We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaiviti Motel

PO Box 152, Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaiviti Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kaiviti Motel
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    10
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
16
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Sydney
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked myself and 2 young children into the Kaiviti Motel on the 11th March, 2 days before Vanuatu was hit by an extremely destructive cyclone. I had stayed at the Kaiviti a few years before but was very pleased to note the extensive renovations that had been done since my last stay. Upon arrival I was advised by management... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On Thursday the 12th of March my partner and I arrived in Vanuatu and were greeted by a resort manager of Iririki at the airport who informed us that the island had been evacuated and that we had been moved to another motel. Fair enough. Upon arrival at Kaviti, we were made to feel unwelcome by management right away, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kaivitimotel, Owner at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review

Dear Brodie It is surprising that as an Iririki Island Resort customer you flew in the day before a category 5 cyclone when your accommodation at Iririki had already been closed and evacuated. This had been announced even before your plane had left Sydney. The plane upon landing immediately returned to Sydney with people from Iririki and other resorts seeking... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. They helped with clean up when the rooms had flooded even though their own houses had been destroyed. Management on the other hand were nothing short of disgusting. Very rude to their customers and had been caught out lying to us and other hotel stayers. We were promised breakfast daily and only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kaivitimotel, Owner at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review

Dear Courtney, Thank you for taking the time to air your grievances on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate that you flew in the day before the worst cyclone recorded in the southern hemisphere. First let us clarify to the readers that you were actually a guest of Iririki Island Resort with a food and drinks package that we were not... More 

Port Vila, Vanuatu
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had my partner who is a local Ni Vanuatu woman and 2 of our children book a room at the Kaiviti Hotel to shelter from the impending cyclone Pam.They were visiting Port Vila at the time from Malekula Right from day 1 she was made to feel unwelcome there, she said . Because of the unexpected severity of The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kaivitimotel, Owner at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alan Yes it was an absolute shocker! 250 km per hour winds and 40 metre seas with a loss of life and injury which is yet to be counted. Those of us who went through this traumatic experience were in a state of shock and disbelief and did not know what to do or where to go. The immediate... More 

Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Well maintained rooms,with good cooking facilities,neat and tidy,well attended by staff. Convenient parking space,and proper swimming pool with suitable space for relaxing...A walking distance to town,restaurants,casino's,museum,beachfront.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We arrived around 2am in the morning and were met by staff who directed us to our room. The room was well appointed, clean and quite spacious. Awaking the next morning and getting to eat breakfast by the pool under the native-looking shelters was MOST pleasant. The staff were very helpful and I would recommend this Motel to anyone considering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Staff were great and very friendly. Place was spotless. The place is a bit old and the prices are probably a little more than you would expect for what you get. But if you look for a less expensive hotel, there is an even sharper drop off in quality. It is generally comfortable though for what you pay. They could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kaivitimotel, Manager at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on the motel. It sounds like that you stayed in one of the non renovated rooms. The motel now has 18 fully renovated standard and executive rooms which are well worth the extra. Further upgrades are planned for the remaining of the year and next year as we work through... More 

Central Otago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The two bedroom apartment was old and shabby with very old bedding. There was a foul smell in the kids bedroom and needed to buy an air freshner to help with the smell. Unit 29. I had told cleaning staff about this but nothing was done. One day our room was not serviced at all and we struggled to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kaivitimotel, Manager at Kaiviti Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are progressively moving through the motel with our future renovation plans and the apartments will be upgraded over time. I am sorry that there was an unpleasant smell in the room, but I was not made aware of your complaint in order to take action. Unfortunately a lot of... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in the renovated rooms which look out onto the pool. Lovely rooms with nice décor and were spotlessly clean. The service from the staff was outstanding. We were in Vila for work so the location was perfect as we could walk into town, supermarket, etc. Food was great value for money. Definitely will return to stay there in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Suva, Fiji
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The new suite I stayed in was very nice with new with kitchenette. The bathroom was spotless and the service was very good. I ended up there as a walk-in because the Melanesian next door dropped my reservation despite having called to explain my delay due to weather. The food is very basic fare for lunch but OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question