We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nairobi Transit Hotel

Limuru Road | opposite Jamhuri High School, Nairobi 29375-00100, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nairobi Transit Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had our end of year meeting and party at the Nairobi Transit Hotel. The conference room was very spacious with very useful and modern conferencing facilities. It is close to town, hence central from different locations in Nairobi that my colleagues were coming from. We were served lunch at the restaurant and later had drinks at the bar in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melisa M
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been at the hotel a couple of times when passing nairobi, mostly for the low rates and location from the airport. I can say that I've noticed some improvements in the hotel the few times I went. This last visit was nice decor done on the restaurant and the bar looked a little different in a nice way... More 

Helpful?
Thank MichaelOwiti
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a back packing trip in Eastern Africa. The hotel was very poor compared to what else is on offer. I also had trouble with the staff and my belongings. I would NOT reccomend this hotel. The hotel is also in a very rough area of town and opposite a busy main road

Helpful?
Thank Lloyd T
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We maintain high standards at Nairobi Transit Hotel and we are one of the best Hotels in the immediate area. The Nairobi Transit Hotel has security officers on site to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. CCTV is also in use throughout the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Rooms are disgusting, bed linen is not even washed. Pillow full of make up stains and brown stains, bed sheets had blood and dirty all over. Complained but all the rooms were the same. Hotel isn't close to airport, rather take the money for the taxi ride and put it towards a better hotel.

Helpful?
3 Thank Devin07
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We take standards of cleanliness seriously and all rooms (including linen) are cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. It is a shame that you did not find our rooms suitable to your standards, despite our best efforts to cater to your needs. As for the proximity... More 

toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a group of 4 young people in July 2013. Hotels are surprisingly expensive in Nairobi, especially in the peak winter months as traveler's make this the hub of doing safaris. It was difficult for us to find an affordable hotel which was safe. 1 night stay for a 2 person room was about 80 dollars.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chengbo
NTHManagement, General Manager at Nairobi Transit Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The rooms at Nairobi Transit Hotel are of a good standard and comparable with any 3 star Hotel in Europe. Our aim is to be the hotel of choice in Nairobi for travellers that are looking for a clean, safe, modern and affordable hotel. Since your stay in September 2013, we have introduced a full... More 

Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

At walking distance from downtown Nairobi. Brand new hotel with spacious rooms and all the amenities. Those on the road side are quite noisy. Excellent view of Nairobi skyline from the terrace. Friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marco M
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I dove in here for one night sleep when transiting with an ongoing flight early the next morning. It is about 30 minutes from the airport in the evening coming into town from the airport and the morning leave town towards the airport (reverse the rush hour traffic). I was so exhausted that I did not hear any noise reported... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MackTennyson
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here overnight. The hotel is good..though the entry while driving is badly located. My worst point was told that i could not order dinner at 9.30 PM since the kitchen had closed. Yet, i had checked in at 9PM and nobody bothered to tell me when the kitechen closes. Their breakfast was also terrible...no need even to give... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BenKaribe
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days with my husband. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are super helpful - would visit again. Lovely veggie breakfast in the morning! Good price, handy for airport stopovers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten M
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is a bit tired, the beds were very hard and it is quite noisy outside in the morning. Breakfast was OK, but nothing of great quality. The hotel seems clean but could do with a revamp. Staff are friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Donna443
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#43 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Emeli Hotel
#53 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#56 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#51 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#83 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay