We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
Offers & Announcements
CRAZY OFFER
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
27
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kahama Hotel Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This hotel is relatively expensive for what you get in most of the rest of the world, but for Nairobi it is a completely decent option. Decent service, reasonably clean. The biggest downside is the location, which puts it in a position where it is difficult to walk into the town center without crossing several highways, which don't have walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotelnbi, Public Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you for your time on writing something about us. Your views are very helpful to us and believe that we shall use your comments to improve on areas you mentioned that we need to improve. We were delighted having you as one of our valued guests and hope to host you any time you come back to... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015 via mobile

Prices have gone up over the last years. Economy with style now charges $70 for a superior room (officially 5800KES, but we were charged $70; this was supposed to include a 10% discount offered on TripAdvisor). For that you get a very good location (mind the highway) and a great breakfast. The superior rooms are look like an upper end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Jambo MiroSto, Thank you so much for your honest review about our hotel. Your comments have been positively taken and we shall work on the same to make the hotel better and comfortable for guests. We have taken note about the noise staff make along the corridors and have taken action to ensure it never happens again henceforth. We do... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

After a couple months of travelling through Africa we stayed here the night before our flight. The room was simple but clean, the bathroom was the cleanest I'd seen up until that point. The staff and their customer service were what make this hotel a win. The area isn't very picturesque but the restaurant and front desk staff are just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kahamahotelnbi, Public Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Jambo Stamoura, We were honored to have you as one of our valued guests in the hotel. thank you for your review and look forward to hosting you and your friends whenever you come to Nairobi. We wish you the best in whatever you will be doing and hope to see you one day. Best Regard Djanice Public Relations Manager-... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This is a great hotel with very good facilities, the only problem is that if you are new do not drive yourself there, this hotel is built adjacent a super Highway, the road approaching the hotel is steep and descends to a roundabout, going to this convenient if you take a cab or just walk

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotelnbi, Public Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Robinson, Thank you for your review about Kahama Hotel Nairobi. We were indeed delighted to have you as one of our valued guests and hope to host you any time you will be in Nairobi. Your presence really brought us a lot of warmth and we will never forget that Asante Sana. More 

Radford VA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The card says "economy with style" and it is appropriate. We were glad to find this reasonably priced hotel in Nairobi. The rooms are clean and decorated with character. The hotel is interesting and the staff were friendly and attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for your complements. We look forward to hosting you again when you come to Nairobi. Asante Sana More 

Paris
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed here on two occasions; before and after our safaris through Kenya and Tanzania. Both times we stayed in the cheaper "classic" rooms. Rooms and common areas are kept clean and tidy. Our room was small, but fine for a couple of days at a time. It was also a bit noisy as it overlooked a major highway, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Jambo Perpetual, Indeed we it was an honor you allowed us host you. we are also glad to know that our taxi drivers were kind to you and satisfied your need wherever you wanted to go. On your behalf we have appreciated Peter and George for that kind gesture. We look forward to hosting you again when you come back... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Kahama hotel is a nice place with decent facilities for an affordable price. I stayed here for a couple of days when I arrived in Kenya for an internship. At the hotel you feel very welcome. Unfortunately they are just on the other side of a very big roundabout of the city which is not the best place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to host you again next time you come to Nairobi More 

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My sister and I stayed here for a weekend in Nairobi - we had been travelling in Tanzania. Don't let its proximity to the new highway put you off, it's actually a very good location in the sense that we were able to walk pretty much anywhere we wanted to go easily. Of course, there are some places you might... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom N, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

We were honoured to have you as our valued guests at Kahama Hotel Nairobi. Our primary responsibility is to ensure not only the comfort of our guests but also their safety when with us. Thank you so much for this review and we look forward to host you next time you visit Kenya. Karibu Sana. More 

lahore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Stayed with family for 2 days on our return from safari. The hotel other then the location was OK for the money spent but the location was terrible. The hotel was next to a slump the fact that you cannot leave the hotel premises after sunset was very disturbing and no other resturants other then the hotel resturant near by

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and i would like to let you know that everything is being done to ensure that guests can walk freely from town without any fear. The hotel has teamed up with the local security to ensure that guests can have freedom in their movements whatever time as they engage in the different activities in and... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed 4 days, friendly staffs. Nice and clean hotel. Location: close to city centre. Recommended for people who want to stay in good hotel for 40 $- 50 $. Needed improvement in laundry and room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kahamahotel2014, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

We are grateful by your nice comment about us. We shall work to ensure those areas mentioned that need improvement are taken care off to make a turn around for the comfort of all guests. Asante Sana. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question