We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Nairobi hotels

The Boma Nairobi

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Boma Nairobi to your Saves list
The Boma Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
90%
Ranked #3 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014
Ali B
  • Reviews (259)
  • Photos (125)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    75
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
63
19
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for The Boma Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Very nice hotel. Rooms are large and well organized. Service is good and personel very friendly. I tried the buffet at the restaurant and I find the choice a bit limited. I will go back there for my next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Ali, Thank you for the feedback. Our chef feels challenged that you he did not lay out enough varieties for you. We can't wait for your next visit as the chef has promised to spoil with choices. Regards, Aggrey. More

Reston, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Hadn't planned and extra night stay in Nairobi, but a 24 flight delay changed those plans. The Boma ended up being a saving surprise and turned what could have been a horrible situation (who wants a 24 hr delay to get home?) into an impromptu and relaxing get away. Everything about it was wonderful, from the staff, the rooms (loved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi acflemming, Thank you for your review. We thank BA for giving you a chance to discover our hotel – The Boma Nairobi. We hope that next time; we will be on your Nairobi itinerary. Thank you Aggrey More

silicon valley
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The price is high for a basic hotel. It is close to airport 20-30 minute drive with no traffic. It is clean, bit Ihad some trouble with my booking. They mixed up the dates. And wanted to charge me again after I showed them I had prepaid. So I had to give them permission to charge again, but ended up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi travel4fun111, Thank you for your feedback. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was not as great as we would have liked. From our records, you were booked and paid for by African Wildcats Adventures to stay on the night of 2nd February 2014. Although you did not show up, no communication was received to indicate that your... More

Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I have tried many hotels in Nairobi. That's my favourite one businesswise. Position is strategical: not far from the airport, so near to the industrial area. Security looks good. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast choice is wide. There are two restaurants. Honestly i liked the one in the basement the most.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi MatteoZN, Thank you for the review. We are glad that you have found in Boma Nairobi a hotel you could call home. The Tembo team (basement restaurant) appreciates your preference and the alternate restaurant team is equally determined to add to your culinary choices while you are at Boma. Regards, Aggrey More

Colchester, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've stayed in a vast number of hotels all across Africa and I'm very happy to say that this one exceeds anything I've stayed in before (in its class) and I would highly recommend it to business travellers as well as tourists coming to Kenya to explore its beauty. Its near the airport so you would have to travel into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi PeteF621, Thank you for your review. Our team is grateful that you appreciated their service and for recommending us. We will endeavor to maintain the standards and look forward to your feedback when we get the opportunity to host you once more. Regards Aggrey More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was at the Boma Hotel in Nairobi for a few days and the place is exactly what the home page says: a haven from nairobi city and it's traffic madness. The rooms are spacious and sparkling clean. great fitness centre with spa, pool, sauna, gym and aerobics facilities. The food was amazing and the service professional. Definitely getting back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Guyoh C, Thank you for the feedback. We are happy you find in our facilities and services what you would want in a hotel. We look forward to hosting you once more at The Boma. Regards, Aggrey More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed one night here as a result of a plane cancellation. The staff were incredibly helpful, the hotel was lovely, and there are terrific views over the grasslands – which I assume are the Nairobi National Park from the 7th floor. Only downside is that you need the airconditioning on in the rooms to keep them cool – even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Tompel, We are happy to have had the opportunity to host you. Our pastry chef is excited that you enjoyed his creations and we all hope to see you back, possibly in the cooler months June to August where you can enjoy the cool fresh air. Thank you Aggrey More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at the Boma because it was convenient but you certainly pay for that convenience. It's only 5km from Wilson domestic airport, about 13km from JK International Airport and, if like us you're just transitting through Nairobi, means you don't have to drive into Nairobi and it's potential traffic chaos. The rooms as clean and modern, staff friendly. Hot water... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi NomadicJanna, Thank you for sharing your views. Although we are happy you found our rooms clean and modern with friendly staff, we regret that we could not give you value for money. Apart from the hot water glitch, we would appreciate any other feedback that can help us to deliver all round quality at most competitive rates and thus... More

Norfolk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As a result of a 12 hour delay on our flight BA paid for our overnight stay at this smart hotel just off the Mombasa Road. The rooms are spacious with every amenity. Great walk in shower, comfotable bed, efficient staff dealing with a considerable number of guests at short notice. The meal in the main restaurant was a buffet,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi NorfolkSpinone, Thank you for your review. We are also grateful to BA for exposing you to our hotel and hope that going forward; you will consider us favorably on your return visit to Nairobi. Regards, Aggrey More

Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a nice modern feel - probably the most modern in Nairobi. The staff are nice and the amenities (restaurants, pool, gym) are top notch. The views and general area surrounding the hotel could be better. All of the positives above will forever be tainted in my mind because of what happened during my stay. To sum it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Tsanwo, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in December 2013. It is unfortunate that any positives from your stay were overshadowed by the loss of cash from your room. It is true we have a PDA that can be used to access safes in our hotel. The gadget is in the custody of our security manager and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Boma Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Nairobi with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Spa Hotel in Nairobi #1 Business Hotel in Nairobi #2 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi #8 Family Hotel in Nairobi #8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Number of rooms
148

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boma Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer