We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 96 Nairobi hotels

Sankara Nairobi

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012
Milly S Nairobi, Kenya
  • Overview
  • Reviews (373)
  • Photos (113)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (59)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    126
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a Kenyan, I have visited many hotels in Nairobi, but none comes any close to Sankara. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous, the place is clean and super beautiful, the food is to die for, their cocktails are the best, and just about everything about it is amazing!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Sankara on business. Locality I can't really comment as it was perfect for Westgate Mall where we were based. The service of the staff was impeccable and they could not help enough. The Asian restaurant on site was lovely, really tasty and cheaper than the others strangely! The roof top champagne bar by the pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunny Sidcup
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of a one week stay at the Sankara on a recent business trip. I stay in many hotels both for pleasure and business but this is easily my best on all counts - staff, food, facilities, everything! The staff were always warm, friendly and chatty, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were wonderful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The rooms were excellent, the breakfast was amazing! The rooftop bar/pool area is very upscale. Overall, was an excellent hotel. Very modern, and the rooms had all the amenities you can ask for. Did not eat dinner there, but have a nice couple restaurants nearby. Would be considered a nice higher-end hotel in the United States easily...

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The exterior and location of the hotel is not the most attractive. There is some construction work going on an the front of the hotel is surrounded by yellow corrugated iron. However, don't let this put you off it improves significantly. My stay at the Sankara was my first having tried many others and being a regular at the Nairobi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Nairobi in August, 2012, as a launching point for a safari vacation. Given that we traveled to/from Nairobi from San Francisco to say that we were exhausted upon our arrival would be an understatement. The Sankara was truly an oasis, and we loved our stay there. The hotel is modern and very comfortable - the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Overall a very good stay here. The rooms are very nice, bed is comfortable, etc. Nothing to complain about at all. The rooftop bar is very popular and is a great place to get a drink. There are a couple different restaurants with different menus and price points but all offer a very nice dining experience and good food. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Patrickdward, Thank you for your review dated 15th August 2012 and taking the time to write this review. First and foremost thank you very much for your compliments about our rooftop bar, restaurants, menu offerings and our gym. We are very sorry to hear about the inconvenience caused on your airport transfer and apologize for the difficulties experienced. However,... More

Mwanza, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Service was great. Staff very attentive. However the lobby feels eerily quiet and deserted!! Rooms were tastefully decorated however bathrooms (specially the shaving mirrors) are not very well placed. The upstairs bar area is very nice to have an evening drink and the service was impecable!! Would definately stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Kunal16, Thank you for your review dated August 15th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review. Thank you for your lovely compliments about our rooms, staff and service. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service and authentic flavour of the new Africa. The Team at Sankara appreciate your... More

Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

After traveling in Africa for a month with my husband, we stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights in Kenya. We could not have been happier with this decision! The hotel is gorgeous and very modern. There is security outside the hotel and security throughout the hotel. The staff was all very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Schiphol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Not reviewing the hotel, but the SPA facilities at the hotel. Apart from the very nice lobby area of the hotel, the reception area of teh spa is also very welcoming. I have been there several times to enjoy a Javanese massage. Clean, comfortoable, very well equipped, reasonably prized! Always happy when it is time a again for a treat!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Algorab, Thank you for your review dated August 12th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review. We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet & exceed your expectations. Thank you for your lovely compliments about our Angsana Spa.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi #5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi #7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi #13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
156

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer