We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Solomon Hotel

Hotel website
Hibiscus Ave, Honiara, Guadalcanal Island, Solomon Islands
Special Offer
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Solomon Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
King Solomon Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    56
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
6
17
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although I don't normally stay at hotels it is hard to find the budget accommodation from outside Solomon so I thought I would go for King Solomon for a few days whilst I worked out what I was doing and where I was going. The rooms were great and the views from the balcony made a nice sunset. I did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best view of the hotels in Honiara especially from the top levels. Nice pool and the cable car is quaint and fun. The rooms are a bit tired and could do with updating but are clean. The gym is quite well equipped and the bmobile internet access works reasonably well but can be a bit spotty. Karina and the rest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reasonable price, close to every where ..… friendly staff and very helpful, free breakfast everyday, Don't forget to try the famous coffee at the sacred garden in Bambo Cafe next door the food is really delicious. I'll be back and stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found the food in the restaurant very good. the Thai food was exceptional and staying a week never got sick of the food. Even the wood fore Pizza were great. Looking forward to staying again soon. the rooms were a little tired but still comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very happy with the cleanliness of the rooms with the fridge and large TV's. The gym and pool were handy in my extended stay and I really enjoyed the restaurant and buffet which definitely gives you your moneys worth. Only problem was with the patchy wifi which you had to wait for. Overall a great place with friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, nice pool and the hotel cable car is an experience itself! The maintenance standards can be better, the wifi is not stable. Reasonable price/quality offer for a stopover in Honiara! The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport and well located in the centre of Honiara.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ngaio K, Owner at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our establishment, it is much appreciated and we hope that you will visit us again sometime soon. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, King Solomon Hotel management and staff More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff are fantastic, accommodating, polite and the Hotel is well kept and traditional. You can't find this any where else on the island. The food by the international staff is extremely reasonable and some of the best you can find around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ngaio K, Owner at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this review

Good day, It is very much appreciated that you took the time to review our hotel, we strive to provide the best possible experience for all of our guests. Hopefully you will be staying with us again in the future as we would like very much to see you again. On behalf of the King Solomon Hotel management and staff... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I requested a room on 1.6.2015, and it was not possible until 23.6. to get this room confirmed, even if they replied several times. In total I wrote 10 emails, and it is a shame, how a hotel like this is trying to make business. I booked the Kitano Hotel now, and it took only one email to get an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ngaio K, Owner at King Solomon Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Unfortunately this review is completely false. The writer of this review was never an actual hotel guest but a travel agent. The reason for the bad review was because the King Solomon Hotel reservations declined this travel agents booking as the commission for the travel agent was much too high. We have made an attempt to remove this review... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Been a few times. The funicular is a terrible means of travel. Some rooms can barely access Wifi. The couches in the reception have mites. Took a few days of complaints to be moved to a room with a functioning TV. Escalate any complaints to the management because the staff aren't gifted with problem solving skills. Eat the Thai food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

The King Solomon Hotel is nice and clean, has great views, nicely sized basic rooms and good prices. I find it very suitable for work trips to Honiara. I would advise asking for a room far away from the bar, as this can get noisy on a weekend. The cable car is fun - but not very accessible for less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honiara
0.2 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel Honiara
0.2 mi away
Solomon Kitano Mendana Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sanalae Apartments
Sanalae Apartments
#2 of 7 in Honiara
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pacific Casino Hotel
Pacific Casino Hotel
#6 of 7 in Honiara
3.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gizo
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#5 of 7 in Honiara
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay