We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Melanesian Port Vila

3.0 of 5 P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Melanesian Port Vila
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Melanesian Port Vila
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    78
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
66
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property I would class as a entry level hotel,maybe 3stars. Our room was a good size,balcony overlooking the pool,bed not comfortable. Shower over bath, difficult if you a bit on the short side.We found the cleaning and replenishment of coffee,tea etc to be poor.No lifts...we were on the 3rd floor which ment over 50 stairs up and back down,so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Thesambos, Thank you for your positive comments well received. The Melanesian has three building with two levels of floors and all using stairs. Please talk to our friendly reservations staff to relocate to a ground floor to allow easy access to rooms. Free wifi accessible at the Lobby area, however pre-paid internet can be purchased at the reception desk... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went here to have dinner and realised we didnt think it was kid friendly so we cancelled our three nights there. Melanasian advised they would only take one night cancelltion fee but ended up taking the whole three nights. They are money hungry and liars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Bassima10, Thank you for your comments well received. We do have a cancellation policy that applies when cancelling at last minute or cancellation is received less than 24 hrs. Please talk to our reservations staff regarding our cancellation policy. Your concern will be raised to the department responsible for bookings. We sincerely apologies for the inconvenience that the Melanesian... More

Sydney, NSW
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

The lobby staff were pleasant enough and made bookings for us when required. The location was good. Not in the middle of town and only a 10 min walk. The food and drinks at the pool bar were not very good and overpriced for what you received. The cultural night was good - very relaxing and the food was reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear na2311, Thank you for your comments received. The rooms are service daily by our well trained house maids. We appreciate your comments on the honesty of staff, your comments will be forward to the department concern. Thank you for staying with us and hope that you will visit us again but this time it will be a good weather... More

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Melanesian and the staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast is delicious and lovely Lucy cooks eggs to perfection. The rooms are tidy and spacious and the pool area a great spot to catch some sun and cool off. Location is great with a short walk to a supermarket or into town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Amy L, Thank you for your comments well received. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us at the hotel. Thank you also for the positive comments on staff mentioned and will certainly forward comments to her department head for appraisal. We do hope to see you again on your next trip to Vanuatu and to... More

Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our stay in Vanuatu, not a lot of time to judge a hotel but we had such a good experience that I thought it worth a mention. I will start with the heart warming experience of their honesty and integrity, something you get a bit used to in Vanuatu but this was well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear John-H-2405, Thank you for the wonderful comments well received regarding the staff mentioned. The comments will be forward to the department concern for the staff appraisals. The house-keeping department has a sections for lost and found which has come as an advantage to the guest who has accidentally left thing behind. And the Front office department is well informed... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We just went to the Melanesian BBQ at the Melanesian. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The atmosphere was very relaxed and the staff were lovely. A wonderful string band played while we ate and then we watched some kustom dancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear SalDec11, Thank you for your positive comments on the Melanesian Feast night. The event is held on Wed, Fri & Sun of each week, with different cultural groups of Vanuatu. The entertainment is to show the unique customs and diverse culture of the Vanuatu people. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed the evening. We hope that... More

Cust, null, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The Melanesian is set around the pool area with rooms on three sides and the bar on the fourth side. The blocks with rooms are three stories high and there is no lift so if the stairs might be a problem it is worth mentioning this when booking. Rooms are spacious - queen size bed and a couple of armchairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Lala G, Thank you for the wonderful comments well received. Situated at a convenient location close to the CBC and a bus-stop at the front allows our guest easy access to where they want to go. The hotel has a tour desk that can organize day trips during your stay to enjoy other scenery around Port Vila or around... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week. The room was modern, clean and very spacious. We were on the ground floor so had direct restaurant, pool and bar access from our sliding door. The staff were friendly and very attentive. It is a little out of town (holiday =lazy) but you can comfortably walk to town for ferries etc. The tour desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Hubrgo, Thank you for the positive comments well received. Located very close to CBC, a bus-stop at the front of the hotel for access of public transport, taxi can be called at the reception. Please talk to our friendly reception staff for assistance. We do hope that you will visit the Melanesian Hotel again next time your in town. More

Perth W.A
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and extremely helpful. The hotel rooms were very clean and comfortable. We had a room on the third floor which was a bit annoying as there was no elevator....but that is quite common all over Vanuatu. The food was okay, fairly basic but quite localised. They have a very helpful tour guide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Fishfoeva, Thank you for your positive comments well received. We are glad to hear that the room was comfortable and well spaces. The tour desk is open daily to guest wishing to experience Vanuatu with its different scenery like water sports, buggy fun or even visit the volcanoes from Tanna or diving in Santo. Please ask our friendly staff... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July when we first arrived in Port Vila and had no complaints to make. It is located at the top of a hill about a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Port Vila and about a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport (For those interested it was 1800 Vatu and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Nathan C, Thank you for your positive comments well received. We are glad to hear that you did enjoyed your stay with us. The convenient location has proven to be very good for our guest to walk into town or find places, we are also very close to the Vanuatu National Archive center and supermarkets. We do hope that... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Melanesian Port Vila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Location: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay