We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nairobi Transit Hotel

Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Nairobi Transit Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

33%
Positive reviews?
KEY AMENITIES
Room Service
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
See all

HOTEL PHOTOS

Nairobi Transit Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Your overall rating of this property
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      6
      4
      15
      2
      3
    See reviews for
    3
    14
    3
    3
    Rating summary
    • Location
      3 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      3.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Russian first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (30)
    • Mar-May only
      (3)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (10)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (12)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (5)
    All months
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    33 reviews
    17 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

    I stayed at this hotel during a back packing trip in Eastern Africa. The hotel was very poor compared to what else is on offer. I also had trouble with the staff and my belongings. I would NOT reccomend this hotel. The hotel is also in a very rough area of town and opposite a busy main road

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

    We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We maintain high standards at Nairobi Transit Hotel and we are one of the best Hotels in the immediate area. The Nairobi Transit Hotel has security officers on site to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. CCTV is also in use throughout the... More 

    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

    Rooms are disgusting, bed linen is not even washed. Pillow full of make up stains and brown stains, bed sheets had blood and dirty all over. Complained but all the rooms were the same. Hotel isn't close to airport, rather take the money for the taxi ride and put it towards a better hotel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

    We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We take standards of cleanliness seriously and all rooms (including linen) are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. It is a shame that you did not find our rooms suitable to your standards, despite our best efforts to cater to your needs. As for the proximity... More 

    Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

    4.5 of 5 stars
    Show Prices
    4 of 5 stars
    Show Prices
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Show Prices
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Show Prices
    toronto
    Level Contributor
    59 reviews
    10 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

    Stayed for 2 nights with a group of 4 young people in July 2013. Hotels are surprisingly expensive in Nairobi, especially in the peak winter months as traveler's make this the hub of doing safaris. It was difficult for us to find an affordable hotel which was safe. 1 night stay for a 2 person room was about 80 dollars.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review. The rooms at Nairobi Transit Hotel are of a good standard and comparable with any 3 star Hotel in Europe. Our aim is to be the hotel of choice in Nairobi for travellers that are looking for a clean, safe, modern and affordable hotel. Since your stay in September 2013, we have introduced a full... More 

    Trieste, Italy
    Level Contributor
    14 reviews
    11 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

    At walking distance from downtown Nairobi. Brand new hotel with spacious rooms and all the amenities. Those on the road side are quite noisy. Excellent view of Nairobi skyline from the terrace. Friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Level Contributor
    34 reviews
    10 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

    I dove in here for one night sleep when transiting with an ongoing flight early the next morning. It is about 30 minutes from the airport in the evening coming into town from the airport and the morning leave town towards the airport (reverse the rush hour traffic). I was so exhausted that I did not hear any noise reported... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Nairobi, Kenya
    Level Contributor
    3 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

    I stayed here overnight. The hotel is good..though the entry while driving is badly located. My worst point was told that i could not order dinner at 9.30 PM since the kitchen had closed. Yet, i had checked in at 9PM and nobody bothered to tell me when the kitechen closes. Their breakfast was also terrible...no need even to give... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 4
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    2 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

    Stayed here for a couple of days with my husband. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are super helpful - would visit again. Lovely veggie breakfast in the morning! Good price, handy for airport stopovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    Ireland
    Level Contributor
    20 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

    The hotel is a bit tired, the beds were very hard and it is quite noisy outside in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but nothing of great quality. The hotel seems clean but could do with a revamp. Staff are friendly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    London, England, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    9 reviews
    6 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

    Good enough for short stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are security guards all day and night outside, and the property is well looked after. The hotel in general is nothing special, but hotels in Nairobi are generally over-priced, so this one is okay in comparison. The breakfast is fairly poor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    canada
    Level Contributor
    66 reviews
    28 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

    Spent one night here just before a flight. Good if you just want a reasonably clean place with a bed, private washroom, and is quiet. Yes there's TV but limited channels. Like I said, basic, but it does the job of giving you a night's rest. Service is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is again basic, some might say limited, but... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    10 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (2)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (2)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (8)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (4)
    Viewed
    Business center/function rooms (1)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (2)
    Check In Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
    0.6 mi away
    Meridian Hotel
    Meridian Hotel
    #17 of 129 in Nairobi
    4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
    10.3 mi away
    67 Airport Hotel
    67 Airport Hotel
    #22 of 129 in Nairobi
    4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
    0.7 mi away
    Kenya Comfort Hotel
    Kenya Comfort Hotel
    #69 of 129 in Nairobi
    3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    1.6 mi away
    Progressive Park Hotel
    Progressive Park Hotel
    #19 of 129 in Nairobi
    4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
    1.0 mi away
    Hotel Central Park Nairobi
    Hotel Central Park Nairobi
    #52 of 129 in Nairobi
    3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
    4.6 mi away
    The Panari Hotel
    The Panari Hotel
    #39 of 129 in Nairobi
    3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Price Your Stay