We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
The Emakoko
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
29
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a long voyage from Canada, first time landing on the African continent, not knowing what to expect in general....driving in the pitch dark....the lovely Emakoko lodge and villas were much welcomed. The greeting party of Anton and company (hippo included!) made a nice end to the wild ride through the national park's incredibly bumpy roads known as the African... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not far from the airport, yet another world entirely. Tons of wildlife, fabulous luxury villas. A long hot bath (with views!) was super after our long trip. Free wifi in the lodge. Anton and Emma and the staff are excellent and great fun. Food was delicious and we highly recommend Emakoko if you are flying in or out of Nairobi.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped over at the Emakoko Lodge to acclimatize after our flight from Houston, Texas, for a couple of days before we began our safari on the Mara Plain in southern Kenya. Emakoko is located south of Nairobi into the side of a valley on the Mbagathi River, which borders the Nairobi National Park. It is very convenient to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived from a 6 day tented safari, to spend the last few nights of our Kenyan stay near to Nairobi airport, and with the ability to have game drives within Nairobi National park as well. The Emakoko is a luxurious lodge/hotel with large rooms and balconies with wildlife within touching distance. We even had a hippo visit on our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Within half an hour of landing in Nairobi we were inside the National Park, quiet, tranquil, so hard to imagine we were just outside a City. We saw a zebra within minutes, followed by beautiful eagles. It was just the most wonderful introduction to our African holiday, especially for our 10y.o daughter. We saw many animals on our reasonably short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bethesda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Emakoko is within an hour from busy Nairobi airport and a very congested area within Nairobi National Park. Within minutes of entering the park, I saw giraffes, zebras, impalas and rhinos! The lodge itself is quite luxurious - I had a very spacious room with shower, bathtub and toilet with all of the amenities. The food is wonderful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nairobi National Park is possibly one of the most under rated natural areas in Africa - and we are constantly surprised by how much we see on a daily basis. We are so pleased that you managed to enjoy the park and the lodge. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

When we arrived in Kenya & were driven to Emakoko, it was the start of a tremendous vacation experience. Little did we know then that our 3 night stay @ Emakoko @ the end of our trip would provide a stunning finale. Arriving @ Emakoko via the National Park is a real treat. The many animals that are in residence... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so much and happy anniversary. I am so sorry we never met and will pass on your review to 'Mama Rachel'. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

After 10 days in the bush staying at great camps that afforded great but limiting bucket showers it was great to arrive at such a beautiful spot with unlimited hot water! Tucked in the corner of Nairobi national park, 25 minutes from a bustling population of 4 million you would think you were in the remotest part of Kenya. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and enormous apologies for our uninvited guests in the middle of dinner (buffalo bar brawl)! We thoroughly enjoyed having you here to stay, and hope we meet again. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Imagine being inside a game park within an hour, having the park to yourself in the early morning and evening. Imagine an ice cold coktail, good food, amazing rooms....all within that hour from central Nairobi. The Emakoko has done it, created a safe haven away from the nightmare traffic, clogged roads and bustle of city life. We stayed one night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we really enjoyed having you here and wished you had stayed longer. Karibu Tena! Emma & Anthony More

Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

The setting of this lodge is lovely, on the border of the Nairobi National Park in a ravine studded with acacia trees and wildlife free to roam the grounds. However, after 20 hours of travel time, a hot shower was in order and unfortunately, all we had was cold water. Our room, while spacious, had a resident spider, a grasshopper,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and letting us know of the problems you encountered - hot water is an absolute basic and enormous apologies that you did not have any. We investigated the matter and could not see where the problem was, other than the taps were not labelled at all. A guest staying in that same room highlighted this... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay