We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Nairobi

Hotel website
Hotel deals
City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Nairobi
Add Photo Write a Review

662 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    148
    270
    153
    58
    33
See reviews for
87
101
50
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (662)
  • Mar-May only
    (146)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a nine day stay at the hotel. The hotel has a taxi counter at the airport so we went straight there, and got a taxi to the hotel. The price for the taxi was in line with what other taxis charge and its safe. As we are Ambassador members we should have got an upgrade automatically but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear ranjana ranjana, Thank you for your loyalty to the InterContinental Hotels Group by being our esteemed InterContinental Ambassador. I am very pleased to read your wonderful comments about our clean and comfortable rooms, our genuinely interested staff, the hotel’s central location and the great atmosphere in the lobby. I apologise that you did not get the Room upgrade that... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had a pleasant stay at the Intercontinental Nairobi. The location is strategic with shops and restuarants at a stone throw distance.The rooms are neat and clean and comfortable.We were 3 people in one room,hence asked for an extra bed which was provided with no extra cost.However ordering food from the restuarants takes time to get delivered. The staffs are polite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear expeditioustraveller, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Intercontinental Nairobi. I am glad that our location suited all your needs for shopping and eating out, and that you found the rooms neat, clean and comfortable and our team polite and pleasant. I apologize that your food order took time to be... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is perfect business accommodation in Nairobi - the rooms are spacious and very nice, the service is excellent, the restaurant food is great, and the hotel location is central. Stayed four nights, and was thoroughly impressed. The staff were friendly and always did what they could to help. Only problem is that the wifi internet it not free, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear GeoHL, Thank you for the feedback regarding your 4 night stay with us... It is indeed a pleasure to note that you had a delightful stay with us. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature as it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

As an Ambassador member I should be upgraded automatically The staff didn't offer it so I had to ask for it It took some time to find a available suite I didn't get a fruit basket, bottle of wine and a small gift- again had to ask for it The room are nice and clean but some emenities are missing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Shlbre, Allow me to first thank you for having chosen to be an Intercontinental Ambassador, a program that demonstrates your loyalty to the Intercontinental Hotels Group. It is with this in mind that I sincerely apologize for the lapse in ensuring that you fully enjoy the benefits as entitled to you. We are happy to note that you always... More 

miami
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights during our trip to Kenya and it was included in our tour. A bit dated but rooms were clean and had all amenities needed. Staff was professional, accommodating and friendly. Location was safe and in conveniently located.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Geli123, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback of such a positive nature, comments that reinforce the staff’s efforts to make Intercontinental Nairobi a leader in excellence. Your sentiments on the breakfast, the room, the staff and the location are received with gratitude. Once again we... More 

North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at Intercontinental hotel in Nairobi during our Wildlife safari trip to Kenya and Tanzania. The hotel location is excellent and well within walking distance to shopping including a bazzar where you can purchase African crafts at good price. The hotel room on our initial stay (2 nights) was great and had an excellent view of the city. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Bhujwalla, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your Safari Trip to Kenya. We hope that your overall experience was worthwhile and are particularly delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback and specific mention of the breakfast buffet selection is highly appreciated. With the anticipation of the need for the round... More 

Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at the Intercontinental for 2 nights starting 3rd August. The check in was efficient and fast . I was given a room on the 6th Floor which was of a decent size though otherwise average. Even though I am a platinum card holder, was not given an upgrade. The hotel certainly needs to be refurbished - rooms are dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarlHala, Regional General Manager Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Pravine, Thank you for sharing your feedback with regard to your stay with us. We acknowledge your patronage as a Platinum Member and wish to confirm that the room upgrade is indeed a loyalty benefit, extended at for the Intercontinental Ambassador level. In our goal to consistently provide superior service to all our guests, we have noted the highlighted... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Steyr, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The hotel is not the newest one in the city but it is clean and well located. A could however use a renovation. Everything was according to the InterCont standard you can expect in this part of the world; there was no reason for complaints. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet offered all well presented and of good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Arches_51 It is such a pleasure to know that we are able to deliver great service which is the true mark of InterContinental Hotels. Thank you for choosing InterContinental Nairobi and we hope to have many more opportunities to serve you again. Best regards, Karl Hala Regional General Manager, Africa More 

Nyeri, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The location is excellent walking distance to the central business district, next to Uhuru park and the parliament and a nice view on both of them from my room. Free parking in the hotel garage for hotel residents is definitely a plus in this part of Nairobi. The hotel is good but needs some renovation. Rooms are still good but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Eugene N Thank you so much for your recent stay at InterContinental Nairobi. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Nairobi. It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about the proximity, nice view, free parking and free use of... More 

UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel has very mixed reviews on the site for a reason....The experience is very mixed. As noted by others, the staff are delightful but not always terribly efficient. However, the rooms are tired, some of the cheaper ones in particular ....very musty, smelling of old socks. Nice bathroom amenities. Beds comfortable enough, though some of the sheets old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarlHala, Regional General Manager, Africa at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear culturallattice, Thank you for your recent visit with us as well as your comment and feedback. We have gone through each line of your feedback and we will ensure of service improvement according to the comments made. Once again, thank you very much for your kind observations and feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

427 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (205)
Viewed
Room/suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (23)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (222)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (63)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
#24 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay