We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Emakoko to your Saves list
P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Emakoko
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
26
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Bethesda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Emakoko is within an hour from busy Nairobi airport and a very congested area within Nairobi National Park. Within minutes of entering the park, I saw giraffes, zebras, impalas and rhinos! The lodge itself is quite luxurious - I had a very spacious room with shower, bathtub and toilet with all of the amenities. The food is wonderful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Nairobi National Park is possibly one of the most under rated natural areas in Africa - and we are constantly surprised by how much we see on a daily basis. We are so pleased that you managed to enjoy the park and the lodge. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived in Kenya & were driven to Emakoko, it was the start of a tremendous vacation experience. Little did we know then that our 3 night stay @ Emakoko @ the end of our trip would provide a stunning finale. Arriving @ Emakoko via the National Park is a real treat. The many animals that are in residence... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review

What a lovely review - thank you so much and happy anniversary. I am so sorry we never met and will pass on your review to 'Mama Rachel'. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 10 days in the bush staying at great camps that afforded great but limiting bucket showers it was great to arrive at such a beautiful spot with unlimited hot water! Tucked in the corner of Nairobi national park, 25 minutes from a bustling population of 4 million you would think you were in the remotest part of Kenya. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and enormous apologies for our uninvited guests in the middle of dinner (buffalo bar brawl)! We thoroughly enjoyed having you here to stay, and hope we meet again. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Imagine being inside a game park within an hour, having the park to yourself in the early morning and evening. Imagine an ice cold coktail, good food, amazing rooms....all within that hour from central Nairobi. The Emakoko has done it, created a safe haven away from the nightmare traffic, clogged roads and bustle of city life. We stayed one night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we really enjoyed having you here and wished you had stayed longer. Karibu Tena! Emma & Anthony More

Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The setting of this lodge is lovely, on the border of the Nairobi National Park in a ravine studded with acacia trees and wildlife free to roam the grounds. However, after 20 hours of travel time, a hot shower was in order and unfortunately, all we had was cold water. Our room, while spacious, had a resident spider, a grasshopper,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and letting us know of the problems you encountered - hot water is an absolute basic and enormous apologies that you did not have any. We investigated the matter and could not see where the problem was, other than the taps were not labelled at all. A guest staying in that same room highlighted this... More

nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is our absolute favorite lodge in Nairobi - it doesn't get any better than landing at the international airport and being in the bush within an hour! No better way to start or end your safari. Emma and Anton have truly created the perfect piece of paradise here, with amazing food, great company, wonderful staff, all in a beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we loved meeting all your family and friends and hosting your special day. It was THE wedding of the year! Emma & Anthony More

Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Staying at this hotel and taking part in the game drives was an amazing experience. The hotel is luxurious and the service impeccable. Rachel the relief manager was so helpful and friendly making us feel totally at home. The food was an excellent standard. The best part was the game drive, we had James as our driver, he was knowledgable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you managed to see so much in such a short period of time. Both Anthony and I are so passionate about Nairobi National Park, and it is great to hear that you had such interesting game drives. We look forward to meeting you if you come again. All the... More

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

What a gem deep in the valley on the boundary of Nairobi national park,we traveled to this marvelous establishment after reading the wonderful reviews and consulting a couple of friends with first hand knowledge concerning African/Kenyan safari.We settled for it given the location after so many advisories against travel to Kenya by our government and probably others. The location I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that we were not there to meet you and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am terribly sorry about Elizaban and the phone, it is indeed something that we do not allow and thank you for highlighting this to us. It... More

Oberageri, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We just spend a few hours at Emakoko before our flight back to Europe. What an amazing place, warm welcome, outstanding service, amazing food and wine, very nice rooms. There is no better place to stay near Nairobi!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony C, Owner at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your post, and I am sorry that you did not stay very long with us. We look forward to having you again one day. Many thanks, Emma & Anthony More

philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

As a regular visitor to Kenya, I am always looking for the perfect place to land for a couple of days before or after venturing out into the bush. There are many nice places to stay, but after finding The Emakoko I will look no further. Their hospitality is extraordinary, the rooms are large and elegant and perfectly equipped, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony C, Manager at The Emakoko, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am glad you consider us a 'home away from home'. Karibu Tena! Emma & Anthony More

Do you own or manage The Emakoko?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Emakoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emakoko

Address: P.O.Box 738 | Uhuru Gardens, Nairobi GP 00517, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Emakoko

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby