We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Alofi hotels

Matavai Resort Niue Island

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 133, Alofi, Niue
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Save Saved
You added Matavai Resort Niue Island to your Saves list
Matavai Resort Niue Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Alofi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
nunugirl5 Auckland Region, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (186)
  • Photos (235)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (73)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    75
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
107
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were actually booked into the Matavai Villa, but were kindly given accommodation at the Matavai Resort for 3 days until the Villa became available. The room was comfortable, but the shower was sometimes cold. While clean, there could have been more attention to wiping down the bathroom walls as dead insects that were there when we first arrived, were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Niue was a nice surprise - we thoroughly enjoyed it. Great snorkelling and scuba, excellent walks - also did good bush bike ride. Very laid back, friendly people with great restaurants to go to in Alofi town. Swam with a school of Dolphins - awesome experience. Matavai Resort was very good. Marie especially was great at customer service and looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dargaville, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in this resort in 2012 and was blown away by the service and staff,came back this year in July thought we had gone to the wrong resort,upon arriving in the room found no coat hangers,only one outside chair and the safe locked,asked the staff(Marie)for coat hangers and got told you don't really need them,one staff told us the chair... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

We are glad you chose to return to Niue for a holiday although your good friend is no longer is the General Manager at Matavai. Clearly you enjoy Niue Island as a holiday destination. I have spoken to my team who were aware and I believe extremely apologetic about the interconnecting door being unlocked. This was completely unacceptable. We were... More

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Matavai Resort for 11 days mid July 2014. The weather was great with temperatures 22 - 30 degrees. The room was clean and tidy,serviced every day and overlooked the pool and ocean.The down side to our room was cold showers. The first morning we asked Marie at reception if this could be fixed,her answer was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Matavai. We appreciate all comments as they help us finely tune our service here at Matavai Resort. Our solar heating unit installation was unfortunately delayed due to logistical issues, we had hoped to have it all installed before our busy season. All systems are now working reliably 24/7. Nature however can be... More

Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Agree with many of the other reviews. Only real resort on an isolated island so can't be as picky as say Fiji or Maldives. Overall experience was positive (4/5 star rating perhaps a bit generous). Have stayed on more isolated islands in less expensive rooms with much better service and food though so there is room for improvement. While cliff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Matavai Resort. We appreciate your comments, I am sure they will prove helpful for future guests making a booking at Matavai Resort. Sarah More

Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in Matavai and certainly not the last. Ocean room just gorg! Rooms very clean and tidy - serviced every day. We had breakfast included and this was more than adequate each morning. Took 4 mornings for us to remember the ticket - ? keep the ticket at the restaurant. Staff were full of smiles and helpful when ever... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Matavai Resort, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the top tip about the breakfast vouchers. As we continue to improve our service we are grateful when guests point out opportunities for efficiencies. We hope to see you again some day. Sarah King More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Matavai is a great place to stay. The view from the rooms and the pool are incredible. We would recommend anyone that wants to get away and relax to choose the Matavai when travelling to Niue. As the beaches are limited on the island you will love the pool area at the hotel and the most amazing sunsets every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Fantastic! It sounds like you had a ball with us here in Niue. Thank you for sharing with the world. The Matavai team have worked incredibly hard over the past 18 months to create the perfect Niuean getaway. As you are aware we have some pretty unique challenges here in Niue and are always grateful to have guests with the... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For those of you, like us, who are well used to nice hotels and luxury travel, I need to remind you that 4 or 5 star ratings in the Pacific often means 2-3 star in real life. So don't expect the Sofitel or Le Meridian here, you are in Niue now and things are done differently. It would be very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Matavai Resort. It sounds like you have been blessed with a lot of travel in your life! We appreciate all your comments, both positive and negative, as they give us the opportunity to finely tune our what we offer at the resort to ensure the best possible stay for every guest. Therefore I will... More

Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a small opportunity to sneak a week away. We were attracted to the "deal" we could get at the Matavai Resort in Niue. We were not disappointed - we had a very nice room, ate good breakfasts (incl in our package) met lots of lovely people (predominantly fun loving kiwis), enjoyed good restaurants, FABULOUS snorkelling, beautiful weather. Would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thanks for taking up one of our promotional deals and coming to check out Niue Island. We are really proud of this incredible secret spot in the South Pacific, and are over the moon that you enjoyed your time so much with us. Sarah King More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was always clean and everything was always working. Excellent service as well. They were so friendly and helped our baby adapt quite quickly . They were all so friendly and helpful. This island has good food and great company. We will stop and check on Matavai when we come back in October. I will write about our experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MatavaiGM, General Manager at Matavai Resort Niue Island, responded to this review

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again in October. Stay warm in the meantime! Sarah King More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Matavai Resort Niue Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Matavai Resort Niue Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matavai Resort Niue Island

Address: PO Box 133, Alofi, Niue
Phone Number:
Location: Niue > Alofi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matavai Resort Niue Island 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Matavai Resort Niue Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matavai Resort Niue Island Alofi

235 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
View from room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matavai Resort is Niue's premier accommodation option. Designed to take full advantage of its unique environment, our resort blends into the breathtaking landscape of coral outcrops, coconut palms, rainforest, and tropical flowers. Perched over the Pacific Ocean, Matavai’s cliff-top deck provides a vantage point from which to watch the resident turtles surface, spinner dolphins patrol, and humpback whales cruise right past the resort.Matavai Resort has recently undergone a multimillion dollar refurbishment and expansion to bring it's exceptional facilities in line with the very best on offer in the Pacific. The new building blends contemporary comforts and luxury with a classic, timeless style. Guests can enjoy a meal at our highly regarded restaurant, soak up the sun on the expansive cliff top decks, or relax after a long day exploring at the poolside bar. Matavai Resort is the perfect place to base your Niuean adventure. Matavai resort is 8.5 Km from Alofi Town Centre, and whilst airport transfers are included in your stay there is no public transport or taxi service on Niue so we highly recommend arranging a rental vehicle before you arrive. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

See which rooms travelers prefer