hot... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights it was clean and we stayed in studio room it had small kitchen the bathroom clean Ac wasn't cold room was boring we didnt use swimming pool it was very old .breakfast was fine the Indian chef was polite man we ate Indian food it was great .the location wasn't bad it... More 

Helpful?
Thank 142haleh
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us in the month of May 2015. Your comments about the cleanliness of the room and bathroom are appreciated. As you correctly mentioned, the studio room does have a kitchenette, and is a popular choice for families with small children as well as our long staying guests. Thank... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

We stayed 4 nights in total, 2 nights prior to our 10 day safari and afterwards 2 nights prior to returning back to the UK. I was disappointed and was not aware that the hotel was having extensive renovations. Therefore the pool was not available and it was dusty sitting up in the terrace reading and looking at the views.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stag300
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I very much appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Meridian Hotel and providing us with your valuable feedback. As you correctly mentioned, we are renovating the poolside area. This is part of our plan for upgrading the Hotel for the benefit of all our guests. Unfortunately you were not able... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

It was good relaxing stay, the only problem is bathrooms doesn't have locks which is kind of awkward if you travel with friends. Edith from travel desk was very professional and greet you with smile. She has made our transportation within the country very comfortable. We had a very good safari trip and managed to the glimpse of Zebra, lions,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amit C
MeridianNairobi, Manager at Meridian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amit C Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a great time on your safari and were able to experience what Kenya has to offer. I will definitely pass on your compliments to Edith from our Hotel Travel Desk. It was a real... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.3 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.3 mi away
La Maison Royale Hotel, Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#17 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay