We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi

Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00500, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #22 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013
ZurichBoston Zurich
Add Photo Write a Review

671 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    195
    277
    120
    46
    33
See reviews for
68
151
44
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (671)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (166)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (166)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Ole Sereni is around 15-20 MInutes from NBO international airport and next to the city's own national park. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, my view from the small balcony unfortunately faced the adjacent parking lot. The hotel's restaurant has a good selections of menues, the local beef was so delicious I had it twice for diner. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews. You have given us Top Marks across the board and for that we are greatly humbled. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights. We choose it because of the location next to The National park. Our room was small but very nice. The first night we had a lovely meal in The Eagle restaurant on the 4th floor. The staff were excellent. When we asked for a wine recommendation they matched the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback. I am glad you found Eagle's a fine culinary experience. We do however apologise for the noise pollution on the floors and will address is right away. We look forward to having you with us soon. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for several nights last week. I went on 3 safaris with the hotel. We saw so much wildlife at Nairobi National Park. We even saw a pride of 11 lions stalk and kill a zebra! Amazing. Our game driver was Benson, he was amazing, knowledgeable and he knew where to take us for the best safari experience.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your raving reviews. I recollect us watching those extra-ordinary images of the Nairobi National Park especially the one with 11 LIONS!!!! I have not met any of our guests who had a game sighting as you did. Thank you for acknowledging 'Benson's' efforts and we wlook forward to welcoming you back. You... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed here one night but it was lovely, a very nice first introduction to Kenya! The outdoor dining patio was great and overlooked a wide expanse of land. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback. I am pleased that you had a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I enjoyed my most recent visit to the Ole Sereni and found it better than last time. It is very well located for a night or two, if you want to be near the airports and/ or the Nairobi National Park etc. The rooms are a tad small, but fine for a short stay. The Hotel appears to have toned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews. I am glad that you have noticed the changes / upgrades we ahve been working on to enhance guest experience. I can assure you that your future visit will encounter a delight at Ole-Sereni. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent access to Nairobi International Airport. Good restaurant, cordial and competent staff. Clean, modern rooms. Business center and wifi throughout. I don't think I would stay at this hotel if I needed to be in Nairobi for meetings or tourism, but it was great for the night I arrived from the airport and I will use it the night before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

I sincerely thank you for taking time to give us your positive reviews. It is truly overwhelming to hear from a satisfied guest. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ole Sereni is located midpoint between city centre and the airport. If your travels take you around that area this is an ideal place to stay to avoid the truly mind-boggling traffic mismanagement in Nairobi. The hotel is located on the edge of the Nairob Game Park so ask for a room with park view. The alternative is to look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your reviews. I am pleased that your stay was pleasant apart from the slow service which we will address right away. We are in the process of upgrading the rooms layout in terms of design / finctionality and comfort. We sincerely hope you will consider our services during your future travels to... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
172 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having been through the chaos of Nairobi before the fire at Jomo Kenyatta airport, we were very pleased that our next stay was conveniently situated between the smaller Wilson airport and the main airport. The hotel met all the criteria that we would expect from such a modern establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive review feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Tables overlooking savannah, nice and private. Waitrons attentive, not rushed. Ideal for a stop over while in transit. The menu is varied and reasonably priced, including grills and seafood as well as asian cuisine. The portions are reasonably sized and well-priced. The restaurant has a full bar and inside dinkng is an option.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your positive feedback which we truly appreciate. Ole-Sereni's Biggest Strength is its unique location and we are glad to learn that you enjoyed the setting and the service levels. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

ex pat in Ct
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on two occasions overnight between flights. For anyone who has endured or is aware of the traffic congestion and delays in Nairobi this is ideally situated between the international (now tent) airport and Wilson airport. The rooms are well appointed but extremely small. Service in the main restaurant is extremely slow and inefficient which left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghulam S, General Manager at Ole - Sereni Hotel, Nairobi, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us your constructive feedback. I do apologise for the Service delays you faced which are unacceptable to us and we will ensure gets attended to right away. We do hope you will reconsider our services during your future travels to Nairobi. I look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay