We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Port Moresby hotels

Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gateway Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
46%
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Robert C Allingham, Queensland, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (104)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • More
true
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    30
    19
    13
See reviews for
2
11
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

After a long day travelling, one of the first stops is the bathroom, disappointing to find out after finishing a task, there is no toilet paper. Then to have to beg housekeeping for a deliver. Must say after travelling to some remote areas, to find the capital was only place, I need to bring my own toilet paper. Also only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Allingham, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed recently for three nights at the hotel. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and tidy. We had breakfast and dinner each day at the restaraunt, all meals were of a very good standard. I would recommend with mexican buffet and the barbeque dinner. It is very safe and i would seek advice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was outstanding value for money. When I arrived there were beautifully folded towels on the bed with a flower in them, icy cold water, and a platter of fresh fruit. The staff couldn't do enough. The place felt safe and so relaxing. The staff just can't do enough for you. The hotel has a very nice pool and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Pius J, Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. We are delighted to hear of your experience and will be sure to share this with the rest of the team. The hotel pool is indeed very popular with our guests and gets us lots of compliments! I’m also... More

Newcastle NSW
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here before and after our Kokoda Trek and whilst there were problems with our room before the trek, the overall motel is very good. The rooms were quite large with acceptable showers and the breakfast buffet was quite good. The large pool was empty when we arrived the first time but was full and very welcome when we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Ron B, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. While I was disappointed to learn that your first stay was less than satisfactory, I’m pleased to know that the next stay was better. Our swimming pool is very popular with hotel guests and I can... More

Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am currently staying at The Gateway and I must say that on previous experiences of some other hotel stays in POM, this experience has been the best ever. Hotel Staff from Housekeeping to The General Manager were very helpful and could not do enough to make my stay a great one. Rooms were comfortable, meals exceptional, price was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Mark M, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and have conveyed this to our team who were delighted. We are continually putting improvement plans in place and feedback such as this is... More

Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Certainly overpriced for what you get. But not unusual for Port Moresby . Pluses, close to Airport and the free and regular shuttle bus. Rooms vary in Quality and upkeep the executive rooms are acceptable (800 rooms) the rest are variable stay clear of the 500 rooms. Often no hot water Aircon uncontrollable etc etc. Staff are friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear M4548RO, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is disappointing that you faced issues with hot water and I apologise for this. I do know that this has since been rectified. Yes we do have different tiers of accommodation available and the Executive rooms... More

Runway27
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights at the Gateway Hotel on business and enjoyed the stay thoroughly. Great pick up and transfers to and from Port Moresby Airport and staff helpful at every touch point. Perfect for a business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Trav4114r, Thank you for the kind feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay and found our team and services to be to your satisfaction. I will share this with our team and I know they will be pleased. We look forward to... More

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are a family of 4. We did not stay at the hotel but we utilized their transit service. It was perfect! We got really good service from the staff helping us with the bags. As we had a couple of hours between our flights they helped us with a taxi who took us around Port Moresby. We visited the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear Staffan E, It was indeed a pleasure to read feedback about your recent experience at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. Being within such close proximity of both Airport terminals, we are a popular stop for transit guests who utilise our food and beverage outlets while we store their luggage for them. Our Airport shuttles are available at all times... More

Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

You would only stay here because of its convenient location next to the airport so they have a bit of a captive market with overnight transit passengers. Given what they charge they could at least make sure that the plumbing works (I had no hot water in the evening and was waken at 2am by the pipe noise when the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SukaMakanLos, Thank you for sharing honest feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. I’m disappointed to hear that you faced a lack of hot water during your time with us. I can assure you that this has been addressed and is more of an isolated incident. In regards to your feedback about the... More

Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I stayed in Gateway Hotel in Port Morseby, Papua New Guinea last June 2014 during my trip to PNG. I stayed there for two nights. After the first night, I flew to Madang Province and Mt. Hagen the next day where I spent most of my time in this trip to PNG. The amenities of the hotel are good. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GatewayPOM, Manager at Gateway Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review

Dear SwimDiveTravel, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us at the Gateway Hotel & Apartments. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Our accommodation, restaurants and pool are very popular with a lot of our guests and we have a high volume of repeat visitors. Internet... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gateway Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gateway Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Apartments

Address: Jacksons Parade | (Overlooking Jacksons Airport), Port Moresby 121, Papua New Guinea (Formerly Flag Hotel Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel And Apartments
Quality Inn Port Moresby

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Port Moresby with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Due to its proximity to the airport and excellent facilities, the Gateway Hotel is an extremely popular conference venue, particularly for delegates visiting Port Moresby. A short drive and only minutes away from both, the international & domestic terminals in the hotel's free shuttle bus, brings you to its serene ambience surrounded by lush tropical gardens and impeccable service, which provide for a memorable and pleasant stay. All 130 modern rooms, some with Internet access, plus 63 serviced apartments surround a pool which is centrally located. 24-hour Foreign Exchange desk is located at Reception. The Wild Orchid Restaurant serves some of the finest International cuisine in Port Moresby and features a buffet from a different part of the globe each night. Alternatively, choose one of Enzo's Pizzas in the Rattle 'n' Hum Pizzeria & Bar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway Hotel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer