We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kahama Hotel Nairobi

Hotel website
Murang'a Road | P.O. Box 33003, Nairobi 00600, Kenya
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is in a bad part of Nairobi. The taxi driver warned us when we arrived to stay in the hotel when it gets dark. Sometimes you get dropped by the taxi on the other side of the roundabout wish forces you to cross a very dangerous street. They are very bad at correspondence. They tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank LouwJohn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived there was a lot of traffic on the roundabout, this meant that we got dropped off the other side of the roundabout. Not the hotel's fault but it's not a great location to get dropped off at to start with. Reception were pretty rude, not the usual African smiles we'd been used to for the past 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank youcantraveltheworld
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Kahama is a lovely hotel. All the staff are very friendly, the rooms spacious and the food in the restaurant delicious. I am staying here for one week, and I have been very impressed. I have stayed in luxury hotels before, and whilst this isn't one (and doesn't claim to be), there are little luxury touches which make the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devornier
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay over the holidays and I must say, that I have had one of the best customer service experience in a while in the country. For that reason I give it a 5 star. It is important to me. In overall, great staff, good food, and I liked my room. Will visit again for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle-bluefins
kahamahotelnbi, Guest Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Jambo Michelle, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other guest. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us at Kahama Hotel, Nairobi. Our very primary responsibility is to ensure that you have a memorable experience and we thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. Thank you for being a valued Kahama Hotel,... More 

Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

I stayed there with my friends just one night before our safari.The staff was friendly and Breakfast was good. The room enough clean.hot water and wifi. The hotel is secure and I liked atmosphere and it's good place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank mmparsa
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear mmparsa, Happy new year and thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule and wrote something about us. I am sure this will help other travelers and guests make informed decisions and come to stay with us. We also thank you for having chosen to stay with us and we were greatly honored to have you. We... More 

Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Yes, it is convenietly located near CBD but the in order to get there you must walk right past some not so good streets. If you opt for a taxi,you're likely to get stuck on traffic for longer than your patience lasts, because there is no direct way to the CBD and the drive includes a u-turn somewhere further. Also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva T
kahamahotelnbi, Guest Relations Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Jambo Eva, First and foremost allow me to extend my most sincere apologies for the poor reception you received. It is not our nature to disappoint guests especially when they expect much more from us. When you or any guest has a problem we recommend you dial '0' and request to see the Manager and escalate the issue and be... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

Well, their motto is (it's literally written all over the hotel) "economy with style" and that is exactly what I experienced here. Nothing was too flash but all I needed was there: a (not too rich but) decent breakfast, clean room with comfy bed, tv, free wifi (working quite alright but don't expect it rocket fast; their connection was actually... More 

Helpful?
Thank GokhanAya
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear GokhanAya, Indeed we are grateful for your good review about us and highlighting some pertinent issues about us. It was an honour to us hosting you at Kahama Nairobi. Your review sharing with others about Kahama Hotel Nairobi will go a long way in assisting others choose this hotel as their first choice. We hope to see and host... More 

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

Nice and clean rooms with good, spacious beds. The quieter rooms ones are to the back. Nothing too fancy, but all that you need incl. LCD TV. I had a room at the very end of the first floor and still had good Wifi access. Breakfast can be served in the room. The service was extraordinarily friendly and the staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Unterhons
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Unterhons, We have received your review on tripadvisor and thank you for taking time from your busy schedule and recommending us to others. Our ultimate goal is to ensure the customer is comfortable and gets the value of his/her money. We will always endeavor to provide quality service for we understand that our guests have come all the way... More 

Nanaimo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

To be honest, I didn't actually stay here. Repeated emails enquiring about accommodation never received a reply. Every other hotel allows a reservation without a deposit, Kahama wants payment in full. I did check out the hotel walking by; old, sketchy neighborhood and within spitting distance of a major road heading into the core, choked with the famous Nairobi traffic.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Restless_S0ul
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Nanaimo, Your review has been well received and we appreciate the fact that everybody is entitled to his own opinion. To start with you clearly stated that you have never stayed at Kahama hotel. This makes us surprised how you were able to compare us with other hotels as you indicated. The claim that even after several inquiries you... More 

Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

Arrived late to hotel. Room was good. Hot water and comfortable bed. Clean. Breakfast however was terrible, included in the room price, we arrived well within the time frame. There was no hot food left and none of it was replenished. There was no coffee available and when we asked none was provided. The eggs were slow and the service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brooke P
kahamahotelnbi, Manager at Kahama Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Brook P, First and foremost allow me to extend my most sincere apologies for the poor service you got during breakfast. It is not our nature to disappoint guests especially when they expect much more from us. That was a very unfortunate incident which will never happen in the hotel. When you or any guest has a problem recommend... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#56 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#18 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay