We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy's on the Lagoon

Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Add Photo

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    150
    105
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
108
109
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband, myself and three adult children stayed in the 3 bedroom water front villa for 7 nights. The staff are fantastic! Very helpful, friendly and caring. The villa spotless. The free BBQ was great to cook some of our meals but we also dined at Poppy,s which was great and not too expensive. Lush grounds lovely and different pools... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Truly a place from heaven Undaunted by recent weather upheavals Poppy's continues on with its tranquil blissful paradise Clean rooms friendly staff and an outlook of helpfulness beyond compare Assortment of activities if required or just a peaceful hideaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a comfortable and spacious 3 bedroom apartment with an absolute waterfront location. The lush tropical gardens are beautiful, the staff very helpful and friendly and the al fresco restaurant was good. A free barbecue is provided and we used this several times to cook evening meals. We enjoyed paddling up the lagoon in the free sea kayaks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear SkyFox49, Thank you for reviewing Poppys, we always love to hear what our guests experience so that we can ensure we are on the right track :-) It sounds as though you had a great time in Vanuatu and especially at Poppys! We always encourage our guests to make the most of the self-contained accommodation and BBQ areas if... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Poppy's as a large family vacation. Great service, great accomodation and great food. Very clean and pretty rooms. Defintely recommended. Nothing was a problem for the staff and the lagoon is beautiful. Wouldn't recommend booking the overpriced airport transfers though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear TashKat, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their time in Vanuatu, especially their time at Poppys! The team always appreciate the feedback as they work hard to ensure that our rooms are up to standard and that our restaurant is producing delicious meals! I am sorry to hear that... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

The staff were very helpful, really comfortable rooms and fantastic food at the in house restaurant They are always friendly and nothing is a problem. Close to the main shopping area. The lagoon view was stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Grillsg, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! It sounds as though we ticked all the boxes which is great! We love our staff (and they love our guests!), our restaurant uses only the freshest produce available and of course we are very lucky with our great... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We recently stayed a week here in a 3-bedroom villa (No. 11). The villa itself was huge which was great but it's location was terrible! We were pretty much situated in the middle of everything and with 2 very young children the noise (and trying to relax) was challenging. At the front was the water, which was great, but behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear KerrinD, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We always appreciate feedback and comments :-) We are disappointed to hear that you did not feel like Poppys is a family resort. We have won Top 10 Award for Best Family Resort in the South Pacific two years in a row (2013,2014 - they havent released 2015 so... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We recently spent five nights at Poppys post cyclone. What a gorgeous place it is! Our room was comfortable and clean- not that we spent much time in it with the beautiful warm weather. It also had a kitchen- but I'm not into cooking when delicious food is available most of the day. Although the room wasn't air conditioned it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear BlancetC, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are always to happy to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time in Vanuatu and most importantly - staying at Poppys! Our chefs have won several awards as the international culinary competition held earlier in the year so we are pleased to hear that the food... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

After hearing the news about vanuatu and cyclone pam our wedding was moved to Poppys. Although we only had 3 weeks to replan everything the staff at Poppys were unbelievable. Thanks to Joanne, carla,Roland and all the staff for making us feel so welcome, organising the wedding and the hospitality throughout the week. All staff are smiling and joined in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Darcy, What can we say about the wedding!!!!!!! What a wonderful night it was! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review Poppys. It was a pleasure to help (quickly!!) organise your special day! I think we will always remember your wedding as it was the first after the cyclone and yet still such a success! You and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We enjoyed our time at Poppy's, although post Pam with all the rebuilding, it wasn't as quiet as we would have liked. The staff at the resort are definitely one of the resort's finest assets as no request is ever too much trouble ensuring excellent service with a smile. We left the resort to visit Tanna and when we returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We apologise for any noise disturbance immediately after the cyclone and appreciate you understanding the quick response required to clean up the resort.....we assure you if you return you will find that Poppys is back to its beautiful self again already :-) Our staff are part of the family... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

After a last minute change of accommodation due to the closure of another resort we had no regrets about choosing Poppy’s On The Lagoon. We were one of only a few guests at the resort (due to being so soon – about 3 weeks - after Cyclone Pam) so had it almost all to ourselves & were made to feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Borneo50, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It sounds as though you really made the most of your trip to Vanuatu and managed to see quite a lot of the island!! I really hope that you thought it to be as beautiful as we do :-) Our staff worked exceptionally hard after the cyclone to get... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

225 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (190)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay