We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Nairobi

Hotel website
Hotel deals
City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Nairobi
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    247
    145
    57
    32
See reviews for
82
95
50
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (616)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I spent 5 nights at this hotel and I was very happy with most aspects of my stay. The check-in as efficient and painless, The staff were very friendly and helpful - including the security staff who were always polite and professional. My room was rather dated, but spacious, clean and neat. The internet / wi-fi fees were rather expensive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the hotel. We are happy to hear that your check in experience was seamless. With regard to your interaction with our staff, we are pleased to hear that you found them to be helpful and friendly. We will pass on your compliments to the team. In regard to... More 

Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Intercontinental for two days prior to meeting a group for a safari. This hotel doesn't meet the standards of other Intercontinental hotels at which I have stayed, but all in all, the hotel was very nice. Our room was large and comfortable with a large window that allowed a vast amount of light to liven up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, and enjoyed the dining experience. We will pass on your compliments to our restaurant teams and chefs. We appreciate your feedback regarding your concierge experience and have fully retrained the team in light... More 

india
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have stayed for moe than a week at this hotel, while on business, and it has been a good experience Location wise it is excellent in downtown. Service-wise it is prompt and efficient. There were certain issues which when brought to management's notice were dealt quickly and effectively. All in all a good experience, as is expected from this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Most InterContinental Hotels are pretty opulent and gorgeous. Unfortunately, much like the Hilton just down the road from it, the Nairobi InterContinental is looking a little dated, especially its standard rooms. The room I was in had a musty smell and the TVs were old! I was able to buy into the Ambassador club, though, and could use that to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review with regards to your experience during your stay with us. We take this time to also recognize you as our Ambassador Guest and thank you for the loyalty. We value your feedback and are also always glad to hear of the areas in which we have... More 

singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was forced to stay a night in Nairobi while my Visa for DRC was being validated and against better judgement and worse reviews I chose to stay at the Intercontinental. The chain runs some very fine hotels and their Dubai and Beirut properties are among my favorite, but the Nairobi entity is a shame to the name. At the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have received your feedback with great concern in relation to your stay with us. Kindly accept our sincere apology for the experience. We have looked into your rate concerns regarding different rates being offered. It appears that the shortfall arose due to a communication breakdown between the... More 

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Room was on the 3rd floor. Rather dated but clean and comforatable. (Higher floors have been renovated). Very good service from everyone at the hotel. Good buffet breakfast. (My rate included wi-fi. Unfortunately the service was very patchy and often did not work. I would not have been pleased if I had paid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at the InterContinental Nairobi. We are glad to hear that you were happy with our hotel service. With regards to your concerns regarding wi fi, please note that the entire country had problems with internet connection on the 19th March due to a cut in... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times of the year while on business in Kenya and have always found it excellent. The club floor is especially good as is the service. It quite and very comfortable rooms are very welcome to the tired traveller.

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at the InterContinental Nairobi. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our club rooms and the facilities of the Club InterContinental lounge. We hope to see you back again soon and thank you in advance for your praise and recommendation. More 

Albany, NY
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We were at the intercontinental as a first stop between arriving at the airport and starting our safari. Check in was efficient and quick. We were escorted to ur room by a porter who gave us a run down on room. I was surprised that we were advised by the staff not to use the water to brush our teeth.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InterContinental_10, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at the InterContinental Nairobi. We thank you for commendations on our Check-in procedures and the quality of our food served in the restaurant. We will be sure to pass these on to our teams in appreciation. We have followed up on the areas of concern... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
113 hotel reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

My latest sojourn into Nairobi started well at the airport, first off the plane, first through immigration, almost first to get my priority baggage and then whizzing through customs and on to the airport desk of the InterContinental Nairobi. And lo and behold, my check in form was ready to sign, 'just s signature here Sir and thank you, here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed here for the first time this month and whilst having lived in Nairobi and known the hotel for many years this was the first time I stayed as a guest. The key is to ensure you request a new room since the hotel has been renovated but only about half of it. The new rooms are of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (23)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question