We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seoul Base Camp Hostel

3F 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Seoul Base Camp Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice and helpful staff, convenient location, indie music, good atmosphere. Good concept! It's simple, but tasteful. I had a good time at Seoul Base Camp and I'll stay there again if I get the chance!!

Helpful?
Thank Theo R
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

After reading all the rave reviews on here I was excited to stay here. Straight to the point, the 10 bed dorm or "private cubby space" is a JOKE. Interesting they don't have any clear pictures of what it looks like on the pictures on TA-the one picture is a bed with the background blurred out so you cant see... More 

Helpful?
Thank LukeytaO
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Man, Basecamp is the worst! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

All this Camping in Seoul nonsense is a fig. No matter. Pig on the roof is charming. It's a really pleasant affordable place. All round friendly, well located, board games, waffles, ok bathrooms, tidy comfortable cubbyholes for beds; nice roomy common room (unfortunately with no pool table: a suggestion). Very good stay, folks.

Helpful?
Thank sadeeyor
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

It's always a treat to have you here. Come by any time. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015 via mobile

With its great central location, competitive prices (cheaper than most jjimjilbangs) and relaxed atmosphere you cannot go wrong staying here. Having stayed at many hostels worldwide this is the only one in Korea that gives off a international feel. DO IT!

Helpful?
Thank No_shoes88
Hyok K, 매니저 at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you. That describes us pretty well. - Jake More 

Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015

Very chilled atmosphere, really friendly owner and a quirky roof top kitchen. The common spaces are great and the dorms are again, quirky, however they're clean and comfortable. Great location, near to the university sector of the city and really close to the tube station. The rooftop view is also fantastic.

Helpful?
Thank Katie B
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review. Hope you had a great time and wish you the best in your future travels! More 

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Great location, less than a block from the metro station, which gives you access to the entire city. Shared bathroom and showers, never had a to wait for one to become available. In one visit, I stayed in both the 4 room bunks and the 8 person barracks, both were comfortable, some may say tight on space, I say cozy.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonia M
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

You may be the coolest guest ever. Thank you! More 

Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

This location is extremely accessible to everything you could possibly need. Just down the block there is a mall with the train station underneath and if you walk about half a mile the other way there is an outdoor mall with basically like a street fair every night with amazing food. The hostel is super laid back and they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank shmoe8
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Our location and atmosphere are the two top reasons to visit Basecamp. Thank you and have a nice day! More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

This hostel is in a fantastic location. The directions from the airport that Base Camp gives on its website are perfect, so I had no trouble finding the place. Right next to a subway station so easy to get around Seoul. Could walk into Hongdae easily for street food, which was buzzing even on a Sunday night, as it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sorry about the shower being a bit communal. We are working to make the showering experience a little more private. Otherwise, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our neighborhood and our amenities. Hope you enjoyed Seoul! More 

Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This place is my favorite place to stay in all of Seoul. The owners are absolutely wonderful people who are accommodating in every way. They create a great vibe and a fun, family-like atmosphere that is very easy to settle into. The beds look small but are quite cozy in your own little cube (in the big room), and in... More 

Helpful?
Thank KGBwaygook
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for the beautiful review. We appreciate you coming and we are happy to host you any time. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

If you are a laid-back backpacking-style traveler, this is a great place to stay! Not to mention, Hongdae itself is a very fun area. When I lived in a rural town in Korea for a year, this place was popular with me and my friends for spending our weekends in Seoul. If you want to stay here for a weekend,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Hyok K, Owner at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

This is the most heartfelt review I read. Thank you. Wish you get a chance to come back! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Backpackers Inside
#24 of 496 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Sinchon / Ewha
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse
Kimchee Sinchon Guesthouse
#137 of 496 in Seoul
4.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Hongdae
OMG Hostel
OMG Hostel
#70 of 496 in Seoul
5.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bong House
#55 of 496 in Seoul
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay