We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purdy Arms

Travelers' Choice award winner
Hotel website
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Purdy Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    26
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Purdy Arms one night before we took a domestic flight to our safari. We arrived around 9PM and the place was hopping with loud music and dancing. We found someone to check us into our room and then went downstairs to eat. The Pizza was delicious and the Beer was Ice cold. We went to our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

The Purdy Arms may have changed visually since my first visit with the addition of a couple of boutique shops in the grounds and the bar area being redecorated but it still has that pub and homely feel to it. With a pizza oven and indian food on the menu, all culinary tastes are catered to. Service is great, drinks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bahrain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I stay at the Purdey Arms while on business in the near by Karen area. Now let me just say that this is not a hotel. It is a pub with 5 homely rooms. Now being a pub means anybody thinking of staying here should consider that there will be an active bar culture going on. This is a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

I had a great time at Purdy arms.... really pleasant staff! We ordered for meals and got really fresh finger licking food within 10 minutes! I will most definately be back to have many more afternoons and evenings.I will bring my kids next time since there is a beautiful play ground . Keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

On a rainy Wednesday night we arrived at Purdy Arms with no expectation of the service. My family of 6 had made last minute dinner plans without reservations. When we arrived the dinner area was full and the lounge was busy and no place to seat or relax while waiting for tables to open up. The staff worked tirelessly to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

There's nowhere else you can go to feel so at home and surrounded with good vibes and such friendly people. I often go by myself and have never felt like a loner...there's just a brilliant atmosphere and it's so cozy. The food is AMAZING and so well priced...I won't lie - when I'm in Nairobi I'm there pretty much every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

The place is very dirty and old. They have 5 rooms and apparently I heard that 2 are nice. I got a really tiny room full of bugs Mosquitos and really dirty. Found insects everywhere, inside the mosquito net and inside the sheets. I booked the room 3 months in advance and I got the worst room. A colleague of... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Just so that we get the facts correct, you booked the Purdy Arms Bed & Breakfast during the week of the Kenyan Open held at the nearby Karen Country Club where you were competing. There was exceptional demand for our five rooms during this period and we could have sold them a number of times. As we like... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Purdey arms is a good place to stay, rooms are spacious, clean and very much colloquial period style. The staff are very welcoming during the day and eager to help when needed. However on arrival you are not really shown around or told about all the amenities on site either which was strange! The information in the rooms is good... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

If you appreciate good night sleep and good shower don't use this hotel. Also customers request for single beds was ignored. Food was average. Some can find this place charming as it is in old house but we found it more shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

First of all let me apologise yet again for the mix up on your first night when two single beds were not available. Your very late arrival meant we could not rectify this at the time and we are genuinely sorry for the mistake which we rectified the next day. We have put in place procedures to make sure this... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Purdy Arms is a fantastic, quiet place to stay. The staff are terrific helpful and friendly and the food is very nice. It has an old world charm and all the rooms are named after different animals and are unique. Purdy Arms was ideally located near all the attractions we wanted to visit. Eating out on the terrace was relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your very kind review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you visit and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for your kind words and we are so glad that you enjoyed our beautiful country. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ndemi Place
The Ndemi Place
#27 of 132 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
8.5 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.2 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay