We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nairobi Transit Hotel

3.5 of 5 Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nairobi Transit Hotel
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a back packing trip in Eastern Africa. The hotel was very poor compared to what else is on offer. I also had trouble with the staff and my belongings. I would NOT reccomend this hotel. The hotel is also in a very rough area of town and opposite a busy main road

Was this review helpful? Yes
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We maintain high standards at Nairobi Transit Hotel and we are one of the best Hotels in the immediate area. The Nairobi Transit Hotel has security officers on site to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. CCTV is also in use throughout the... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are disgusting, bed linen is not even washed. Pillow full of make up stains and brown stains, bed sheets had blood and dirty all over. Complained but all the rooms were the same. Hotel isn't close to airport, rather take the money for the taxi ride and put it towards a better hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We take standards of cleanliness seriously and all rooms (including linen) are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. It is a shame that you did not find our rooms suitable to your standards, despite our best efforts to cater to your needs. As for the proximity... More 

toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a group of 4 young people in July 2013. Hotels are surprisingly expensive in Nairobi, especially in the peak winter months as traveler's make this the hub of doing safaris. It was difficult for us to find an affordable hotel which was safe. 1 night stay for a 2 person room was about 80 dollars.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The rooms at Nairobi Transit Hotel are of a good standard and comparable with any 3 star Hotel in Europe. Our aim is to be the hotel of choice in Nairobi for travellers that are looking for a clean, safe, modern and affordable hotel. Since your stay in September 2013, we have introduced a full... More 

Trieste, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

At walking distance from downtown Nairobi. Brand new hotel with spacious rooms and all the amenities. Those on the road side are quite noisy. Excellent view of Nairobi skyline from the terrace. Friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I dove in here for one night sleep when transiting with an ongoing flight early the next morning. It is about 30 minutes from the airport in the evening coming into town from the airport and the morning leave town towards the airport (reverse the rush hour traffic). I was so exhausted that I did not hear any noise reported... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight. The hotel is good..though the entry while driving is badly located. My worst point was told that i could not order dinner at 9.30 PM since the kitchen had closed. Yet, i had checked in at 9PM and nobody bothered to tell me when the kitechen closes. Their breakfast was also terrible...no need even to give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my husband. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are super helpful - would visit again. Lovely veggie breakfast in the morning! Good price, handy for airport stopovers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired, the beds were very hard and it is quite noisy outside in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but nothing of great quality. The hotel seems clean but could do with a revamp. Staff are friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good enough for short stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are security guards all day and night outside, and the property is well looked after. The hotel in general is nothing special, but hotels in Nairobi are generally over-priced, so this one is okay in comparison. The breakfast is fairly poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent one night here just before a flight. Good if you just want a reasonably clean place with a bed, private washroom, and is quiet. Yes there's TV but limited channels. Like I said, basic, but it does the job of giving you a night's rest. Service is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is again basic, some might say limited, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Nairobi Transit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Transit Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nairobi Transit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nairobi Transit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay