We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Nairobi hotels

House of Waine

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Hotel amenities
House of Waine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
CulturalBridge New York
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    30
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
77
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

House of Waine is located in a lovely residential area in Karen. The service is excellent - very warm and welcoming. You will feel great comfort if you are just traveling in from distant countries. The food is healthy and very well prepared. They wash the vegetables with bottled water to be sure it is safe for guests. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. We are happy you found our team warm and welcoming, enjoyed your meals with us and found our rooms comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back. House of Waine team. More 

Leicestershire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Wonderful welcome by the team and the rooms were very well presented, quiet & comfortable. Distance from Wilson airport is short & seamless journey. Due to the boutique nature of HofW breakfast is not a buffet & is served - this is somewhat limiting and is not as preferable as having a small buffet to choose items from, a selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing House of Waine, it was a pleasure hosting you. We are glad you found our team attentive, had a comfortable stay with us and seamless journey from the airport. We appreciate your kind feedback and have taken note of your suggestions. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Nairobi. House of Waine... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We spent two nights here on our way home to the UK after a trip to Rwanda. The House of Waine is a lovely building with beautiful grounds and a good swimming pool. The service was very good and the food reasonable. Most of the time, though, we hardly saw another soul and felt as if we were the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for two nights after your trip to Rwanda. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services offered by our team. Some of our guests arrive late and depart early while others spend the day touring attractions in the area therefore sometimes even with the hotel full it may appear... More 

Dana Point, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

First, shame on Margot L for her nasty review of House of Waine! She stated that this was the first time she had rated a place with "one star." Well, this is the first time I have ever felt it necessary to reply to a completely unwarranted review!! House of Waine is "Five Star" all the way! Everything she said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure hosting you. We always endeavor to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we highly appreciate your kind and encouraging comments. We all look forward to welcoming you in January. House Of Waine team. More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

This is a very quiet hotel a quite a way outside Nairobi. This is not your big chain hotel. As it says The House of Waine. If you are looking for nightlife and loads of things to do, stay elsewhere. If you are looking for peace and quiet, huge rooms and a cozy atmosphere then this is for you. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. We are happy you had a quiet and peaceful stay with us,found our gardens nice, food good and tasty and our team helpful. We are happy to cater for dietary requirements of our guests when advised where possible. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look... More 

Corona del Mar, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The online reviews and this hotel do not align. This is a strange place and the staff was incredibly rude. There is very little to eat and no nearby restaurants. They offer no variety with the food so if you have allergies, don't eat meat, or simply don't like what they are fixing too bad! The grounds were not that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The opinions of our guests are of utmost importance to us. We aim to provide friendly, warm and professional service to all our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We offer a table d’hote menu with vegetarian options that changes daily and takes into account... More 

Bandon, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed twice in the House of Waine and and were amazed each time. Each room is decorated beautifully and differently. The food in the dining room was wonderful and when we had a very early flight, the staff cheerfully brought breakfast to our room. When we returned from safari around noon, lunch was waiting for us in the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind feedback. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your meals and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. House Of Waine team. More 

Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My husband and I only spent 1 night at the House of Waine, but we wished we could have had more. It was the jumping off hotel for our 3 week safari as it is located close to the domestic airport for early morning flights (to the Mara in our case). The hotel looks like a beautiful, colonial home. Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

It was a pleasure hosting you at House Of Waine on your way to Safari. We are happy to not that you found our staff attentive, enjoyed your brief stay with us and we hope you had a wonderful Safari. Thank you for your kind feedback as we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. House Of Waine... More 

Burton on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed at the House of Waine for 3 nights prior to and 3 nights post safari. From the moment we walked in the door at around 2am to the moment we left we could not fault the rooms, food, service and ambience. We stayed in the Safari room at first and when we returned from our visit to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your way to and from Safari as you celebrated your Ruby wedding anniversary, it was a pleasure. We are glad you had a memorable experience, enjoyed the food, accommodation, ambiance and service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi. House Of Waine team. More 

New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The House of Waine is a lovely place to stay in Nairobi. It could be anywhere. They catered wonderfully to my family's fat-free vegan diet and my problems with Gluten. The African art and staff are the only reminders that you are actually in Africa, everything is so well put together. They did seem to have a problem with their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind feedback. We are happy you found the hotel a lovely place to stay and that your family's dietary requirements were well taken of. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the hot spots in the pool and inconsistent hot and cold water supply, we have since addressed this problem.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay