We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy's on the Lagoon

3.5 of 5 Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    99
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
101
103
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (276)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I recently spent a week in a 1 bedroom garden villa. The room was spotless and had all the amenities we needed. A stones throw from the adults pool we couldn't have been happier with the location. The staff were all friendly and always smiling, no request was too much. As a doting couple I could tell... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Vadawn, We are so glad to hear that you holiday away was memorable for all the right reasons! We really appreciate you taking the time to review Poppys. Our staff love getting to know our guests, but of course we know that sometimes a holiday means getting away from the hustle and bustle so I am happy to hear... More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They need a trained cook. Even basic meals like scrambled eggs or carbonara are of poor quality. The blinds in the bedrooms offer no privacy at night and allow the sun to stream in at daybreak. There is no resort shuttle bus

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. I am sorry to hear that it sounds as though your experience was less than what you had hoped for. We are always grateful to hear all reviews so that we can take on board any improvements that can be made! In regards to the meals at Poppys, our... More 

Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

Our family of two adults and two teens aged 16 and 14 have just returned from a week's stay at Poppys on the Lagoon. We stayed in a two bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment located up stairs at the top of the hill. (This may be a difficult climb for some people in the heat). Our apartment was clean, comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Ingy13, I am so glad to hear that your entire family enjoyed their time at Poppys - we really appreciate the time you have taken to review us :-) We are definitely family friendly! It is always great to be able to travel as a family and ensure that everyone has a great time! The kayaks are really popular... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We spent 9 nights at Poppy's with my parents in law and teenage children in January 2015. My mother in law became ill just before we travelled and was in a wheelchair for our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful. They constructed a wheelchair ramp with one days notice so that we could easily access the 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It makes our work very rewarding when we know that we can really contribute to a great holiday! We are so glad to hear that your entire family enjoyed their time at Poppys :-) Our staff get lots of compliments, but I am sure this is because they genuinely... More 

Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I could not be any happier about my choice to stay at Poppy's on the Lagoon. This resort is a hit for everything. Only locals work here, and the grounds are IMMACULATE, with the traditional grass-hut style eating areas making our stay just that bit more authentic. Staff were always happy to oblige, and we had some really nice friendships... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Travelugs, Thank you for the great review on Poppys! We are thrilled to hear that your time here was nothing but great memories! We are really proud of our staff, and it is great to hear that you got to know them and appreciated their hospitality and knowledge! The lagoon offers some really great snorkeling especially once you get... More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

With only five days notice we chose Poppy's on the Lagoon between xmas across New Years as a quick escape holiday. We needed a home away from home, with staff who were relaxed no fuss and were able to quietly assist us in all our needs. Stand outs were the extraordinary massage - I had three full body massages that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It sounds as though you had a lovely relaxing trip in Vanuatu! Bertraum is definitely becoming famous for his massages.....I will pass on your praise :-) We hope that you consider Poppys again when you feel like you need that "home away from home" again :-) Kind Regards, Carla More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We spent the whole of Christmas week and a bit more this year at Poppy's. We had one of the studios on the hill overlooking the lagoon. This was our second trip to Port Villa (but first to Poppy's). Here's what we liked about our stay: Great view of the lagoon from the balcony, the room was tastefully decorated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear SP78Sydney, I apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We appreciate the time that you have taken to highlight the highs and lows of your holiday. Of course we always want to ensure that there are no lows!! We are sorry to hear that the renovations interrupted your stay. I will be checking in with management to... More 

Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I highly recommend this property for your holiday on Port Vila, Vanuatu. Great rooms, fantastic staff and a terrific location! Everybody that works here go out of their way to make your stay a very pleasant one. Special thanks must go to Roland, Job, Rachel, William and Allan. This is not to take anything away from the rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear TraumaSim, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys...our staff will be so happy to hear that they really made a difference to your holiday! I will be sure to pass on your special mention. Make sure that you let us know you are a past guest if you decide to return for another holiday...we will make sure... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Recently stayed on a family holiday(5 adults). We stayed in a spacious Beachside Lagoon Villa. Three bedrooms, large kitchen and dining area. Comfortable lounge area with Television.Great outside verandah with stunning views of the Lagoon. Bedrooms clean and serviced daily. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the manager Roland. Staff are friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Drewe, It's lovely to hear that your family enjoyed their time at Poppys - we really appreciate you taking the time to review us! The 3 bedroom Villas are perfect for families and friends so we are happy to hear that you found the accommodation to be suitable! We look forward to being able to welcome you all back... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Poppy's is a great resort. It isn't like your large commercialized resort. It is small, clean and the setting is lovely. The garden area is lovely. The restaurant and "hut" is relaxing with a fabulous breeze from the lagoon. Staff are wonderful, very helpful with everything. We used two of the pools and although they are a little small they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Bbig1987, Thanks for taking the time to review Poppys. We are always happy to hear positive reviews on the resort and staff :-) The walk into town is great....we definitely agree that street lights would be a bonus! The streets are generally safe in Vanuatu but there are lots of pot holes and it would be easy to trip... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Poppy's on the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppy's on the Lagoon

Address: Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poppy's on the Lagoon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Poppy's on the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppy`s On The Lagoon Hotel Port Vila
Poppys On The Lagoon Hotel
Poppys Lagoon
Poppy's On The Lagoon Vanuatu/Port Vila
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#21 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila

224 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay