We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Nairobi hotels

LAICO Regency Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Regency Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
43%
Ranked #48 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013
Lyn H Kampala, Uganda
  • Overview
  • Reviews (125)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (75)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
10
13
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for LAICO Regency Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi at 12:30am and then at the Laico Hotel one hour later. I and my wife were very tired and just wanted a room that had the basic necessaries that worked. From the outside the hotel is very impressive and inside there was a large beautiful atrium the looked up to the roof. The utilities were absolutely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khataw, Thank for your feedback on your stay with us. We value all guest feedback on our product and services as it is the only way we are able to improve. Noted are the areas that we fell short of your expectations and we are already working on improving the same. We have given upgrade of the facility top... More

Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Check-in was slow, the staff behind the desk seemed a bit at a loss - and the same upon checking out as well. The room was ok, but the edges were starting to fray a little, and the internet connection was awful. The restaurant staff were slow and the food was ok, but not great. The hotel is in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lyn H, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We value all guest feedback as a measure for us to improve our product and services. We have noted the areas in which we did not meet your expectations and apologize for the same. You will be glad to know that necessary measures have been taken... More

UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The experience is satisfactory. The rooms are spacious but lack a separate shower(mine had a bathing tub only). However the staff are cooperative and helpful. The location is excellent besides a park and right in the central business district of Nairobi. Unlike Crowne Plaza or others located remotely in less central places, this location offers a good choice of restaurents... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Best UK, Thank you for staying with us and sharing the feedback on your experience. We are delighted that our staffs were excellent, including the location where we are situated right at the Heart of the Central Business district. You will be glad to note that we have embarked on upgrading all our rooms, which will encompass bathtubs, walk... More

Karlstad, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel has great location close to the highway and the city centre, absolutely superb staff (including the very welcoming hotel manager), great big rooms (and it's going to be renovated so it will be even nicer), good restaurants (try the ricotta-chicken ravioli at Roberto's- it's DELICIOUS, but avoid the boring "bina colada" at the jazz bar) and a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara S, Thank you for taking time to share your reviews about your recent stay with us. I am thrilled that our hotel location worked in your favor and as well the breathtaking view from our heated swimming pool. I am glad my team and I took good care of you and have also noted the positive reviews on... More

Naivasha, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I been there as a guest for quite number of times. The rooms are spacious n clean, Breakfast, lunch, dinner all are mouth watering n the shisha awesome. The location is uptown near the park n got a beautiful view. The heated swimming pool is wow plus the buffet in the atrium. There's also Karaoke nt on Fridays which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FighaenRosita, Thank you for sharing your reviews on the numerous visits to the hotel; it is always our pleasure to have clients return to enjoy our excellent services, and staff friendliness and professionalism. Our location, combined with clean and spacious rooms next to the central park definitely provide a beautiful view, also visible from the heated swimming pool. I... More

Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

On Oct. 24 we were checking in with my daughter to spend the last night in the hotel as we had been there a few days before and went on a safari and returned. Upon checking in we realized we had forgotten our passports, money and credit cards in the Masai Mara, distant five hours of travel. Our flight left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guillerm0chile, Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews about your stay at Laico Regency Nairobi, I am glad to hear that you did get back home safely, following commendable service provided by my front desk team. I am happy to receive comments of such positive nature. Your feedback has been shared with Josiah Mwendwa and the... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I guess it serves me right for being lazy and booking the conference hotel without checking reviews first. Let me start by saying that the Laico offers some of worst food I've ever experienced during my 25 years of international business travel. Breakfast, lunch, dinner ... all consistently horrible. As for the property, it is thoroughly worn-out. The hotel wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PacificJet, Thank you for letting us know your experience at the hotel, I am sincerely sorry that we fell short of your expectations. I have noted that most of this was due to our physical structure and I am contented to share with you that we are in the process of finalizing plans for a master renovation of the... More

DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is in a central location and there is good security. Check-in was slow but at least the receptionist was very friendly. In fact everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful, it was almost as if they do not see many guests and were genuinely happy when they stumbled across one. My room was clean and comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our flight arrived at 3:45am. We had an advanced reservation at this hotel. When we arrived at the hotel all we wanted to do was go to bed. Alas, checkin took over 30 minutes. Then we got to our rooms and they were not ready. It took another 45 minutes for them to bring the extra beds we reserved. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here while on an international conference in KICC .. I have never felt the need to write a review before but seeing the mixed reviews I thought it was time to share my very positive experience Having been an avid trip advisor user for the past years I was a bit concerned because of the mixed reviews and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#47 of 96 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#40 of 96 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#29 of 96 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
PrideInn Hotel Lantana Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi #23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
196

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer