We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

House of Waine

Travelers' Choice award winner
Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Hotel amenities
House of Waine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013
afrikanerbul1234 Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
79
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
There are newer reviews for House of Waine
See the most recent reviews
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Was a very good experience. People are friendly and very helpful. Food is of a good standard, and the rooms are big and spacious. Wasn't a lot at the house but when there the staff was ready to help with anything.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

We are honoured you chose us for your first trip to Kenya. We appreciate your great feedback and are glad you had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi. Thank you. More 

Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband an I stayed at the House of Waine in Kenya in the charming suburb of Karen. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi, but near Giraffe, Manor, Karen Blixen Museum, bead factory, elephant orphanage and more. The service s definitely 5*; the staff goes out of their way to provide and please. The grounds are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We highly appreciate your great feedback and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi. Thank you. More 

Johannesburg
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay in Nairobi often, and generally I am impressed with the standards of accommodation and the attitudes of hotel staff when I visit Kenya. House Of Waine, however, takes this to a whole new level in every way. I can honestly say that I have never stayed anywhere better! Set in a quiet location in Karen in a beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi. Thank you. More 

Lake Ronkonkoma New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is amazing the staff helpful and very friendly. The food here is really amazing we had dinner here the last night of our trip and was blown away by how good it was (dinner first night was at Carnivore ) Its a small hotel with a nice pool and is very quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing House of Waine and the great feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you on your next stay. Thank you. More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our second stay once in 2010 and again for 2 nights in early March 2013. This is wonderful place to relax after safari. Great food great staff. Very nice rooms and property. Feels like you are back in time. Pool is a great addition.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

We were greatly honoured to host you for a second visit and we are glad you had a wonderful time. Thank you for choosing House of Waine and we highly appreciate your feedback. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the House of Waine for one night on the way back from our honeymoon at the Masai Mara and on the way to Mauritius. We wish we could have stayed longer tho, bcoz the little and charming hotel was amazing!! We got upgraded to to the biggest suite in the house and with a wonderful balcony facing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and the great feedback. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay. More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I decided to go on a volunteer vacation with "me to we", the first night we stayed at 'House of Waine'. It is located in the Karen area of Nairobi, it was very nice, absolutely beautiful decor, large rooms, swimming pool and lovely yard. It is also walking distance to 'Karen Blixen' museum. The staff was absolutely very welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for the feedback, we highly appreciate it. We are glad you had a wonderful experience of our Kenyan experience. Thankyou. More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went on safari for our honeymoon and stayed at the hotel before and after the trips to the bush. The staff was wonderful, place was lovely, and food was great. couldn't have asked for anything more when traveling through.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your honeymoon. We are glad you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your feedback. Thank you. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent 4 nights at House of Waine with 16 colleagues and it was phenomenal. The conferencing facilities are up to par and I would recommend it as a conference destination for groups of 15 or fewer. The rooms are very clean and all have a different theme and are tastefully decorated as is the entire house. The staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this facility for 2 nights it was nice affordable and a peaceful stay this is what we were looking for and sophisticated in all ways , nice food , clean rooms , great pool area over all worth staying but a little far of the city , but we never regretted it as it was what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question