We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 111 Nairobi hotels

House of Waine

4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Hotel amenities
House of Waine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added House of Waine to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Barbara707_12 Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
38
76
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
78 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights here on our way home to the UK after a trip to Rwanda. The House of Waine is a lovely building with beautiful grounds and a good swimming pool. The service was very good and the food reasonable. Most of the time, though, we hardly saw another soul and felt as if we were the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for two nights after your trip to Rwanda. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and the services offered by our team. Some of our guests arrive late and depart early while others spend the day touring attractions in the area therefore sometimes even with the hotel full it may appear... More 

Mission Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First, shame on Margot L for her nasty review of House of Waine! She stated that this was the first time she had rated a place with "one star." Well, this is the first time I have ever felt it necessary to reply to a completely unwarranted review!! House of Waine is "Five Star" all the way! Everything she said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure hosting you. We always endeavor to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we highly appreciate your kind and encouraging comments. We all look forward to welcoming you in January. House Of Waine team. More 

London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a very quiet hotel a quite a way outside Nairobi. This is not your big chain hotel. As it says The House of Waine. If you are looking for nightlife and loads of things to do, stay elsewhere. If you are looking for peace and quiet, huge rooms and a cozy atmosphere then this is for you. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. We are happy you had a quiet and peaceful stay with us,found our gardens nice, food good and tasty and our team helpful. We are happy to cater for dietary requirements of our guests when advised where possible. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look... More 

Corona del Mar, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The online reviews and this hotel do not align. This is a strange place and the staff was incredibly rude. There is very little to eat and no nearby restaurants. They offer no variety with the food so if you have allergies, don't eat meat, or simply don't like what they are fixing too bad! The grounds were not that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The opinions of our guests are of utmost importance to us. We aim to provide friendly, warm and professional service to all our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We offer a table d’hote menu with vegetarian options that changes daily and takes into account... More 

Bandon, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We stayed twice in the House of Waine and and were amazed each time. Each room is decorated beautifully and differently. The food in the dining room was wonderful and when we had a very early flight, the staff cheerfully brought breakfast to our room. When we returned from safari around noon, lunch was waiting for us in the garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind feedback. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your meals and stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. House Of Waine team. More 

Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

My husband and I only spent 1 night at the House of Waine, but we wished we could have had more. It was the jumping off hotel for our 3 week safari as it is located close to the domestic airport for early morning flights (to the Mara in our case). The hotel looks like a beautiful, colonial home. Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

It was a pleasure hosting you at House Of Waine on your way to Safari. We are happy to not that you found our staff attentive, enjoyed your brief stay with us and we hope you had a wonderful Safari. Thank you for your kind feedback as we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. House Of Waine... More 

Burton on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed at the House of Waine for 3 nights prior to and 3 nights post safari. From the moment we walked in the door at around 2am to the moment we left we could not fault the rooms, food, service and ambience. We stayed in the Safari room at first and when we returned from our visit to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us on your way to and from Safari as you celebrated your Ruby wedding anniversary, it was a pleasure. We are glad you had a memorable experience, enjoyed the food, accommodation, ambiance and service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi. House Of Waine team. More 

New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The House of Waine is a lovely place to stay in Nairobi. It could be anywhere. They catered wonderfully to my family's fat-free vegan diet and my problems with Gluten. The African art and staff are the only reminders that you are actually in Africa, everything is so well put together. They did seem to have a problem with their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your kind feedback. We are happy you found the hotel a lovely place to stay and that your family's dietary requirements were well taken of. We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the hot spots in the pool and inconsistent hot and cold water supply, we have since addressed this problem.... More 

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
90 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Good well, presented hotel in which we had two very comfortable nights prior to a safari. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful and we would happily recommend this hotel just outside the centre of Nairobi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for two nights as you headed to Safari. We are glad your stay with us was comfortable and appreciate your encouraging feedback and recommendation. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Nairobi. House Of Waine team. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

House of Waine was the perfect welcome to Africa and starting point to our honeymoon safari adventure. We arrived late at night and HoW welcomed us warmly with a private rose petal-decorated dinner (at 11pm!). The staff was extremely warm and attentive and our suite was lovely. We woke to birds singing in their lovely garden and had a spectacular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review

It was a pleasure hosting you on your honeymoon and first night in Africa. Thank you for staying with us, we are happy you enjoyed your romantic dinner, service and stay in our honeymoon suite. We appreciate you kind feedback and look forward to welcoming you on your next trip. House of Waine team. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay