We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melanesian Port Vila

3.0 of 5 P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Melanesian Port Vila
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    81
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
67
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel, very friendly staff, great location close to supermarket. Have the BBQ if it is available! We stayed for one night before flying to Tanna and this hotel had everything we needed. I would definitely recommend the Melanesian for a quick or an affordable stay. The staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at The Melanesian several times and find its closeness to the town to be very convenient. As a repeat visitor I was given a room upgrade on my arrival which was wonderful. I was also pleased to see that there had been an upgrade of facilities. My room was spacious and comfortable and the staff welcoming and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time at this hotel, suggested by my clients in Pt Vila. I found this hotel to be very good, for business and seemed quite good for holiday people too. I got a room at the side of the hotel on the 4th level (3rd floor) whichever you like to call it. The wings are set up on three sides... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property I would class as a entry level hotel,maybe 3stars. Our room was a good size,balcony overlooking the pool,bed not comfortable. Shower over bath, difficult if you a bit on the short side.We found the cleaning and replenishment of coffee,tea etc to be poor.No lifts...we were on the 3rd floor which ment over 50 stairs up and back down,so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Thesambos, Thank you for your positive comments well received. The Melanesian has three building with two levels of floors and all using stairs. Please talk to our friendly reservations staff to relocate to a ground floor to allow easy access to rooms. Free wifi accessible at the Lobby area, however pre-paid internet can be purchased at the reception desk... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014 via mobile

We went here to have dinner and realised we didnt think it was kid friendly so we cancelled our three nights there. Melanasian advised they would only take one night cancelltion fee but ended up taking the whole three nights. They are money hungry and liars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Bassima10, Thank you for your comments well received. We do have a cancellation policy that applies when cancelling at last minute or cancellation is received less than 24 hrs. Please talk to our reservations staff regarding our cancellation policy. Your concern will be raised to the department responsible for bookings. We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience that the Melanesian... More 

Sydney, NSW
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

The lobby staff were pleasant enough and made bookings for us when required. The location was good. Not in the middle of town and only a 10 min walk. The food and drinks at the pool bar were not very good and overpriced for what you received. The cultural night was good - very relaxing and the food was reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear na2311, Thank you for your comments received. The rooms are service daily by our well trained house maids. We appreciate your comments on the honesty of staff, your comments will be forward to the department concern. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you will visit us again but this time it will be a good weather... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Melanesian and the staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious and lovely Lucy cooks eggs to perfection. The rooms are tidy and spacious and the pool area a great spot to catch some sun and cool off. Location is great with a short walk to a supermarket or into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Amy L, Thank you for your comments well received. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us at the hotel. Thank you also for the positive comments on staff mentioned and will certainly forward comments to her department head for appraisal. We do hope to see you again on your next trip to Vanuatu and to... More 

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our stay in Vanuatu, not a lot of time to judge a hotel but we had such a good experience that I thought it worth a mention. I will start with the heart warming experience of their honesty and integrity, something you get a bit used to in Vanuatu but this was well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear John-H-2405, Thank you for the wonderful comments well received regarding the staff mentioned. The comments will be forward to the department concern for the staff appraisals. The house-keeping department has a sections for lost and found which has come as an advantage to the guest who has accidentally left thing behind. And the Front office department is well informed... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We just went to the Melanesian BBQ at the Melanesian. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff were lovely. A wonderful string band played while we ate and then we watched some kustom dancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear SalDec11, Thank you for your positive comments on the Melanesian Feast night. The event is held on Wed, Fri & Sun of each week, with different cultural groups of Vanuatu. The entertainment is to show the unique customs and diverse culture of the Vanuatu people. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed the evening. We hope that... More 

Cust, null, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The Melanesian is set around the pool area with rooms on three sides and the bar on the fourth side. The blocks with rooms are three stories high and there is no lift so if the stairs might be a problem it is worth mentioning this when booking. Rooms are spacious - queen size bed and a couple of armchairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Lala G, Thank you for the wonderful comments well received. Situated at a convenient location close to the CBC and a bus-stop at the front allows our guest easy access to where they want to go. The hotel has a tour desk that can organize day trips during your stay to enjoy other scenery around Port Vila or around... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Port Vila

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay