We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 88 Nairobi accommodations

The King Post

Rhapta Rd. | Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Hotel amenities
The King Post
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in these Apartments in January 2013, the Apartments are well designed a few things that I hated so much and will never return there. 1. The maids uniform reflected slavery the colours are a horrible brown and they look dirty all the times!! 2. The owners did not supply you with tissue paper as part of the package... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GABLESGROUP, Owner at The King Post, responded to this review

Dear Pauline, Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us. Your unexpected review has come to us as a complete surprise and shock, and we are very disappointed with your comments. Sadly, if you had brought all this to our attention during your stay we would have taken immediate action to make your stay more comfortable and... More

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The property is beautifully done up and is an ideal place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable. The staff can be found with a little tight upper lip but can be ignored. The only disadvantage is that the place has no restaurant and hence for business trip can be a little hectic to cook breakfast early morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GABLESGROUP, Owner at The King Post, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on The King Post. We are glad your stay was comfortable. Yes,we do not have a restaurant. We were to construct one last year, but decided to put this project on hold. We feel that that having a restaurant would actually result in higher security risks at The King Post and increase noise levels. However... More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I live here on an extended basis when I am in Nairobi. It is more like an extended stay that we see in America. However, unlike the extended stays I have seen in the US, the King Post is spotless and well maintained. The management takes pride in keeping the place keen and well attended. The two bedroom apartments are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Kings post is an experience I would like to relive again and again and again. In spite of the fact that I could put myself in a posh hotel, I chose to stay at the King's Post (2 bed room apartment). I stayed there for over a month and absolutely enjoyed everything about it. It was tastefully done in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my second stay at Kings Post in the last year. Located in the relatively safe Westlands area Kings Post has excellent accomendations. Rooms and apartments all have full well appointed kitchens. A fitness room and fitness classes are a welcome new addition. Staff is friendly and efficient. Security is tight, always a must in Nairobi. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I lived at the King Post for a period of 9 months from April 1/2011 to December 31/2011. We had a one bedroom apartment and loved it. Our apartment was beautiful, decorated in a Swahili design. We had everything we needed in the apartment. We especially enjoyed our balcony where we took most of our meals. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The king post is superrrrrrrr, staff is very friendly and the environment is very nice toooooo....definately coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham UK and also Nairobi Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My partner and I stayed at The King Post, in a studio apartment, for a week in July 2010. It is a beautiful place, decorated in swahili/arabic design. Security is a high priority as is comfort. All the staff members are friendly and accommodating. The only problem was that the room was extremely cold. I believe that the architectural design... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We initially were going to stay at one of the more expensive hotels in Nairobi, but they were sold out ~ 2 weeks prior to our trip. We contacted The Kings Post. They were very helpful. We arrived on a Sunday night. They are in a convenient location (Westlands). Overall, the place was very nice. We had 2 bedrooms. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

I stayed at King's Post for three weeks (on a long-term business assignment in Nairobi and my long-term apartment wasn't quite ready when I arrived) in early November, and would highly recommend it to other travelers. The rooms are beautifully decorated (I would say quasi-Indian/Middle Eastern decor) and extremely clean - the maid/cleaning service comes in almost everyday and kept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The King Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Post

Address: Rhapta Rd. | Westlands, Nairobi 00800, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Post offers fully furnished and serviced Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments available on daily basis and long-term. It reflects the timeless beauty of Swahili Architecture, the mystic coastal warmth and intimacy, with the charismatic entrance and gateway inviting you to a Swahili village! Narrow alleyways lead you to the tranquillity of your apartment. The intricate Swahili craftsmanship within the apartment brings alive the romance of a long forgotten era. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The King Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The King Post to your Saves list