We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal

Certificate of Excellence
10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo, Egypt
Hotel amenities
Hotel Royal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 49 Cairo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kamal A
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    55
    23
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
37
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i do understand that its a small hotel with no star rating , however basics can be accepted at least ,,, all you get is a bed and AC only , TV was not working , no wardrobe , toilet is really bad , no shower certain and water is leaking all over once you wash your hand or take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
163sam, Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Mr Fayiz , Thanks for your feedback . But do you think is fare for you and your wife to write 2 reviewS for our hotel just because you did not gEt your free ( 2 ways ) shuttle from and to the airport ? If this is the way that you think so you are wrong , all what... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Place is Amazing. people are excellent and very cooperative, Cleane and Neat. Price is the best, and its near every thing in cairo. the heart of cairo and the easiest way to reach every thing. I loved every thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is anything but a hotel ... it is guest house. Has no bathroom ... or in a meaning it has but without Shower or even a flushing in the seat toilet... the TV is broken ... no towels ... no wordrobe ... do not believe the photos ... it is baaaad

Was this review helpful? Yes
163sam, General Manager at Hotel Royal, responded to this review

Dear Samah , Thank you very much for your feedback we really appreciate it . It is the first time for Royal Hotel Management to response or comment on any reviews our guests writes Because we really understand that our guest has the right to write anything he want from his point of view , But in your case and... More 

Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I was there for 3 nights , I saw the hotel on booking.com but I did not book it , I wanted to go and see the place first . But when I went there I found that the guys are very helpful and lovely they gave me room number 4 , the room is very clean with balcony ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

nice place , nice people , nice location . clean bathrooms , clean sheets , ask them for the towels most of the time we had to ask for towels . good choice by the way and good prices .................

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canaa Dos Carajas, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

The images I saw on the hotel website. are liars, lying pictures are the guys at the front desk are some reliable people, these bandits still found little and sent us to another building full of filthy garbage and rats a real quackery! Do not believe the pictures or testimonials invented by this gang!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I stayed in this hotel twice during a trip to Egypt. The rooms are nice and cheap and very clean. The decor in the rooms are also nice and modern. Its a little hard to find as the sign at the front is tiny and its in an alley way and not on the main road (but not far from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

My first time to Cairo and I spent three weeks in Egypt using this hotel as a base. I rarely write reviews, but this place was nice. Said, the manager, is very friendly and a great person. The rooms are clean, spacious, and the service was very accommodating and attentive. There were some issues with the water pressure while I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights it was so good experience for me and my family among this nice people . Hotel is clean , nice people , comfort , very nice value for the money you pay , nice place to stay in the heart of Cairo . thank you guys .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

When we arrived cairo, the first thing is to book the bus ticket to white/black desert and the train ticket to aswan. The stuff here is really helpful to help us make a phone call. With their help, we finished our booking successfully. We thought that the hotel's location is good, but is not easy to find because it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay