We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppy's on the Lagoon

Captain Cook Blvd. Seaside, PO Box 920, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    102
    25
    11
    3
See reviews for
105
108
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were very helpful, really comfortable rooms and fantastic food at the in house restaurant They are always friendly and nothing is a problem. Close to the main shopping area. The lagoon view was stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed a week here in a 3-bedroom villa (No. 11). The villa itself was huge which was great but it's location was terrible! We were pretty much situated in the middle of everything and with 2 very young children the noise (and trying to relax) was challenging. At the front was the water, which was great, but behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear KerrinD, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We always appreciate feedback and comments :-) We are disappointed to hear that you did not feel like Poppys is a family resort. We have won Top 10 Award for Best Family Resort in the South Pacific two years in a row (2013,2014 - they havent released 2015 so... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent five nights at Poppys post cyclone. What a gorgeous place it is! Our room was comfortable and clean- not that we spent much time in it with the beautiful warm weather. It also had a kitchen- but I'm not into cooking when delicious food is available most of the day. Although the room wasn't air conditioned it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear BlancetC, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are always to happy to hear that our guests have had a wonderful time in Vanuatu and most importantly - staying at Poppys! Our chefs have won several awards as the international culinary competition held earlier in the year so we are pleased to hear that the food... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After hearing the news about vanuatu and cyclone pam our wedding was moved to Poppys. Although we only had 3 weeks to replan everything the staff at Poppys were unbelievable. Thanks to Joanne, carla,Roland and all the staff for making us feel so welcome, organising the wedding and the hospitality throughout the week. All staff are smiling and joined in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Darcy, What can we say about the wedding!!!!!!! What a wonderful night it was! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review Poppys. It was a pleasure to help (quickly!!) organise your special day! I think we will always remember your wedding as it was the first after the cyclone and yet still such a success! You and... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our time at Poppy's, although post Pam with all the rebuilding, it wasn't as quiet as we would have liked. The staff at the resort are definitely one of the resort's finest assets as no request is ever too much trouble ensuring excellent service with a smile. We left the resort to visit Tanna and when we returned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We apologise for any noise disturbance immediately after the cyclone and appreciate you understanding the quick response required to clean up the resort.....we assure you if you return you will find that Poppys is back to its beautiful self again already :-) Our staff are part of the family... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

After a last minute change of accommodation due to the closure of another resort we had no regrets about choosing Poppy’s On The Lagoon. We were one of only a few guests at the resort (due to being so soon – about 3 weeks - after Cyclone Pam) so had it almost all to ourselves & were made to feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Borneo50, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It sounds as though you really made the most of your trip to Vanuatu and managed to see quite a lot of the island!! I really hope that you thought it to be as beautiful as we do :-) Our staff worked exceptionally hard after the cyclone to get... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

What a great place to stay - all in good shape and missed the worst of Cyclone Pam. Friendly staff, lovely lagoon spot and very handy to town. Rooms were comfortable and everything functioning fine. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It means a lot that you enjoyed your stay especially post Cyclone Pam! We were indeed very lucky with no structural damage! You would be amazed at the difference already to the gardens as well.....there are flowers blooming and the market is slowly filling up with produce again :-)... More 

Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I stayed here as part of a medical assistance team post Cyclone Pam and we could't have been looked after any better. The staff were amazing working together to get Poppy's looking better then ever, the accommodation was comfortable and well appointed and the kitchen staff provided restaurant quality meals which were always well appreciated after a long days work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Deanie76, Thank you for your review for Poppys, we really appreciate it! The month post cyclone Pam feels a little a blurry memory we were all so busy. Consequently, to know that our team still made guests and volunteers feel welcome means a lot! The people of Vanuatu are exceptionally hospitable and it does not surprise me that they... More 

Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stayed post cyclone with the AUSMAT team. Even though it had suffered some damage the staff and owners had done a tremendous job getting it back up and running despite the difficult circumstances. The staff are very friendly and courteous and maid our stay memorial. I'd love to come and stay again if I ever get back to Vanuatu.😃

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your review! It has been so overwhelming having the support post cyclone Pam! It was certainly a tricky period and we really appreciate all the relief/aid workers staying with us that made the recovery so much easier! We definitely hope to be able to welcome you back to Poppys so that you can see what... More 

Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

After cyclone Pam we stayed here while helping in the disaster response. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the food was good and the resort, although slightly damaged, did a great job. They deserve a 5-star review. Well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne W, Public Relations Manager at Poppy's on the Lagoon, responded to this review

Dear DoctorDanHolmes, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. As you were here immediately after the devastation it means a lot that you still found Poppys to be a wonderful place to stay! Vanuatu has really pulled together and the cleanup effort over the entire island has been amazing! Poppys is well and truly back to business which... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

231 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (190)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay