We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Nairobi hotels

Nairobi Safari Club

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nairobi Safari Club to your Saves list
Nairobi Safari Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #47 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013
Juandf023 Mexico City, Mexico
  • Overview
  • Reviews (166)
  • Photos (88)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    55
    23
    12
See reviews for
24
53
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Nairobi Safari Club
See the most recent reviews
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Many of the negative reviews I do not agree with. Yes, the hotel is very dated. Everything looks original 60s except the elevators. Suites are huge, clean, and in my case the AC and wireless internet worked just fine. Bed might be too firm for some. They were very accommodating and gave me a VERY early check-in as well as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is not a review for vindictiveness, and, honestly, I'm not one of those "angry people", that needs to get things off their chest. I honestly just want to provide this review so that others don't have high expectations and are disappointed. Luckily for me, I just needed a place to put my head down, so ultimately, it wasn't the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Apologies for your delayed check in. Thank you very much for your feedback. Your observations have been noted. More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is an all-suite hotel which is a plus as it makes it a little easier to entertain in the hotel. However, because of the kinds of furnishings on offer it does feel a little classic (old school) so lacks that premium feel you get when you go to other newer hotels within its price range. The service was however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. More

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed there as a lay over guest, courtesy of Kenya Airways. I like the all suite concept but this hotel needs a make over....a lot has changed in the hospitality industry since the 90s. The higher the floor the better the room in terms of room quality, view and noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of updating our room furnishings. More

Durgapur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Kenya airways flight from Nairobi was cancelled and after 6 hours of painful waiting at the airport lounge Kenya airways people finally decided to take us to this hotel. It is a 5 star hotel with suite rooms only. This was my first stay at any (5 star) hotel outside India and I was amazed to see large two room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. More

Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Boy if ever there was a property screaming out for a makeover this is it. Obviously this hotel was the ultimate in luxury when built, I'm guessing the 60's. Virtually nothing has been done to it since. On the plus side every room is a suite, rare and spacious, and in our case we had a balcony (there 3 nights).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. rest assured that we have acknowledged it and will save it for future reference and training as well. More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
64 hotel reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed during our 2 week safari. WiFi is available only from the lobby area. Our room was 612. Because we are triple occupancy, they brought in a bed and set it up in the sitting area when we checked in after dinner. Don't understand why this wasn't done earlier, they had all day. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the relevant heads of department. More

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel sometime in August and unfortunately did not have a pleasant experience. The hotel is on the colonial side and is very old. Carpets in my room did not have a pleasant smell. Bathroom was tiny and the shower did not work so I had to have a bath which im not comfortable doing in hotels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Apologies for your stay at our hotel. Your observations have been noted and forwarded to the relevant hotel departments. Thank you for your feedback. More

Newbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Service excellent, everybody very polite and helpful, rooms need updating, nothing major though. Food okay but dined out at other places and the food was great. Probably wouldn't go back unless a few changes made

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. More

Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
105 hotel reviews
373 helpful votes 373 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

When a Kenyan Airline flight from Nairobi to London was delayed until the next morning, we were bused to the Nairobi Safari Club for the night. Although off a main street, it’s quite a distance from the airport and abuts an industrial area. The lobby was fine and the staff handled the busload of displaced passengers in a short period... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
liliantowers, Public Relations Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. It has been forwarded to the relevant departments. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nairobi Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street & University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Nairobi Safari Club 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel was established in 1984 as an exclusive Members Only Club. In 2001 it was repositioned to a fully fledged five star hotel opening its doors to the public. This year we celebrate 24 years of continuous excellent service. From the very beginning, our main goal has been to provide the best possible service to our guests, almost to the point of obsession and we are striving to constantly improve the quality of our services in order to have satisfied customers that would come back again and again. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
146

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer