We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Port Moresby hotels

Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gateway Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
44%
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (99)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (29)
  • More
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    30
    19
    12
See reviews for
2
11
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Certainly overpriced for what you get. But not unusual for Port Moresby . Pluses, close to Airport and the free and regular shuttle bus. Rooms vary in Quality and upkeep the executive rooms are acceptable (800 rooms) the rest are variable stay clear of the 500 rooms. Often no hot water Aircon uncontrollable etc etc. Staff are friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear M4548RO, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is disappointing that you faced issues with hot water and I apologise for this. I do know that this has since been rectified. Yes we do have different tiers of accommodation available and the Executive rooms... More

Runway27
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights at the Gateway Hotel on business and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. Great pick up and transfers to and from Port Moresby Airport and staff helpful at every touch point. Perfect for a business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Trav4114r, Thank you for the kind feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay and found our team and services to be to your satisfaction. I will share this with our team and I know they will be pleased. We look forward to... More

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are a family of 4. We did not stay at the hotel but we utilized their transit service. It was perfect! We got really good service from the staff helping us with the bags. As we had a couple of hours between our flights they helped us with a taxi who took us around Port Moresby. We visited the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Staffan E, It was indeed a pleasure to read feedback about your recent experience at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. Being within such close proximity of both Airport terminals, we are a popular stop for transit guests who utilise our food and beverage outlets while we store their luggage for them. Our Airport shuttles are available at all times... More

Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You would only stay here because of its convenient location next to the airport so they have a bit of a captive market with overnight transit passengers. Given what they charge they could at least make sure that the plumbing works (I had no hot water in the evening and was waken at 2am by the pipe noise when the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SukaMakanLos, Thank you for sharing honest feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I’m disappointed to hear that you faced a lack of hot water during your time with us. I can assure you that this has been addressed and is more of an isolated incident. In regards to your feedback about the... More

Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed in Gateway Hotel in Port Morseby, Papua New Guinea last June 2014 during my trip to PNG. I stayed there for two nights. After the first night, I flew to Madang Province and Mt. Hagen the next day where I spent most of my time in this trip to PNG. The amenities of the hotel are good. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SwimDiveTravel, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our accommodation, restaurants and pool are very popular with a lot of our guests and we have a high volume of repeat visitors. Internet... More

Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at the Gateway for a few nites, always when coming back from the Papua New Guinea outer Islands and had a connecting flight from Port Moresby the next day. The Gateway Hotel is perfectly situated for a stay over. Its conveniently close to the airport and cortesy pick-ups and drops are provided. However, the bst is not its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear GermanPedro, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed your experience at that bar. I have passed on your feedback about our friendly staff to the team and they were delighted to hear... More

new delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last month. The best memory is the pool, its clean and cool and ideal to relax after a day's work.. The rooms were ummm..dated kind of bare bone with with basic furniture, light and bathroom fittings. There was construction work going on on the road in front of the hotel due to which there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear indshal, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our pool. We get a lot of good feedback about it. In regards to your comments about the quality of accommodation, I can gladly advise that we... More

Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are lovely, staff are nice and polite. However extremely over priced, they charged me for an extra night and they have not refunded my money. I continue to contact them and they continue to say that they need to speak to so and so and will get back in touch. I have had nothing but trouble and difficulties... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear GBlack12, We always value constructive feedback, it is disappointing to read that someone has not enjoyed there experience. It is pleasing to read that you found the room to be lovely and enjoyed the serviced offered by the team at Gateway Hotel. Please remember that you booked this additional night via a third party site, the terms and condiitons... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Unexpectedly stayed at this hotel as a disrupted passenger thanks to PX. Having stayed before new what I was up for and requested a room upgrade to executive room. Porters were great and assisted me up to my room with my luggage as there are no lifts and only staircases to negotiate. Had a swim in the pool which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Dukduk2013, Thank you for the time you have taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. While I was pleased to hear your compliments about most things, I was disappointed to learn that the air conditioning in your room was not operational. However, thank you for letting me know. As part... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great place, nice pool, okay food and friendly staff. The place just looks a bit tired n dull though. Maybe it needs a bit of facelift, especially the rooms and the hallways. Having said that I do like the place. Love the restaurant n the pool. The bar downstairs, however, is very noisy sometimes and does not look welcoming. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear peatuhacs, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed using the pool and were happy with the restaurant and bar facilities. This feedback was shared with the team and they were delighted to hear it. In regards to your feedback about... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gateway Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Port Moresby with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer