We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boma Nairobi

Travelers' Choice award winner
Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Boma Nairobi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    97
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
86
26
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent 1 night only before heading on to Maasai Mara. The service was efficient and room was large and nice, with a separate shower and bathtub. Breakfast was very good. Transfers to and from the aiport were short and easy. Overall good experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Bramamore, Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we were true good omens and have set a positive tone for the rest of your safari. See you are the tails end of your tour of Kenya. Regards Aggrey More 

Vladivostok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The wi-fi is a joke: never lasts more than a few minutes without dropping the line. Very frustrating when trying to work. Also, lucky the weather was quite warm, because that made the cold shower less painful. Water only started warming up when I had finished my ablutions. Not good for a hotel that is definitely not cheap. I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello BrozlikM, Thank you for your review. We know how irritating it can be to re-live a bad experience and we regret for putting you through it once again. We are gutted by your feedback as it seems like our system of managing our guests failed. At the beginning of our operations, we had all the challenges you have mentioned;... More 

Kericho, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had an excellent one week stay without an incidence. The place to be out of the city. Being out of the city makes it an ideal place for doing business meetings. Their several restaurants and health clubs gives one wide array for selection and a good day to wind up a busy day

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Ng’etich, Thank you very much for the review. We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that you will retain Boma as your accommodation partner while in Nairobi. Please visit our branch in Eldoret – Boma inn Eldoret located in Elgon view for a dose of the same goodness. Regards Aggrey More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently returned and today found that i have had £10,655-14 of fraud on a credit card all from Kenyan IP addresses and the only place I used that card in Africa was in the BOMA when I stayed there. When I checked out the early morning staff member (the only person on duty) had to process my credit card twice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello M L, Thank you for your detailed review. We are horrified at the lapses you have mentioned. We are living in challenging times and us a hotel; we try to balance the need for security and what has been termed by other guests as harassment. On the credit card, it is true we have had comments about double charges... More 

Burgau, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Five stars quality, service excellent, small complains have been solved immediately, a lot of warm and cold offers for breakfast, service staff very friendly. Swimming pool clean, bar and restaurant also fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Rainer B, Thank you for your review. We are encouraged by your feedback particularly our team’s responsiveness. Nothing is ever small for us and we appreciate the opportunity to address the shortcomings. Regards Aggrey More 

Dungog, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 1 night stop over between tanzania and Victoria falls. Everything was perfect, attentive staff, came to our room after 15 minutes to make sure everything was ok. Even re cleaned one of the kids rooms bath tub which. They had just used. Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, friendly staff, nice food. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Michael D, Thank you for your review. Your feedback has lifted the spirit of our team as we have been bashed in the recent past. This will definitely encourage them to do more for the comfort of our guests. Regards Aggrey More 

All over
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 5 hours due to a late night flight arrival and early departure for Eldoret. We had an alarm go off overnight, but management was responsive, which is a critical thing to know when choosing a hotel. Sometimes things happen, but it's good to see a hotel that wants to ensure the comfort of their guests as first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi FineF00die, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and your understanding after the anxiety caused by the false alarm. We look forward to your return visits. Regards, Aggrey More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beautiful hotel located in south C , very convenient from the airport avoiding the mega traffic jam crossing the main highway. Nice ambiance , good food and nice gym. Friendly staff and good for business trips.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Maxx703, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope we will continue hosting you at Boma Nairobi. Regards Aggrey More 

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rate is certainly not worth 480USD/night, but instead slightly more than half. We however had a special rate - 240USD - as we were in stanby (from noon to 9PM), which nevertheless remains high. Design rooms but lots of small things that do not match a 5 star (TV screen much too small for the distance to the bed, bling... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hello Denis, Thank you for your review. We are equally disappointed for our string of failures right from the first time you contacted the hotel. We do have rooms going for $480 and more but certainly not for a dayroom. We feel chastised and the team is hoping for an opportunity to put things right including giving you value for... More 

Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very nice an elegant place, with new rooms and good buffet, a bit expensive but it´s normal in Nairobi all the hotels are quite expensive. it´s in an area where in the morning traffic is a bit bad....

Was this review helpful? Yes
AggreyB, Manager at The Boma Nairobi, responded to this review

Hi Migair, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and hope that on your return we will engage each other and tailor packages to suit your budget. Regards, Aggrey More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question