We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purdy Arms

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purdy Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Purdy Arms
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Purdy Arms may have changed visually since my first visit with the addition of a couple of boutique shops in the grounds and the bar area being redecorated but it still has that pub and homely feel to it. With a pizza oven and indian food on the menu, all culinary tastes are catered to. Service is great, drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bahrain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay at the Purdey Arms while on business in the near by Karen area. Now let me just say that this is not a hotel. It is a pub with 5 homely rooms. Now being a pub means anybody thinking of staying here should consider that there will be an active bar culture going on. This is a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I had a great time at Purdy arms.... really pleasant staff! We ordered for meals and got really fresh finger licking food within 10 minutes! I will most definately be back to have many more afternoons and evenings.I will bring my kids next time since there is a beautiful play ground . Keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

On a rainy Wednesday night we arrived at Purdy Arms with no expectation of the service. My family of 6 had made last minute dinner plans without reservations. When we arrived the dinner area was full and the lounge was busy and no place to seat or relax while waiting for tables to open up. The staff worked tirelessly to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

There's nowhere else you can go to feel so at home and surrounded with good vibes and such friendly people. I often go by myself and have never felt like a loner...there's just a brilliant atmosphere and it's so cozy. The food is AMAZING and so well priced...I won't lie - when I'm in Nairobi I'm there pretty much every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The place is very dirty and old. They have 5 rooms and apparently I heard that 2 are nice. I got a really tiny room full of bugs Mosquitos and really dirty. Found insects everywhere, inside the mosquito net and inside the sheets. I booked the room 3 months in advance and I got the worst room. A colleague of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Just so that we get the facts correct, you booked the Purdy Arms Bed & Breakfast during the week of the Kenyan Open held at the nearby Karen Country Club where you were competing. There was exceptional demand for our five rooms during this period and we could have sold them a number of times. As we like... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Purdey arms is a good place to stay, rooms are spacious, clean and very much colloquial period style. The staff are very welcoming during the day and eager to help when needed. However on arrival you are not really shown around or told about all the amenities on site either which was strange! The information in the rooms is good... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

If you appreciate good night sleep and good shower don't use this hotel. Also customers request for single beds was ignored. Food was average. Some can find this place charming as it is in old house but we found it more shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

First of all let me apologise yet again for the mix up on your first night when two single beds were not available. Your very late arrival meant we could not rectify this at the time and we are genuinely sorry for the mistake which we rectified the next day. We have put in place procedures to make sure this... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Purdy Arms is a fantastic, quiet place to stay. The staff are terrific helpful and friendly and the food is very nice. It has an old world charm and all the rooms are named after different animals and are unique. Purdy Arms was ideally located near all the attractions we wanted to visit. Eating out on the terrace was relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your very kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you visit and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for your kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful country. More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Purdy Arms is an amazing venue tucked away in Karen. I was there with some of my clients and I was blown away by the place. The staff was more than friendly going out of their way to ensure we were comfortable. The food was amazing, a little oily as may be expected with an indian menue. I would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to right such a kind review. We have just taken on a new Executive Chef and opened up an Indian Kitchen called "A Touch Of Spice' which we are very proud of. Must admit to having Indian food every night myself. Thanks again, and really look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay