We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Friendly Islander Hotel

Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuku'alofa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Friendly Islander Hotel
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

I keep returning to Friendly Islander for several reasons. Papiloa and Fiona make guests feel very welcome. Other major pluses include location on waterfront within easy walking distance of Billfish and Emerald Restaurant etc, free WiFi, and complementary guest transfers from airport. The latter is important as taxi drivers can charge up to 50 TOP one way from airport to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lex T
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Very dirty we move to one room shower was not working went to another room the toilet was crack and we wake up with flea in our bed. The owner doe not know or care whats going on on that place.It could be a 4 star but it not.you better of staying at a Lodge .Do you think paying $120... More 

Helpful?
Thank J T
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment and sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay. Pity that you did not let us know issues that were not up to required standard. We do value all our guests feedback and always try our best to keep everyone happy, as best we can. malo More 

Travelers are raving about these Nuku'alofa hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

The worse ever!!Roaches!! No running water!! White phone was almost black with all the dirt on it. Water bottle was refilled, the seal was broken. We could hear the roosters crowing as the walls are paper thin! You would be better off sleeping on the street!

Helpful?
1 Thank mjrenb1
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay. Thank you for your valued comment and rest assured we will look into improvement of these issues. malo More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We found the location and accommodation to be friendly, adequate, and comfortable for our intents and purposes during our stay there. Papiloa and staff were friendly and helpful. Anything we needed or had concerns about we could tell them about and it was dealt with promptly.

Helpful?
3 Thank 350GTNissan
Johnston Atoll
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

That unique part of Tongan character that means they don't care about anything, especially hygiene. This place is Cockroach infested heaven, believe me, I don't mind bug or two but when it is actually infested it's hard to sleep. Can you imagine sleeping with a cockroach climbing on your face and under the blankets. Wretch! They told me to keep... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank fobabett
Papiloa, Manager at The Friendly Islander Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your valued comment and apologise for delayed response. Sorry for your unpleasant stay and we do note these issues for necessary action going forward. malo More 

Savusavu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have stayed at the Friendly Islander, better known locally as "Papiloa's Place" two times. We chose the older less expensive rooms (no AirCon, just a fan) and were quite pleased. While older, they were very clean and very well maintained. The location is right by the sea and close to town. The staff were very nice and made sure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Fijijohn
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

On 6/7/13 I didn't spent my 4 days in Tonga with my family because i like to experience the Friendly Islander Hotel to compare what i read and hurt about Papiloa and her services, now i can't regret are single minute but i count every moment that i been with them and how they make me feel like home, because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ltuionetoa
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After an eventful journey through the Pacific, Papiloa's Place was a relaxing and memorable spot to base myself during my time in Tonga. My room was large and comfortable with a pleasant view over the garden, the pool was nice and the entire hotel was safe and quiet. But the real appeal of the Friendly Islander is the service –... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TheNakedZombie
newcastle
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Friendly Islander Hotel Papiloa's Place for the first time in June 2012. We consider ourselves very fortunate to have found a great place to stay while in Tonga visiting our family. The fale was very cute, and we loved having our own little place to come to at the end of the day.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mad4disney
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I visited Tonga for 10 days during May 2012 and was so happy that I stayed at The Friendly Islander!! Papiloa and her crew made my stay enjoyable, and all my needs were met. My bungalow was quaint and perfect for me. The room was immaculate and staff were very attentive. Papiloa was very helpful with directing me around town... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Loteni P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuku'alofa
0.0 mi away
Little Italy Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#1 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lagoon Lodge
Lagoon Lodge
#11 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
3.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loumaile Lodge
Loumaile Lodge
#6 of 13 in Nuku'alofa
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Tonga
Scenic Hotel Tonga
#1 of 1 in Fua'amotu
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities