We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 105 Nairobi hotels

Sankara Nairobi

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Sankara Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
89%
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Bafana K
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
65
25
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (403)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (108)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (93)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had the pleasure of staying at Sankara Nairobi for the first time and this was a great decision I must say. I have stayed at other hotels before and Sankara was one of the very best stays I had. The frontline staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms were extremely clean and of the highest standard. Good options for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oman
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently spent 4 nights in the Sankara on a business trip to Nairobi and have to say the hotel was superb. Check in was quick and efficient, room was good (6th floor) and nice and clean. The whole hotel was very well furnished and had a pleasant environment and feel to it. In a great area of the city.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went for High tea on Saturday afternoon at the Sankara terrace. Normally I associate the Sankara as one of the better hotels in Nairobi with good service but on this occasion the High Tea was awful. We ordered two high tea sets and were expecting some fresh sandwiches, pastries and cakes. Unfortunately what we were served looked great but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed only one short night in this hotel, transitioning from Uganda (gorilla trekking) to the Masi Mara in Kenya. So, after a long day of travel including bumpy roads, small plane, big plane and 1.5hrs in Nairobi traffic!, we arrived around 6:30pm and were thrilled to be in a modern city hotel, with Wifi, a gym, great food, etc!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sankara is a wonderful place, Wonderful food and Wonderful People. I was among the first clients just 4 days after it was opened...i have since been a repeat guest and never have i been disappointed. Thank you Sankara. Keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Tabs1988, Thank you for your very kind review,made more special as you are one of our regular patrons from the inception of the Sankara. We are delighted to have made all your stays with us memorable and continue to stay with us as your home away from home. We do look forward to your return home again soon. With... More

vancouver bc
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is pricey but worth every dollar. From the professional staff to top notch food. Everything is the best! Rooms are modern , big and very well appointed. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in my travels. This is what a hotel should be like Bravo Sankara Nairobi

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear ghalston, Thank you for your very kind and flattering review,made more special from a well seasoned traveller. We are delighted to have made such an impact on your experience with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back at your new home away from home. With Warm Regards Moshi Perera, General Manager More

Johannesburg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I spent two nights for business at this hotel on 9th - 11th September 2014. I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel. We scheduled most of our engagements to be at the hotel - traffic in Nairobi is an utter nightmare. We loved the ability to use the clubhouse for our meetings with guest. Dinner was equally held in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Igshaan S, Thank you for taking your time to share your delightful review. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our facilities. Our team always monitors our prices with similar quality establishments to ensure we are well positioned by comparison for the overall product. We do look forward to welcoming you back to... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, a little pricy, but you pay for the quality. Friendly staff, food is exquisite. Internet is a little slow, which forces you not to be in your room working. Stayed 5 times this year. The hotel is well located to Westlands area. Great gym too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear vik2100, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your candid feedback. Please accept our apologies on the slow internet services you experienced. We did have technical problems with our service providers which were being worked on at the time of your stay. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to... More

Bucharest
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So far I stayed in: Hilton (never again), Stanley (good quality, colonial style), Intercontinental (not a 5* hotel) and Sankara. I also used Southern Sun amenities of Southern Sun, which I found to have a good quality (will try the hotel in the future). Sankara: - great, modern decorated rooms (check pictures) - nice restaurant (1st floor) - nice bar/pool... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear GlobetrotterRo, We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our facilities. However, we are certainly disappointed to note that you experienced a disturbance from the interconnecting room. These rooms are best suited for families and we apologize for allocating this room to you. On price, our team does monitor the prices on offer with similar... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here on business in late January for about a week. My stay was absoluteley lovely at this hotel. The rooftop bar was a great place to unwind after a long day with a drink, good food, and some nights there even music! Folks from outside the hotel come to the roof just to have a good time, apparently.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear KatieKirk312, Thank you for your review; and we appreciate your candid feedback on our property after your most recent stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi to enjoy a drink at our Sarabi pool bar taking in the stunning views of the Nairobi’s skyline while listening to our jazz... More

Do you own or manage Sankara Nairobi?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay