We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 115 Nairobi hotels

Jacaranda Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Jacaranda Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jacaranda Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #46 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
csami Nuremberg, Germany
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    78
    95
    29
    11
See reviews for
21
71
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good and quite place outside the CBD of Nairobi. Friendly and helpful staff. The best is the garden area. The breakfast buffet is good, the restaurant average but there are many restaurant options close by

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us and more so for having chosen Jacaranda Nairobi as your preferred Hotel during your last visit to Nairobi. I am delighted to note your review and your positive compliments on our food, Staff and our gardens. Our promise to our guests has been to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has a good ambience,food and pool. Though one thing that irritates me about it, is the service around the pool area is very poor. Food is always delayed over an hour. Any request normally goes unheard or again delayed. All in all,they really need to improve their service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sinclair S, Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback from your last visit and for choosing Jacaranda as your preferred hotel. We appreciate your positive review about our hotel’s ambience, the food and swimming pool and I have shared this with the entire team who are equally elated. However, I have also taken note of your... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights and can't really complain about too much. Although they overbooked the first night and we had to be moved to another hotel, they were very apologetic and the alternative lodging was very nice. The rooms have everything you really need - satellite tv, room service, bath and shower, safe, etc. There are 2 things that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lol _hargs, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing Jacaranda as your preferred hotel during your last visit to Nairobi. While we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, I want to personally express my sincere apologies regarding the overbooking that resulted in you being accommodated in a different hotel on... More 

Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Stayed for 10 days at this hotel. I did not expect much from a three star african hotel so I was quite satisfied with quality though I also have nothing to compare with. The best part of this hotel is its staff. All personnel were very nice and really helpful. They always responded to all my requests even if some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback about our property and I appreciate you for taking your time to share your experience during your stay with us. I am happy to note your positive feedback about our staff who went an extra mile to ensure that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our room amenities met your... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights. The rooms are decent and so is the service. However, the fittings in the bathroom seem quite old. Had to let the water run for about 10 minutes until there was hot water. At times hot water wasn't even available. Water from the AC would drip every morning. The restaurant and breakfast buffet are quite good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Swati N, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback regarding your last stay with us. I am happy to note your positive compliments about our staff and the room. Am however sorry that the fittings in the bathroom did not meet your expectations and equally sorry about the trouble you went through with the hot water. Please... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I really liked this hotel. The 1970s design is a really attractive features. However, I would say that there were some things I did not like. I did not feel welcome. Overall I think it was overpriced: $165 for one night. 1. It had a very post-colonial feel to it. 2. Upon arrival they wanted me to pay up front.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maus D, Thank you for your informative review on our hotel. I would like to thank you for making us your preferred hotel in Nairobi during your last visit to Kenya but am however sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations and having gone through your feedback, I also want to thank you for taking... More 

Marburg, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way from the Masai Mara to Amboseli. It was a Saturday night and there was loud music coming from the hotel bar/disco all night until way past 4 a.m. making it unable to get any sleep or rest. This must have affected all the rooms from the way the setup is. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, General Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mja1810, Thank you for taking your time to give us this valuable feedback about our property and facilities. Please receive our sincere apologies regarding the high noise levels experienced during your last stay with us while on your safari from Mara to Amboseli. Indeed this is not representative of our service and I would like to bring to your... More 

Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Jacaranda bookending our visit to the Mara. The first night the room was small, dingy carpet. A little humid. Worst of all my friend found a long hair (not ours) in her bed. We were not pleased. The sink drained really, really, slowly. Then to make the toilet flush, we had to figure out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chgofilmfan, Thank you for taking your time to write your review about our property and facilities. First and foremost, may I express our sincere apology about your experience during your first stay with us while on your way to Mara last month. We have taken note of all your comments about the size of the room, the state of... More 

Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Nice cozy place with all the possible comfort. rooms are small but good contains all the facilities, good resturant and Spa. Staff were very friendly and they all speak english and willing to help you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nirmalendu M, Thank you for the good review on our property and facilities. We are happy to note that we met your expectations and that our staff were friendly. I have taken note of your positive comments about our restaurant and Spa and shared the same with the entire team who are equally delighted to note that they did... More 

Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I spent one night in this hotel during my holidays in Kenya. It's a nice hotel, all the staff where friendly. I really apreciate having free wifi where you are far from home, that was a really nice surprise for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jacaranda-Hotel-Rep, Front Office Manager at Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear e_garcia2013, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for choosing Jacaranda as your preferred hotel during your last visit to Nairobi. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were friendly. Equally, it is great to note that you got to enjoy our high speed internet facility and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Jacaranda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Waiyaki Way | PO Box 14287, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacaranda Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jacaranda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacaranda Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay