We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Port Moresby hotels

Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gateway Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
SwimDiveTravel Santa Cruz, California
  • Overview
  • Reviews (96)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • More
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    30
    18
    12
See reviews for
1
11
17
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You would only stay here because of its convenient location next to the airport so they have a bit of a captive market with overnight transit passengers. Given what they charge they could at least make sure that the plumbing works (I had no hot water in the evening and was waken at 2am by the pipe noise when the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in Gateway Hotel in Port Morseby, Papua New Guinea last June 2014 during my trip to PNG. I stayed there for two nights. After the first night, I flew to Madang Province and Mt. Hagen the next day where I spent most of my time in this trip to PNG. The amenities of the hotel are good. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Gateway for a few nites, always when coming back from the Papua New Guinea outer Islands and had a connecting flight from Port Moresby the next day. The Gateway Hotel is perfectly situated for a stay over. Its conveniently close to the airport and cortesy pick-ups and drops are provided. However, the bst is not its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
new delhi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights last month. The best memory is the pool, its clean and cool and ideal to relax after a day's work.. The rooms were ummm..dated kind of bare bone with with basic furniture, light and bathroom fittings. There was construction work going on on the road in front of the hotel due to which there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear indshal, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our pool. We get a lot of good feedback about it. In regards to your comments about the quality of accommodation, I can gladly advise that we... More

Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are lovely, staff are nice and polite. However extremely over priced, they charged me for an extra night and they have not refunded my money. I continue to contact them and they continue to say that they need to speak to so and so and will get back in touch. I have had nothing but trouble and difficulties... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear GBlack12, We always value constructive feedback, it is disappointing to read that someone has not enjoyed there experience. It is pleasing to read that you found the room to be lovely and enjoyed the serviced offered by the team at Gateway Hotel. Please remember that you booked this additional night via a third party site, the terms and condiitons... More

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Unexpectedly stayed at this hotel as a disrupted passenger thanks to PX. Having stayed before new what I was up for and requested a room upgrade to executive room. Porters were great and assisted me up to my room with my luggage as there are no lifts and only staircases to negotiate. Had a swim in the pool which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Dukduk2013, Thank you for the time you have taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. While I was pleased to hear your compliments about most things, I was disappointed to learn that the air conditioning in your room was not operational. However, thank you for letting me know. As part... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Great place, nice pool, okay food and friendly staff. The place just looks a bit tired n dull though. Maybe it needs a bit of facelift, especially the rooms and the hallways. Having said that I do like the place. Love the restaurant n the pool. The bar downstairs, however, is very noisy sometimes and does not look welcoming. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear peatuhacs, Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay at Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed using the pool and were happy with the restaurant and bar facilities. This feedback was shared with the team and they were delighted to hear it. In regards to your feedback about... More

mackay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were in Pom last week and spent 2 nights at the gateway meals were ok rooms Ok but sliding door locked room 416 and had to walk outside on the stairs for a smoke will be back up at the end of the month so looking forward to a better room Staff always friendly and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Ken, Thank you for making an effort to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments and for advising us of the particular room number with the locked balcony door. Maintenance has been advise and addressed this matter. Ken, again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Gateway Hotel and Apartments... More

Cairns
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Rooms are dated. No hot water for a shower so I complained to the front desk who didn't seem to care. I stayed 5 nights and witnessed 3 fights coming out of the bar under the hotel, security never got involved. Very disjoined hotel. Wont be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

CairnsOne, Thank you for your frank review as posted on Tripadvisor. There is no reason for your having to experience a stay here at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments and have no hot water. We have invested this on receipt of your feedback and have not been able to locate any problems with either the solar or the back up... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Was very surprised that hotels in Port Moresby are very expensive. No elevators at all in the hotel, so heavy luggage has to be carried up flights of stairs. No free wifi, available only at a price. Rooms are acceptable, only two bath towels, no otter towels provided. When I called for room service, I could not charge it to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, General Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Persimmone, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Gateway Hotel and Apartments. I appreciate your feedback on hotel pricing in Port Moresby the hotel through TPI providers such as booking.com and wotif always try to offer as competitive rates to the market as possible based on our occupancy at the time.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gateway Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer