We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melanesian Port Vila

3.0 of 5 P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Melanesian Port Vila
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    83
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
70
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (164)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a week long Island getaway.  I've visited Vanuatu many times and did an over nighter at this hotel many years ago. This time round i was looking for a good value option close to town. The location is very central to downtown Vila. It's a 3 minute walk downhill to the main street. The return trip is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here with my wife Over New Years, the staff and location are amazing buttttttt The beds are that hard we could not sleep and also the free wifi in the lobby is that slow you could say old dial up back in the 80's is quicker !!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at The Melanesian with my husband in a Superior Orchid Room. The room was quite nice having been refurbished recently. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable and when we asked for an underlay we were given an extremely thin mattress protector which didn't make any difference. The walls of the room were extremely thin and quite noisy. Noisy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and wasn't overly disappointed or impressed. Not really any sort of atmosphere here and the place is almost deserted during the day. Room was clean and comfortable, staff were friendly, food was average but nothing to write home about. Stayed for BBQ night which had good entertainment but not great food. Overall I wouldn't choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Great hotel, very friendly staff, great location close to supermarket. Have the BBQ if it is available! We stayed for one night before flying to Tanna and this hotel had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend the Melanesian for a quick or an affordable stay. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

I have stayed at The Melanesian several times and find its closeness to the town to be very convenient. As a repeat visitor I was given a room upgrade on my arrival which was wonderful. I was also pleased to see that there had been an upgrade of facilities. My room was spacious and comfortable and the staff welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

First time at this hotel, suggested by my clients in Pt Vila. I found this hotel to be very good, for business and seemed quite good for holiday people too. I got a room at the side of the hotel on the 4th level (3rd floor) whichever you like to call it. The wings are set up on three sides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This property I would class as a entry level hotel,maybe 3stars. Our room was a good size,balcony overlooking the pool,bed not comfortable. Shower over bath, difficult if you a bit on the short side.We found the cleaning and replenishment of coffee,tea etc to be poor.No lifts...we were on the 3rd floor which ment over 50 stairs up and back down,so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Thesambos, Thank you for your positive comments well received. The Melanesian has three building with two levels of floors and all using stairs. Please talk to our friendly reservations staff to relocate to a ground floor to allow easy access to rooms. Free wifi accessible at the Lobby area, however pre-paid internet can be purchased at the reception desk... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We went here to have dinner and realised we didnt think it was kid friendly so we cancelled our three nights there. Melanasian advised they would only take one night cancelltion fee but ended up taking the whole three nights. They are money hungry and liars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Bassima10, Thank you for your comments well received. We do have a cancellation policy that applies when cancelling at last minute or cancellation is received less than 24 hrs. Please talk to our reservations staff regarding our cancellation policy. Your concern will be raised to the department responsible for bookings. We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience that the Melanesian... More 

Sydney, NSW
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

The lobby staff were pleasant enough and made bookings for us when required. The location was good. Not in the middle of town and only a 10 min walk. The food and drinks at the pool bar were not very good and overpriced for what you received. The cultural night was good - very relaxing and the food was reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear na2311, Thank you for your comments received. The rooms are service daily by our well trained house maids. We appreciate your comments on the honesty of staff, your comments will be forward to the department concern. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you will visit us again but this time it will be a good weather... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay