We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purdy Arms

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purdy Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Purdy Arms
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
There are newer reviews for Purdy Arms
See the most recent reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Purdy arms is my husband and i's hide away when we want serenity. It's in an extremely peaceful area with vast fields. The food is always of very good quality and the managers are always on hand to help you out. I have stayed in Punda, Chui and Mamba. Chui remains my favorite. It has the right feel for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Londoner
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Purdy Arms is a B&B rather than a hotel. It is also one of the most popular meeting spots for residents in the area. Don't go there expecting a globo-hotel style service or rooms. Go there because the rates are very decent for Nairobi, the rooms are large, comfortable and have character and the bar / restaurant is always good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014 via mobile

It's been a horrible time ... Never thought that this kind of nice place can be spoiled by poor service ! U can write a poem of dirty room, spotted bedsheets , hundreds of Mosquitos but you can't beat the poorest service in the hotel and restaurant side , it's unbelievable ! We waited 20 min for the menu ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Really sorry that we did not respond sooner but I have only just remembered our password (poor excuse I know). We had a long internal meeting about your review and are genuinely confused by it. All I can say is that there is always one of the owners, Jules or Rob on site, and if not then the Manager Grace... More 

Nice, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

With beautiful views of the Ngong Hills and acres of mature garden, the Purdy Arms has friendly staff and good service but the rooms have seen better days and some bathrooms are poky. Overpriced and noisy on Friday night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Knebel, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A home away from home, with a very friendly and relaxed atmosphaere. Service in top and located in a tranquil and peaceful setting. Rooms very charming and unique and far from standard (boring) hotel rooms.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Arusha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place but a bit disorganized ... We were in a business trip and our friends suggested we chose a hotel not far from the place the stay... Unfortunately our business meetings been quite far from the are of the hotel and we had to spent a lot for cabs.. But that's was not a problem..the main issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staying at Purdy Arms makes you forget all the traffic jams of Nairobi. The vast and beautiful park that surrounds the guesthouse is just stunning. Rooms are very comfortable, the restaurant and pub are also a great place to relax and meet people. Food is nice and the breakfast delicious. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Niamey, Niger
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was very helpful, food/drinks were good, and the grounds were relaxing. Overall, the stay was great and when you have staff that are attentive and warm it makes you feel at ease. The only downside is that sound can travel pretty easily from the hallway into the room, and we noticed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Purdy Arms is a beautiful little guest house with a cozy restaurant , and a massive garden full of wonderful tropical plants. The restaurant has a great atmosphere , and very good food , and the fresh passion fruit juice is delicious beyond measure ! Rooms are cozy and well sized . Staff are extremely friendly and always ready to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The place is quiet n calm with an easy chill out ambiance. Was there for easy chill out n some jioni tea. It seemed nice place to take your kids too.Very nice service and will be going back there soon.This time for dine with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question