We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

InterContinental Nairobi

Hotel website
Hotel deals
City Hall Way | PO Box 30353, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Nairobi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
InterContinental Nairobi
Rate this Hotel

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    245
    144
    57
    32
See reviews for
79
94
50
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (609)
  • Mar-May only
    (125)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

In center of Nairobi close to everything. Top class restaurant. Best of service. Good security. Very polite staff that make you feel welcome. Loved their pool area and limited garden. Great drinks by the pool area. Buffet lunch worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear James C, I am delighted to receive your comprehensive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your wonderful feedback is very much appreciated. It gives me joy to learn that you had an excellent time. At InterContinental Nairobi, we strive to make it memorable to all our guests each time every day. I am pleased to know that we... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Arrived at this hotel on 27 January. Receptionist ask for $91 USD to upgrade. I refuse. I am sent to a dirty old room. Curtains are rags and dirty. I've never seen anything like this in my entire life. This last night was definitely my last night here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear SenghorL, Thank you for giving us feedback on your recent stay. I express regret for the less than satisfactory experience you had during your stay with us. I have shared your comments with our entire team and will do what we can to set right the concerns you have put forth. It is our ultimate goal to offer superior... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Great Location for business trip, very friendly and helpful staff both at the IHG desk but from Andrew and his team along with Godfrey, Mercy and the morning breakfast. team.The best place to be in the evening to enjoy dinner is the pool side area watching the African Football on a larger then life screen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear SABY M, Thank you for giving us fantastic feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to note that our colleagues were welcoming and supportive. I will share your lovely comments with the entire team and I am certain that they will be overjoyed to know that their outstanding service met your satisfaction. I am grateful... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This hotel is slowly beginning to show its age, but thats where the negatives end. The staff are the most helpful and accommodating that I have ever come across. Upon arrival we were given cold drinks and a towel to wipe off the dust, which more than makes up for the extensive security you need to pass through to enter.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Kane T, Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am pleased to know that your stay was perfect. I am particularly happy with your wonderful commentary on our colleagues’ outstanding service. Our F&B team will be glad to receive your compliments on food and strive to make it more delightful for you. Did you find time... More 

Albany, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for about 4 months whle I lived and worked in Nairobi. Yes, it is old with very heavy drapes and dark woods in most of the rooms, but the place is immaculate and very well maintained. The dark drapes are wonderful for keeping out the noise from the busy street below. I stayed in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Ruellene, Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy that you chose our hotel to be your Home away from Home. I am motivated to know that our entire team’s exceptional service and made your stay memorable. Thank you for giving us this opportunity to serve you. I am aware of the era of our facility. We are... More 

Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

This hotel, located right next to Kenya parliament, is a bit old but very well managed member of the IHG chain of hotels. Intercontinental stood up to its expectation showcasing graceful interiors, polite and prompt staff, and large array of rooms. All of its rooms are very spacious, furnished classically but with all modern amenities, ensuring a comfortable stay. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sonik18, I am so pleased to receive your most comprehensive feedback on your recent stay. Thank you for your kind remarks on our outstanding service, exceptional colleagues and great facilitites. At InterContinental Nairobi, we strive to meet and exceed guest’s expectation. I am happy to learn that this stay was superb. Thank you for commending our security. It gives... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I had a business meeting here and after the very thorough security screening we were welcomed into the warm lounge /foyer at the entry .Once inside its hard to believe the hotel is smack in the middle of the mad evening Nairobi traffic and you get transported into another serene world .There are a couple of restaurants at the entrance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Nymbura N, Thank you for taking time to give us comprehensive feedback on your visit to our hotel. I am delighted that you chose to hold your meeting at our hotel. I appreciate your positive feedback on the level of security. It is our supreme goal to ensure that our guests relax in a secure environment while in the... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I had a relaxing and fulfilling evening out with my friends at the hotel. Initially: a thorough security system that is justified, secure parking and great welcoming. Serene and clean environment around the pool: dinner under the stars, soft music and efficient service. The setup was so relaxing that we extended our evening to stay longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Aydrus, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your evening in a relaxed secure hotel environment. At InterContinental Nairobi, our goal is to consistently meet and exceed guest’s expectation. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you and your guests. We will be glad to welcome you back. Kind regards,... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

Very good security, both outside the hotel and within. Very very good friendly and knowledgeable staff. We had late dinner outside at the BBQ, good steaks at a reasonable price. Very good bedroom with a very present bed and pillows. Very nicely decorated . The bathroom is a bit dated with an average shower over the bath. Very good breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear 68Dale68, I am so pleased to receive your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our delightful BBQ. I appreciate your complements on our colleagues’ outstanding service and lovely breakfast. It is great to know that the comfort of our room met your expectation. We are working on a plan to upgrade... More 

Kidlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This is definitely very safe spot. City centre, close to all gov't buildings, embassies etc. Rooms are nice though a bit old, service is just excellent. Traffic is an incredible issue, be prepared to spend 1hr to get to hotel from airport. I would highly recommend indian restaurant - incredible authentic taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dieter_Franke, General Manager at InterContinental Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Majuszek, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am pleased to know that the location of our hotel was ideal to you. I am grateful for your compliments on our outstanding service. It is great to note that you found time to dine at our Bhandini (Indian) Restaurant. Did you know that Makuti Bar offers delightful... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (66)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (23)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question